We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good breakfast, lack of service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2013

The same as usual Van Der Valk hotel, location is outside the city. It's ideal if you travel by car, as the parking is free of charge. Breakfast is superb, standard Van der Valk Hotel. We came around 2.30 PM, reception did not tell us that the room is not ready yet. So we went upstairs and the room still a mess. We decided to wait and went to lunch at the brasserie in the hotel. We went again upstairs 1 hour later, the room is still not ready!! It's 1.5 hours after our arrival.
We put the luggage in the (wide-open) room and left to the city. The luxury room is enough for 3 persons, get a rollaway bed for my 5 yo daughter. The carpet is so dusty, as I can see the color of my feet changed after walking around in the room without my socks. Nice bathroom with separate rain-shower and 2 person bath tub.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank vn_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (743)
There are newer reviews for Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 743 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2013

The hotel is situated on the outskirts of the city, in an industrial zone. This is the main problem with this hotel. To get to the centre of the city you have to walk more than 4 km through a very unpleasant and busy (traffic) part of town.
There is a shuttle-service from the hotel but is does not function on Sundays, and only takes you into town, it does take you back to the hotel !
At noon and around supper time it is difficult to find a parking-space on the hotel grounds, as a lot of non hotel guests use the parking when visiting the restaurant.
Friendly and helpful hotel staff. The rooms are nicely furnished, sadly we did not have a mini-bar in the room. The prices for an internet connection however are highly exaggerated.
Opulent breakfast for Dutch standards.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnyDirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I stayed at the hotel for a week in easy December. The reception area was nicely decorated with Christmas decorations and it gave the place a nice warm feel.
The staff were very nice and all spoke good English.
The room was modern and very clean. The flat screen tv was ok but it was boxed in so hdmi port etc could not be accessed. I usually plug devices in to room tv. The bathroom was large with a bath and a good shower.
There is a small gym which is nice to use.
Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of food available.
I never ate in the main restaurant but did eat in the Brasserie for dinner. It got very full in here so an occasion struggled to get a table. The food was very nice in here and the portion size was very good. I would like to see this place a little larger with maybe a seperate bar area to socialise.
It cost 17 euro for a return taxi into the center of Maastrict. There was nothing much else around the hotel so on 2 occasions I dined in Maastrict. There are lots of bars and restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hullguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

This was our first stay ever in a 'van der Valk' -hotel, a very well known hotel chain in the Netherlands. It turned out to be a pleasant stay. From the outside, the hotel looked a bit 'industrial', but inside the hotel was quite nice, with a warm and friendly atmosphere. Helped by the very noteworthy Christmas decorations ! The room was a surprise: very stylish, very spacious, comfortable and clean. The bathroom had a separate bath and shower cabine, always nice to have. The elevators seemed to be a bit outdated, compared to the rest of the hotel.. small, slow and very hot. The entire hotel was very hot, btw.
Breakfast was good, lots to choose from. The breakfast area is very big, ample room for all the guests. However: why only 2, very slow, coffee-machines ?? This resulted in queues of up to 12 people at each machine to get a cup of coffee, very annoying.
The hotel is not located in the center of Maastricht. It's a bit too far to walk, for most people. However, the hotel does offer a shuttle service to and from the city center.
In general, a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lihat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

3km from downtown, it costs 10euros by taxi or 30-40min walking to get to the center of maastricht. hotel is comfortable, but elevators and corridors are very old. Room was good, big, spacious. Internet is "outsourced" so you have to pay for it and not to the hotel, you have to use your credit card with some internet providers offered. It was only free for 60min each day.
Breakfast was very good but expensive (you pay 15euros per day even if you don't have it as they don't control if you go and then they charge it per day at the end of your stay.
You have bikes to rent also.
I would not recomend to stay here as there are better options closer to downtown

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pato_River
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

The hotel is not located in the center of Maastricht city, but in the business area. This didn't affected us since we were by car, but I can imagine that people without own transport finds this not convenient.
The rooms are clean and spacious. The bed was too soft for me. The bathroom is very clean and our room had a separate bath and douche cabine; which I really loved.
The hotel staff could be a little bit more friendly; especially the lady who manages the breakfast area. She was shouting on the staff in the middle of the restaurant, which is not very nice against the guests.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SelviS84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed for a couple of nights at the same time as the cycling competition was on. They had made lots of great changes to the decor with a cycling theme which was very nice. Generally a very beautiful and tidy hotel with good staff. Only issue I had was the housekeepers wanting to clean the room too early in the day. I couldn't find the do not disturb sign!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkySep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#12 of 38 in Maastricht
1,293 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#11 of 38 in Maastricht
729 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 38 in Maastricht
1,312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Maastricht
Novotel Maastricht
#14 of 38 in Maastricht
926 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 38 in Maastricht
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht

Address: Nijverheidsweg 35, 6227 AL Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range: £91 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing