We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst experiece ever...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Select Hotel Apple Park Maastricht
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Rooms at the executive floor, costing over 160 euro per night are crap - dirty and uncomfortable. Most rooms they have are with 2 small beds (with poor mattresses). Reception lady said they have only 7 rooms with one big bed... Crazy room service (they don't place a menue in the room but read that to you over the phone because "management decided to promoye pizza delivery to the rooms! - that how it was described over the phone by the room service at least). Design is terrific - installations with plastic hamburgers in the corridor, liberty statue in the lobby... Brrr... Breakfast costing 18euro is also horrible - 3 kinds of unknown meats, sweaty cheese, bacon, eggs, lots of bread and poor coffee. Expected some local specialties for the price... Don't order fish in the restaurant, got pretty sick afterwards. Reception service is more than odd - they wont order a taxi for you, but will suggest to wait outside, until Skoda serving this hotel arrives. As if there are no other taxis in town! Or maybe that is because the hotel is in the middle of nowhere... We wanted to cancel the third night of our stay, ordered by mistake, indicated that on arrival, and only at checkout they said it was not possible charging cancellation fee of 100%. The room door doesn't shut by itself, you need to push it till it locks, otherwise the room stays open, which I wouldn't recommend at this place. Obviously 4 stars is a joke, only bathrobes point at that. Try to avoid!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goootalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

Found some cheap flights to Maastricht so did some research and decided on Golden Tulip. I was a little nervous due to some negative reviews, however I had nothing to worry about. There is a bus outside the airport which takes you to the central station (you can just pay your fare on the bus) from there it’s another short bus ride (5-10 min) to hotel. There seems to be a lot of redevelopment near the hotel so the surrounding area is not great - however this did not bother us.

We booked an Executive room which was very nice although industrial looking. Room contained everything you need for a weekend away, and fridge was empty so we could fill with our own goodies, and very clean. We had access to executive lounge and free Wi-Fi was included in the rate.

Staff very welcoming and gave us maps and lots of tourist info for the local area, they could not do enough for us. We used public transport whilst there - it’s so easy to get around! Breakfast was not included in our rate, and as other reviewers have mentioned there is a McDonalds 2 mins away.

Thank you Golden Tulip Maastricht

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROZIEB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We knew upfront the hotel catered to business people and was located just a little too far outside of the centre for it too be a quick walk. It worked for us as it was close to the express way and we had planned multiple road trips outside of the city and they had a good deal running at the time.

Overall staff were nice, but nothing out of the ordinary. The decor was basic, slightly cold/distant, and not the most comfortable rooms I 've stayed in. I'd say it really is a three star hotel which was fit for our purpose.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank HammerHammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This is the letter I sent to the General Manager following my most recent visit:-

I am writing to thank you for the excellent hospitality we enjoyed at the Applepark last weekend, when I came to collect my younger son from University (and take in an Andre Rieu concert as a bonus).


It was particularly kind of you to offer us a free upgrade, not least because it allowed Jon to finish his draft thesis in pleasant and productive surroundings.


The service, food and beverages were all up to your usual high standards and make for a very enjoyable trip, and whilst it is unlikely that we will ever again make three visits in one year, I do hope we will be back to this charming city and your friendly and welcoming hotel before too long.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

we were on a road trip when we decided at the last minute to stop in to this hotel. The staff were all very friendly and professional. The room was good, Not to fancy but needed nothing else really. It was a nice pleasant relaxing stay. Parking is free near the restaurant and there is the option to enter the payed parking area as well. we did not eat there so we have no opinion on that but upon check out we did notice that the restaurant was quite full.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B787skipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The hotel is located beside the football stadium. The interior is ok but a bit basic too much steel and concrete. Sadley the bar closes at 11. The breakfast for 15 Euros is was ok but teh sausages and scrambled eggs where awfull.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cornboy495040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

First of all I would like to tell you all that my commentaries here are all true. My partner and I booked one night at Apple Park Golden Tulip in Maastricht via hotel aanbiedingen also known as hotel deal inclusive breakfast. When we arrive at hotel the staff seemed very professional and friendly. The hotel room was reasonable without any luxury. Parking was the first surprise to us because although there is a free parking area nearby, they gave us a hotel parking electronic card and at the time we did our checkout I was informed I need to pay 15 Euros for it besides city tax and service charge in the amount of 11,10 Euros. During breakfast time I was informed we suppose to have our breakfast called express (1 cup of coffee, 1 fruit juice and a mere croissant)! Instead of the “normal” breakfast just because we booked via hotel deal instead of them and they said the website of hotel deal should inform us what category of breakfast we would be entitled. The attitude of the staff was typical , I mean they pretend they understand our position and at the same time mockers us as if we were two demented golden fish. I read other reviews about this hotel but it was too late to cancel our booking. Despite of all that happened I would say Maastricht city is worth visiting, but this hotel has a bad fame for a long time, and what makes a good hotel is a combination of factors, rather than being a new building or having a good location. We feel disrespected and trapped for both hotel and hotel deal website. Avoid it! The city has much better hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NLTraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
1.4 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#12 of 38 in Maastricht
1,321 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Maastricht
Novotel Maastricht
#14 of 38 in Maastricht
939 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum
0.7 mi away
Amrath Grand Hotel De L'Empereur
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#11 of 38 in Maastricht
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Select Hotel Apple Park Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Select Hotel Apple Park Maastricht

Address: Pierre de Coubertinweg 3, 6225 XT Maastricht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range: £66 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Select Hotel Apple Park Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Select Hotel ApplePark Maastricht offers Dutch comfort combined with elegance and comfort. The 165 rooms are functional, but stylishly furnished and have bath, shower and WC and cable TV. The hotel is located in picturesque surroundings on the edge of the historical center of the city. It offers 2 terraces, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, and all rooms include a flat-screen TV and extra long beds. A rich buffet breakfast is served in our breakfast restaurant. In our Dreamz restaurant we offer different dishes and beautiful wines seven days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Select Hotel Apple Park Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Maastricht
Maastricht Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing