We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel - Location, Location!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - Location, Location!!!”
Reviewed 13 May 2008

If you're staying in masstricht and don't have to be in the city center, this is a great hotel. Clean, modern with a restaurant and bar. Staff was generally very helpful. Room was large and clean with a very nice bathroom with unit to heat towels and floor was partically heated too, with bath and shower stall. I used the internet service only once, it was too expensive! And an unopened bottle of good belgian beer was "removed" from my room by housekeeping!! [what's up with that?

But here's the best part - the location. Just one block up the street stopped the #4 bus. It takes you to:
1) central train station in 15 min
2) the town center and Vrijthof in 25 min
3) to aachen germany in 55 min and the aachen central train
station (to Cologne, etc)
4) the Gulpener brewery in 40 min [for all you beer lovers]
5) the old walls of maastricht where D'Artangnon [sp] died defending the city
6) and at the central station you can change buses to go to Valkenburg - a nice, relaxing town with loads of restarants, cafes, a natural spa, cave/labyrinths, and the only hilltop castle ruins in the netherlands

Also, you can buy a 4 euro day-pass and ride all day - even to germany!

I guess I've said enough...

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breukelenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    335
    85
    21
    11
See reviews for
101
329
20
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malden, NL
Level Contributor
366 reviews
263 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2008

I was pleasantly surprised by this Van der Valk Hotel, where I stayed for two nights. Spacious lounge, good bar, great breakfast (EUR 12.50), very friendly staff. They have a small, but well equipped fitness room. The room and bathroom were large. I did not try the internet connection. The view was not exciting revealing several busy roads, but I kept the windows closed and I didn't hear anything of it. Ample free parking!

The hotel is located in a typical business area and it is far away from the city centre (you need a taxi). So if you are a tourist I would recommend to find a hotel closer to the city centre, but on the other hand this Van der Valk Hotel is very good value for money.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank Mianel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2008

Stayed in the Van Der Valk with my wife over the Easter Break. The Hotel looks quite new, very clean and comfortable. Our room was spacious with an excellent shower.
We never had the breakfast (extra 15 Euros), but we did use the bar a couple of times which was quite pleasant.
The hotel is situated on the outskirts of Maastricht, so we had to get a taxi into the main centre a couple of times which was approx 8 Euros.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful.
I would probably use a Hotel nearer the centre the next visit, only due to the fact of taxi's to centre.

  • Liked — Very clean and pleasant staff
  • Disliked — Outside Maastricht Centre
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beck_hoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwijndrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2007

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in March and really enjoyed. It is not a 5 star hotel but it's better than most hotels I stayed in. I did not like the interioir of my room (a bit outdated I think) but the room was spacious and clean, the beds were pretty good, the bathroom excellent, the restaurant was very good (although service was poor) and they have a nice bar which is open till late. And all this against a very reasonable price (in the weekend). Disadvantage is the location, it's a bit too far from the centre but they do have a shuttle going to and from the centre in the weekend. And parking is free in front of the hotel. I would certainly stay in this hotel again when I would go to Maastricht again as the hotel offers value for money.

  • Disliked — the locaton; too far from the centre
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2007

I travel to the Netherlands quite regularly and have discovered the Van der Valk chain quite by accident.

This hotel is a relatively new build but very tastefully done. It is outside of the main town and quite close to a main road but does not seem to suffer from noise polution at all.

The staff are very attentive and helpful. The bar friendly and serving great 'normal' food.

The restaurant is more formal but very good.

Rooms are modern, spacious and tasteful. I had a suite which was astonishingly cheap compared with the larger chains elsewhere in the Netherlands.

I stayed for 2 weeks and would not hesitate to return when I next visit Maastricht.

Recommended!

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ZCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2007

Made reservation on Hotel.nl -- quick and easy. Try to get the deal (usually requires a 2 night minimum stay) that comes with free breakfast -- it'll save you the 15+ Euro for breakfast.

Breakfast was self-serve, but the selection and seating was very good -- non-smoking, 6:30am-10:30am, fresh squeezed juices, good selection of breads, cheeses, eggs, fresh fruit, cereals, etc.

For the price, the hotel rooms are clean and comfortable. TV, hair dryer, shower and/or tub. Had a slight odor of cigarette smoke. The hotel is planning on going all smoke free by end of 2007.

Location is just on the outskirts of the city center. Taxi to city center is convenient and a good deal for about 12 Euros one-way --no extra charges for 2, 3+ passengers! If you want to drive your own car, plenty of parking in the lots, but have to deal with traffic.

Didn't see name of hotel obviously posted on the building, so look for the neon green tucan bird on the roof.

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pez4pop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2006

We had a great time in a very pleasent athmostphere. Nice bar, good restaurant, wonderfull people!
Next time we visit Maastricht we will come to this hotel again!

  • Liked — the atmosphere of the hotel
  • Disliked — no swimmingpool
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dutch_woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#12 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
1.0 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#10 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht

Property: Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht
Address: Nijverheidsweg 35, 6227 AL Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing