We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, olde world charm but...”
Review of Hotel d'Orangerie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel d'Orangerie
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Location, olde world charm but...”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Great: Location
Good: Style and charm, antique in character
Value: Ok, parking eur 25, Breakfast eur 14 ok at best
Fair: Service - Mixed. Breakfast person good, Reception staff not particularly engaging
Fair: Cleaning - Bathroom smelt of Urine
Poor: Bed and sound proofing

Overall wouldnt stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi3604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    64
    35
    19
    14
See reviews for
25
72
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, uk
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I stayed here with my husband who always stays here on business. He was disappointed that the rather ecleptic styled room had been redecorated and of course I was delighted!! It had a elegant but modern feel to the room, big and spacious with lovely views over the river. Breakfast was great in beautiful antique mish mash surroundings. We also had trouble with a drunk lady being locked out of her room so the sleep quality was not great but the décor and location far outweighed the minor gripe of the inconciderate guests

Room Tip: 2nd floor front
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hyl38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This is a good option to stay in Maastricht. It's perfectly located, 2 minutes from the City Hall (beautiful square), and near a good offer of restaurants.

It was a 15th century convent, and it mantains the old spirit and charm. The rooms are comfortable. The one i am in is small, but warm and very silent during the night. I feel good here.

Wifi is ok, the shower is fine, the service is friendly and helpful... maybe the only thing to improve would be the mattress. Not so comfortable, but good enough.

Important: the price is correct, good for what it is.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noelgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I have been there for one night and honestly has been enough: very slow check in and check out, dirty room, very uncomfortable bed and the street of the hotel in the night is crouwded with drunk people and drug dealers!

My parents have been woken up in the middle of the night by a drank person that was knokking on thier window and screaming..... other guests had to call the owner becuase in front of the hotel entrance, in the night ( the reception is closed after 22.00), there were some drug pushers....

On the other side the Hotel has some nice details and a causy atmosphere.

Room Tip: Don't take the room at the street level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Maastricht hotels

Waterloo, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The hotel was in a nice part of town and close to the main sights. The check-in was a bit disorganized - the staff was courteous but did not go out of their way to service their customers.

Our room was in the new "annex" and looked recently updated. While the new decor was nice, the renovations in the bathroom particularly, were substandard. Things just didn't function right (such as the sliding door not staying closed and the shower overflowing on medium flow). The bed was also a split mattress, which was uncomfortable as a couple. The room was obviously striving to be high quality but fell short in a few key areas. The view out to the river was nice.

The price, however, was fair and just slightly above the quality received. Breakfast, on the other hand, was prohibitively expensive (15 euro pp). We appreciated them holding our bags for the day after check-out. Other options might be better in town for a similar price.

Room Tip: Check out reviews of the "classic" rooms - perhaps they are different than the new "m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zwyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I stayed in this hotel while attending a conference at the MECC because the closer hotels were full. It was a 10 minute taxi ride to the MECC - about 15 Euros.
Although it was a nice hotel, and I would definitely recommend it for a holiday stay, it wasn't really a business hotel. It was impossible to work at the hotel because the wireless internet signal was so poor, despite the efforts of the friendly staff - hardware upgrade needed, I suspect. Luckily the MECC had strong and reliable wifi so I could work there.
Breakfast was nice and the room was comfortable, with lots of English language channels on the TV. It is a town centre hotel - so ideal for walking out of the door and seeing the sights of Maastricht but consequently there is some noise outside at night and light coming in from street lighting. It didn't disturb me but more sensitive people might have found it a problem.

Room Tip: No lift, so request a lower floor if you have a problem with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WilliamsFamilyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bigarre
Hotel Bigarre
#31 of 38 in Maastricht
167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boutique Hotel Grote Gracht
Boutique Hotel Grote Gracht
#30 of 38 in Maastricht
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#11 of 38 in Maastricht
700 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mabi
Hotel Mabi
#13 of 38 in Maastricht
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Orangerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Orangerie

Property: Hotel d'Orangerie
Address: Kleine Gracht 4, 6211 CB Maastricht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel d'Orangerie 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel d'Orangerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Orangerie Maastricht

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing