We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place for business stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Murcia, Spain
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good place for business stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

The Hotel is 10 minute driving from Maastricht City center, ideal if you arrive by air at Maastricht, Eindhoven or Dusseldorf (1 h). Rooms are good and wide, with all necessary for a confortable stay, mini bar was not available; a little gym is also present with fair equipments The very best things in my opinion are the breakfast (excellent!) and the restaurant (good menu, a little poor in wines...). I stayed for a training and facilities, coffee breaks and venue are very good.The worst: wifi internet is not free and rates are expensive, it is a pity for an Hotel with this category.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    319
    81
    19
    10
See reviews for
99
313
18
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

I was in Maastricht for one night as I was working in the city the next day and I chose the Van der Valk as it was one of the only hotels I could find that had free parking. It was very easy to get to and the staff at reception were really helpful and friendly. I was also very happy with my room - it was large and comfortable with a really good bed and a spacious bathroom with a shower and a bath. The breakfast was one of the best that I've ever had in a hotel in Holland with a great choice of breads, meats, eggs, fresh fruit salad etc.

I didn't use it but I was also told that there was a free shuttle service to the centre of town.

I would definitely stay in this hotel again if I have to go back to Maastricht on business.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HayleyNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

First time in a van der Valk hotel. Was prepared for a not so great old hotel because I always thought that way of van der Valk hotels. I was pleasantly surprised by the very nice roomy and renovated bedrooms. We had a deluxe room so no sound of the highway/traffics. Breakfast was good, nice selection of different kind of bread, rolls, fresh orange juice ,bake to order fried eggs, lots of choices. Friendly staff.

We also had diner 1 night and can totally recommend the Chateaubriand. Very large portions so don't take an appetizer if you're going for the Chateaubriand. I like their idea of choosing your own grand dessert out of many small desert choices (I believe they were €2 per portion).

Location is good to visit the city of Maastricht.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room so you're in the quiet back section of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spijkenisse, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Luxury room with french balcony on the quiet side of the hotel. Spacious, clean and equipped with safe, flat-screen TV and large bed, two seater bench. Check inn -efficient and friendly. Payment on arrival or give your credit card . Package: 2 nights + breakfast + 2 x 3 course dinner (129 euros per person.) Price quality is good. Dinner Choice bistro or restaurant. You can choose your meal from the menu for worth about 22 euros Dinner reasonable quality (large portions), great breakfast with lots of choice. Nice hotel for a few days maastricht. Free shuttle bus from hotel to downtown. Parking facillities ok.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marretje47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

A very nice hotel in a very peaceful environment in Maastricht.
The room was nice and clean, and the breakfast was very nice.
All in all - recommended.

Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TalMizrahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, and had nothing to complain about. This is a large, modern hotel, aimed at both business travellers and families. Rooms are clean, the restaurant is old-style van de Valk. The personel did a great job, and immediately notified my mother about a left behind item (a phone). It is attentiveness like that this makes a good hotel into a great one.
There is an excellent all you can eat buffet at this hotel on fridays, saturdays and sundays. This does not go ahead if there are not enough reservations, and it's best to call first.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2010

Stayed there for 1 night, passing through Maastricht. Didn't go to the center, so don't know how easy it is to get there, but it shouldn't be more than 2 K from center. Really nice hotel, big room, clean, good restaurant, good breakfast at 13,30 euros (buffet), only con. is, that there isn't free internet.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guldbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#11 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#2 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#1 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#5 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#12 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht

Property: Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht
Address: Nijverheidsweg 35, 6227 AL Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing