We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and comfortable business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
“Modern and comfortable business hotel”
Reviewed 2 July 2008

The Hotel van de Valk is located along the A2 highway through Maastricht, across the road from the University Business and Medical centers and near the Convention center. it's easy to access from the highway, and has ample free parking in front of the hotel. There is some construction going on near the entrance, but it doesnt block access or create objectionable noise.

Checkin was quick and friendly, and there are elevators to the rooms on the upper floors. The room is clean, spacious, and sunny, with a full king bed, sitting area, and small workplace. There is a flatscreen TV with a nice assortment of cable channels, and wireless internet available for a fee through KPN..There is a coffee/tea service in the room and a safe and small mini-bar. The most notable thing is the bathroom, large by Dutch standards, with a separate large shower stall and a full tub.

The public areas are quiet and comfortable, and there is a fitness center up on the third floor. The restaurants and lobby bar are very good: I had an unhurried dinner and a very good Dutch buffet lunch.

This is a modern and comfortable hotel that is ideal for business traelers or people arranging meetings.

  • Liked — Bathroom, restaurants
  • Disliked — Fee for internet
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveH-ExPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    355
    87
    22
    12
See reviews for
108
347
20
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2008

If you're staying in masstricht and don't have to be in the city center, this is a great hotel. Clean, modern with a restaurant and bar. Staff was generally very helpful. Room was large and clean with a very nice bathroom with unit to heat towels and floor was partically heated too, with bath and shower stall. I used the internet service only once, it was too expensive! And an unopened bottle of good belgian beer was "removed" from my room by housekeeping!! [what's up with that?

But here's the best part - the location. Just one block up the street stopped the #4 bus. It takes you to:
1) central train station in 15 min
2) the town center and Vrijthof in 25 min
3) to aachen germany in 55 min and the aachen central train
station (to Cologne, etc)
4) the Gulpener brewery in 40 min [for all you beer lovers]
5) the old walls of maastricht where D'Artangnon [sp] died defending the city
6) and at the central station you can change buses to go to Valkenburg - a nice, relaxing town with loads of restarants, cafes, a natural spa, cave/labyrinths, and the only hilltop castle ruins in the netherlands

Also, you can buy a 4 euro day-pass and ride all day - even to germany!

I guess I've said enough...

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breukelenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malden, NL
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
269 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2008

I was pleasantly surprised by this Van der Valk Hotel, where I stayed for two nights. Spacious lounge, good bar, great breakfast (EUR 12.50), very friendly staff. They have a small, but well equipped fitness room. The room and bathroom were large. I did not try the internet connection. The view was not exciting revealing several busy roads, but I kept the windows closed and I didn't hear anything of it. Ample free parking!

The hotel is located in a typical business area and it is far away from the city centre (you need a taxi). So if you are a tourist I would recommend to find a hotel closer to the city centre, but on the other hand this Van der Valk Hotel is very good value for money.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank Mianel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2008

Stayed in the Van Der Valk with my wife over the Easter Break. The Hotel looks quite new, very clean and comfortable. Our room was spacious with an excellent shower.
We never had the breakfast (extra 15 Euros), but we did use the bar a couple of times which was quite pleasant.
The hotel is situated on the outskirts of Maastricht, so we had to get a taxi into the main centre a couple of times which was approx 8 Euros.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful.
I would probably use a Hotel nearer the centre the next visit, only due to the fact of taxi's to centre.

  • Liked — Very clean and pleasant staff
  • Disliked — Outside Maastricht Centre
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beck_hoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwijndrecht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2007

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in March and really enjoyed. It is not a 5 star hotel but it's better than most hotels I stayed in. I did not like the interioir of my room (a bit outdated I think) but the room was spacious and clean, the beds were pretty good, the bathroom excellent, the restaurant was very good (although service was poor) and they have a nice bar which is open till late. And all this against a very reasonable price (in the weekend). Disadvantage is the location, it's a bit too far from the centre but they do have a shuttle going to and from the centre in the weekend. And parking is free in front of the hotel. I would certainly stay in this hotel again when I would go to Maastricht again as the hotel offers value for money.

  • Disliked — the locaton; too far from the centre
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2007

I travel to the Netherlands quite regularly and have discovered the Van der Valk chain quite by accident.

This hotel is a relatively new build but very tastefully done. It is outside of the main town and quite close to a main road but does not seem to suffer from noise polution at all.

The staff are very attentive and helpful. The bar friendly and serving great 'normal' food.

The restaurant is more formal but very good.

Rooms are modern, spacious and tasteful. I had a suite which was astonishingly cheap compared with the larger chains elsewhere in the Netherlands.

I stayed for 2 weeks and would not hesitate to return when I next visit Maastricht.

Recommended!

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ZCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2007

Made reservation on Hotel.nl -- quick and easy. Try to get the deal (usually requires a 2 night minimum stay) that comes with free breakfast -- it'll save you the 15+ Euro for breakfast.

Breakfast was self-serve, but the selection and seating was very good -- non-smoking, 6:30am-10:30am, fresh squeezed juices, good selection of breads, cheeses, eggs, fresh fruit, cereals, etc.

For the price, the hotel rooms are clean and comfortable. TV, hair dryer, shower and/or tub. Had a slight odor of cigarette smoke. The hotel is planning on going all smoke free by end of 2007.

Location is just on the outskirts of the city center. Taxi to city center is convenient and a good deal for about 12 Euros one-way --no extra charges for 2, 3+ passengers! If you want to drive your own car, plenty of parking in the lots, but have to deal with traffic.

Didn't see name of hotel obviously posted on the building, so look for the neon green tucan bird on the roof.

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pez4pop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#12 of 38 in Maastricht
1,240 reviews
1.0 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 38 in Maastricht
1,284 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 38 in Maastricht
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#11 of 38 in Maastricht
700 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
0.8 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht

Property: Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht
Address: Nijverheidsweg 35, 6227 AL Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing