We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have asked for better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2013

From the moment we entered till we left, the staff and service at this hotel was amazing. Great customer service has to be acknowledged. Nothing was too much bother, taxis laid on, shuttle bus to and from the concert was provided and the cost was really good. We thought we would have breakfast the first morning and then go and look else where but it was so good that we had breakfast every day for the 5 days. The rooms were beautiful and the beds so comfy. I cannot think of any negatives at all and we will definately return next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GK1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (743)
There are newer reviews for Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 743 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed here to go to the Andre Rieu concert and it was full of concertgoers from all over the world. The hotel is clean and pleasant with helpful staff. The room was nicely decorated, with comfy beds and there was tea/coffee making facilities although there was no milk for tea just coffee creamer, the bathroom was clean with enough toiletries. The Brasserie was well run and the staff were helpful. The a la carte restaurant was expensive, slow and pretentious. The food was ok but a touch pedestrian. More hype-presentation than choice. Breakfast was excellent, lots of choice of hot or cold items. There are hold ups at the tea& coffee dispensers

There was ample free parking but the free shuttlebus did not run during the day on Sunday and it was a very long hot walk that day although there was local bus service once an hour. As there is lots of new roadway being built in the town it would have been helpful if there were maps/road signs to help drivers get out of Maastricht.

The hotel staff spoke English fluently as did the restauranters and shopkeepers in town. Checking and checkouts are prone to delays. Good value would try other hotels the chain.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a lower floor if possible as the lifts are VERY SLOW. The top floor and those on...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silverfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Location: easy access to freeway. Not in a particular nice area. Good location for a overnight stay. Decent restaurants. Small but functional gym. Room: nice, spacious room, large shower and bad tub. Modern decor. Free Wifi in the room. Nice TV with decent selection of channels. Staff: friendly staff; upon arrival the (sofa) bed was not ready - this was corrected very fast and with care. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We booked a last minute suite at a very good price and indeed the room was spatious, very clean and equipped with a good bed. The breakfast was absolutely excellent with a large choice and we both concluded that this was one of the most tastefull breakfasts we ever had. Also the main restaurant is a nice place with enough privacy, comfortable and luxury furniture. You can also eat in the brasserie and i advise the surprise dessert (both in the main & brasserie), this is a mix of small deserts at 2€ a piece. Everyone loves this.
Finally be aware that this hotel is in my opinion just a little bit to far from the city center (45min walking), but the better "price/quality" easily allows you to drive to the city (5minutes) and park there for the whole day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vuurvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Stayed here four nights. I was promised on check-in that breakfast was included but got charged in full on check-out. Girl on the desk insisted on full payment and treated me like I was ten years old. Nothing else going for this hotel, they are building offices on one side and a motorway on the other. Taxis are hard to get so I ended up walking everywhere. It's close to the conference centre but far from everything else. It's in a residential suburb where the foot-paths are covered with dog dirt. Best avoid.

Room Tip: Check the towels, one of mine was used.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmagDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This is the type of hotel I would look for in any place. Excellent price against an excellent performance.
Very nice desk personnel. Beautiful Brasserie/Grand Cate with lots of choices (food and drinks). The rooms a gorgious and nicely decorated. The bathroom has both a bathtub and separate shower. The beds are excellent. We slept well.

The location is not that nice looking (there are lots of reconstruction works going on along the motorway A2. However it doesn't harm your stay.

The hotel is of walking distance from down town Maastricht. From the hotel go underneath the bridge and follow the road along the motorway (oranjeplein) untill the large crossing. Cross the motorway and continue until a food tunnel. Take the tunnel and contnue to the Stationstraat. From there iit is a nice walk into down town Maastricht.

Room Tip: The hotel is of walking distance from down town Maastricht. From the hotel go underneath the bridge...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed in this nice hotle for 5 nights, and enjoyed every minute. In particular the brasserie/bruin cafe is very pleasant and we could not get enough of it!
The room we booked was the Sinatra Suite and it was really nice and the bath was just about spacious enough for two!!
We had two problems however: the A/C seemed not to be working and also, although all rooms seems to have been renewed, cerainly not our suite. Why was this not communicated?

Room Tip: book any of the new rooms (190) but not the suite; it is not good value.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacob_van_Houdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#12 of 38 in Maastricht
1,297 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#11 of 38 in Maastricht
730 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 38 in Maastricht
1,312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Maastricht
Novotel Maastricht
#14 of 38 in Maastricht
926 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 38 in Maastricht
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht

Address: Nijverheidsweg 35, 6227 AL Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range: £92 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing