We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“190 new rooms, but not our!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed in this nice hotle for 5 nights, and enjoyed every minute. In particular the brasserie/bruin cafe is very pleasant and we could not get enough of it!
The room we booked was the Sinatra Suite and it was really nice and the bath was just about spacious enough for two!!
We had two problems however: the A/C seemed not to be working and also, although all rooms seems to have been renewed, cerainly not our suite. Why was this not communicated?

Room Tip: book any of the new rooms (190) but not the suite; it is not good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacob_van_Houdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (759)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 759 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2013

Excellent Hotel on outskirts of Maastricht.
Clean tidy and spacious rooms.
Good Value
Plenty of car parking.
Food is adequate but not special.
Have used this hotel as conference facility - it works well in this role.

Room Tip: One side of hotel faces residential area and rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnyAsbestos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

THE hotel was oké, missing à remote for the tv and à waterboyler. Big enough Nice rooms door to balkons wouln't open. Breakfast was verf bad, raw ego's bad coffee. Diner also bad Theo serve food made early in THE day, meat was hard and dry. Serves bad because we couldn't Eat the meat, THE refunt was poor. I would chose another hotel next time

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank renee778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Rooms are very basic and cold. No minibar available (not even a bottle of water)!!!. Food at the restaurant is simply horrible. We were hungry but couldn't eat. Never again!!!! I have no good feeling for tomorrow morning breakfast....

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Arimonza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

excellent hotel. Large and clean rooms, excellent breakfast. The bathroom has a bath and a separate shower.Very reasonably priced rooms.

Food in brasserie excellant.

The only problem: taxi from the hotel to Maastricht Aachen Airport we paid 39.50 euro with the statement that we rode 53.50 kilometers?. At the reception they told us that taxi cost 20 euros.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonjaCroatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

The same as usual Van Der Valk hotel, location is outside the city. It's ideal if you travel by car, as the parking is free of charge. Breakfast is superb, standard Van der Valk Hotel. We came around 2.30 PM, reception did not tell us that the room is not ready yet. So we went upstairs and the room still a mess. We decided to wait and went to lunch at the brasserie in the hotel. We went again upstairs 1 hour later, the room is still not ready!! It's 1.5 hours after our arrival.
We put the luggage in the (wide-open) room and left to the city. The luxury room is enough for 3 persons, get a rollaway bed for my 5 yo daughter. The carpet is so dusty, as I can see the color of my feet changed after walking around in the room without my socks. Nice bathroom with separate rain-shower and 2 person bath tub.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank vn_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

The hotel is situated on the outskirts of the city, in an industrial zone. This is the main problem with this hotel. To get to the centre of the city you have to walk more than 4 km through a very unpleasant and busy (traffic) part of town.
There is a shuttle-service from the hotel but is does not function on Sundays, and only takes you into town, it does take you back to the hotel !
At noon and around supper time it is difficult to find a parking-space on the hotel grounds, as a lot of non hotel guests use the parking when visiting the restaurant.
Friendly and helpful hotel staff. The rooms are nicely furnished, sadly we did not have a mini-bar in the room. The prices for an internet connection however are highly exaggerated.
Opulent breakfast for Dutch standards.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnyDirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#12 of 38 in Maastricht
1,324 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#11 of 38 in Maastricht
733 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 38 in Maastricht
1,335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Maastricht
Novotel Maastricht
#14 of 38 in Maastricht
939 reviews
2.6 mi away
Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt
Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt
#8 of 38 in Maastricht
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht

Address: Nijverheidsweg 35, 6227 AL Maastricht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range: £86 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing