We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Botticelli, I would stay there again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Botticelli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Botticelli
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Botticelli, I would stay there again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2006

We stayed at the Hotel Botticelli during a conference in Maastricht in July. I was so glad we stayed here rather than the non-descript conference hotel connected to the conference center. Several reasons for this: 1) the place has alot of character, with an absolutely beautiful courtyard and garden, (the street-front entrance is rather non-descript), 2) the staff was very helful and friendly, 3) they have A/C, which was a major plus during the heat wave at the time of our visit, 4) the rooms were attractive, and comfortable, 5) the location was great, being right off the main city square.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Willgetby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    38
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
7
42
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2006

I stayed at the Hotel Botticelli after reading reviews of it both here and on another user-reviewed website. We had a lovely stay, and found the hotel and location to be quiet and well-situated. Staff were very friendly, rooms were clean, and air-conditioning was welcome, as it was very warm in Maastricht, and we were in a room on the top floor.
This raises the issue of the stairs - those who are less than fit, or are mobility impaired, ought to know that there is no lift, and that the stairs are steep. Moreover, our bedroom had an en-suite bathroom that was up another flight of stairs (there was a mezzanine within the room), so one had to be fit indeed to access our room and bathroom. For those who need the bathroom in the middle of the night, this will give pause for thought, so check with the hotel what the configuration of the room/bathroom is before booking.
Breakfast was pricey at €13.50, but provided good croissants, a selection of deli meats and cheeses, cereals, and fruit. Milk, however, is the dreaded UHT. I asked for fresh milk, and one morning managed to get a small jug of it, but after that, the kitchen had none. I would advise the hotel to keep fresh milk on the premises in future.
I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theartgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2006

My husband and I were in Maastricht this past January and stayed at the Hotel Botticelli. Our stay was by no means bad, but it wasn't all that special either. From the description given as well as the price, we were expecting something a bit more upscale.

The only thing of note was the incredibly rude entourage of cleaning people. I hadn't planned on saying anything about them, but then I heard another couple compaining about the same experience of being literaly "shooed" out of the room prior to the given check out time. I know it doesn't exactly sound like a deal breaker, but it was obnoxious.

Helpful?
4 Thank jengator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2006

This is a very nice small hotel, in a clean backstreet just off the main square.

I was in an Annex room in the loft room. Very awkward stairs for anyone unfit. I thought it was full of character though.

Shower in the bathroom was hard to use as it was fitted in a strange position. Apart from that the hotel was clean and staff very friendly.

Would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bax52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2005

My husband and I decided to see more of the Netherlands than just Amsterdam and caught a train headed south. We ended up in Maastricht and fell upon the Hotel Botticelli. They had one room available for one night and WOW what luck! The main room was beautiful and simply huge (even by American standards) holding a couch, two chairs, coffee table, television/stereo, desk and chair and a very large bed with enough room left over to waltz. A large wardrobe sat in the rooms entrance hall and off the main room was a full bathroom with a bathtub/shower combo). The staff were friendly and helpful. We would have stayed longer if the room had been available....next time we will book ahead!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KendallD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2005

This is such a lovely and beautiful little hotel. I was looking for a charming, romantic little hotel (as a gift) and my expectations are more than met. Very tastefully decorated, quiet, with friendly staff. Among the most beautiful places I ever stayed at -if not THE most beautiful. Another plus point: big and very comfortable beds! And re. the rather negative few comments re. breakfast (that I saw on this site and which almost led me to book without breakfast): I dont know what this criticism is all about! breakfast is wonderful, with a good selection of fine stuff. Absolutely ok! Book WITH breakfast and you will not be disappointed (and enjoy the atmosphere of the breakfast room which is - like everything here - beautiful).

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ya73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2005

Nice little hotel, good location, friendly staff, great breakfast- steep steps to the room which was a bit small

  • Stayed March 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmartin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Au Quartier
Hotel Au Quartier
#24 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amrath Hotel DuCasque
Amrath Hotel DuCasque
#19 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel les Charmes
Hotel les Charmes
#15 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Derlon Hotel Maastricht
Derlon Hotel Maastricht
#17 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Pauwenhof
Hotel de Pauwenhof
#23 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Grote Gracht
Boutique Hotel Grote Gracht
#30 of 37 in Maastricht
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Botticelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Botticelli

Property: Hotel Botticelli
Address: Papenstraat 11, 6211 LG Maastricht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Botticelli 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelsNL and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Botticelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botticelli Hotel Maastricht

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing