We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place but just needs to pay more attention to housekeeping”
Review of Hotel d'Orangerie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel d'Orangerie
Ranked #34 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Check-in was smooth and friendly. We were given an attic room on the third floor as we had booked a triple room. Positives on the room - large room, large bathroom, nespresso, cute furnishings. Negatives on the room - poor lighting (it was quite dark in the room even with all the lights on), when we checked in - the third bed wasn't made up for the third person when we checked in and there was no towels for the third person, there was an empty heineken bottle on the coffee table, and the table was dirty, and the safe wasn't working properly. On the plus side - a great young man carried our bags up for us when we checked in and back down to the lobby when we checked out. The staff always had smiles on their faces and were friendly, and we did have a good stay in the hotel once we got some of the issues with the room sorted. Our room faced the street - so it was noisy at night when the bars/ pubs emptied out, but was otherwise quiet. The breakfast served was good - and I enjoyed it. The hotel was in a good location - the Market Square is just down the road and a close walk to the main attractions around town, and the Maas river was just around the corner. Overall a nice place to stay in, and I will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBug0987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2013

We loved our short stay in D'Orangerie: the hotel is very well located, near the terraces along the river and only a few steps away from the Market Square and it's restaurants.
This old mansion is strangely built: the ceilings of the second floor are quite low and probably not so comfortable if you are tall (ask for 1rst floor), but I am only 1m57 tall. By the way, the 3-floor hotel has NO ELEVATOR, but it offers a charming bar, the service is good, the rooms correctly equipped, with mini-bar, TV, free wifi, coffee set Nespresso ....
The breakfeast restaurant offers a full service of viennoiseries and sweets, plates of cheese and meat, even a glass of mousseux. In summertime, you can take your breakfeast in the garden terrace. The quality/price ratio is very correct for Maastricht historic part of the city. Oh, I almost forgot: the hotel has a private closed parking place, an appreciable feature in Maastricht

Room Tip: The rooms on the back are very quiet (view over gardens and roofs). Be carefull: there is no elevata...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chantal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I would love to give this hotel a 5/5 but the beds were terribly uncomfortable. With that aside - we loved our time there. In a great location - right by the Maas river and steps away from the main Market square with all the shopping streets, this hotel is spot on in terms of a city trip location. We stayed in the new building, attached to the main hotel in Le Meuse room - so cute and characterful. Everything you could need is there - robes, slippers, toiletries, coffee machine - everything. It is decorated in a charming way with lots of colour and cute touches. We had a river view and it was just really lovely - no complaints (other than the bed). Included in our very reasonable rate was breakfast - we expected the standard dull fare, but were so pleasantly surprised by the spread. A variety of hot foods, lovely cereals, so many pastries and breads, meats and cheeses, juices - everything! The breakfast area is also so lovely - beautiful decoration and gorgeous plates and glasses. It was too cold to sit outside and enjoy their back garden, but this area also looks really beautiful to enjoy breakfast in when the weather warms. There is a great lounge area in this hotel as well - bright, exotic colours and unique chairs welcome you. One night we were sitting and chatting and were offered complimentary glasses of wine and olives - just lovely! As it was Easter, the hotel was brimming with chocolates for the taking as well. The staff were all very friendly - making us dinner reservations, printing us off train schedules, asking if the WiFi was good. We felt very taken care of. As the building is very old and charming, you need to expect a little noise, and bring right off the water where sound echoes, the Friday night did get a little noisy once the nearby bars emptied - but a small price to pay for such a supreme location. Thank you very much for the lovely stay!!

Room Tip: We stayed facing the water - though a lovely view, if you are a light sleeper, you might want to fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

this old mansion perfectly located, on the Maas river, just few meters from the Markt Square. But our room was in a building nearby the hotel itself, we had to go there (so go out completely dressed) for the breakfast, bathroom in the room with no door, ceilings high enough neither for a medium sized person. No, it is not a fair price what you pay...too much!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivalitalia69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Having recently stayed in a near £100 a night seaside hotel in the UK this hotel shows what a £100 a night hotel should give you.

The location is excellent only a few hundered metres from the main centre but not so good if you have car as like many Dutch cities cars are discouraged and parking is expensive. The hotel was very well maintained inside and had a lovely little reception area where you could relax and order a drink. Breakfast was across the way in another lovely room.

Our room was on the third floor and those who have difficulty walking would not like this as it is stairs only. The room itself was very comfortable, well furnished and lots of lovely little touches like dressing gowns, complimentary shaving and toothbrush packs. The bed was enormous and there was an extensively stocked mini bar.

The view was poor but we were only there for 2 nights and didn't plan to spend our time in the hotel room looking out of the window.......

For a continental hotel it was very expensive, including breakfast and that to us was the only downside.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank r2uzenblot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Stayed in the hotel for 8 days, while attending a course in Maastricht University. Nice location with easy access to public transport. Short walk to Markt square & near to lot of nice restaurants. The hotel serves nice breakfast, but no lunch or dinner is served. Rooms are celan & nice. Service is good. Front desk is very helpful. Nothing less & nothing more. Overall, a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PenangNathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We had some bad luck at this hotel, but overall I wonder about the value for money aspect here. The first room we got seemed ok, but the babykot had not been set up yet. No problem, but without an elevator it was quite annoying we had to go up to the fourth floor and run down again to ask for the kot. It was even more annoying to discover that the heavy rain had caused a shower in the middle of the room, which led both us and the very nice hotel attendant to opt for another room. Due to a fully booked hotel we were offered a "special" room. This room, called "The Top" was right under the roof and covered two floors. The second floor, however, was only about 1m50 high, so I hit my head fairly frequently there. Also, it was four floors up in another building, so we had to carry our stuff and the baby up there again.

But even if we hadn't had this kind of trouble, we had family staying somewhere else in Maastricht for the same price, and they had a five star treatment and a room four times the footage of our room. Overall, not what I expect from a "quaint" hotel like this. Also, the drug dealers outside are simply dreadful.

Room Tip: Don't take the room entitled "The Top"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SlingerJansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#12 of 37 in Maastricht
762 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mabi
Hotel Mabi
#10 of 37 in Maastricht
592 reviews
2.3 mi away
Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt
Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt
#11 of 37 in Maastricht
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beaumont Maastricht
Beaumont Maastricht
#4 of 37 in Maastricht
1,259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amrath Hotel DuCasque
Amrath Hotel DuCasque
#17 of 37 in Maastricht
147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#5 of 37 in Maastricht
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Orangerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Orangerie

Address: Kleine Gracht 4, 6211 CB Maastricht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range: £64 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel d'Orangerie 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel d'Orangerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Orangerie Maastricht

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing