We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An all round good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My friend and I stayed yet 1 more time in lovely Maastricht to see Andre Rieu in concert. Hotel Van Den Valk is the perfect place to indulge in while there.Their "Live cooking " restaurant is surely one of Europe's best eating spots. The Bistro and formal dining restaurant are also very good. Nice atmosphere with lots of staff.Very large bedrooms with Air Con.which works! Not in pretty surroundings but quiet and pleasant. Very good value.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for a DE lux comfort room well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gillian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (759)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 759 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights and the minute we were welcomed by the unfriendly staff we knew that we had made a wrong choice... We had booked at 40sqm room with a patio and balcony - what we got was not at all what we had booked (no patio nor balcony). After calling the reception, we were able to change to another room (the one initially booked) but couldn't stay there for too long. One of the beds was broken and it turned out impossible to sleep on it. In the middle of the night, we changed rooms again and were moved to a smaller room but had to however pay the same price.
When it comes to cleaning service, we were disappointed, too. The basics were done, but nobody ever took care of the garbage nor properly cleaning the room as we found 2 spiders behind the curtains one night. Also, hotel essentials were non existent since there were no tissues, no bathrobes nor slippers, no items in the minibar,
Talking about the restaurant, we can't recommend it to anyone who thinks will enjoy a good steak or anything close to normal culinary standards. The breakfast was overpriced.
What annoyed us even more was the fact that - contrary to most 4* hotels - we had to pay for our bathrobes and slippers (in total 15€). To give you an example of the staff's carelessness: When we asked for the bathrobes and access to the sauna, one of the receptionists simply told us the price of the robes and slippers, but gave us no further details about the actual access which led us to call the reception again and find out that we had to get a key for the spa from the reception. Another thing is that we were promised to be called by the manager as at the check-out we complained about the quality of the service, but we never received that phone call.

To sum up, we do not recommend this hotel to anyone unless they want to experience disappointment at first hand. We did not enjoy our stay and would not go back to it or any other Van der Valk Hotels.

Room Tip: Do not expect a balcony even though you might have booked one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nicole_A0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We chose this hotel for the free parking so were happy to stay out of the centre, however the hotel is next to the motorway so it isn't the easiest hotel to get to on foot. That said it is only a 30 minute walk so we still thought it was worth it. The hotel also provides a free shuttle into the centre which is really useful.

The room was a really good size with a lot of space. The beds were comfy and the room was clean and quiet. We didn't try the restaurant or bar but they looked very busy. My only complaint would be the price of the breakfast, we chose to eat elsewhere.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The room was clean and comfortable. The bedding was very inviting and we slept quite well. The breakfast was very nice...lots of choices . It will fill you up as you start your day. There was a garage right across the street from the hotel too which was handy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluebirds77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We attended an art show in Maastricht and this hotel is close to the convention center. It is not ideally located, no restaurants near by. We had prepaid for our hotel stay and when we checked in we immediately got into a disagreement with the front desk who insisted we had not paid. I provided them with written confirmation of the payment and finally they admitted we had definitely paid. Not a nice way to treat your hotel guests. Breakfast is not included and they were charging $60.00 a person for breakfast. The hotel has dated furniture and was not overly clean. The rooms are a decent size. By American standards it is at best a 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Pros: Free parking. Good modern and spacious room. Nice pool and amazing wellness area. Some friendly staff. Bar with nice food.

Cons:Not a matrimonial bed, 2 single beds together. Too expensive and without breakfast included. Far from the centre in a unattractive area. The "shuttle" to the city centre was a small taxi and the driver was rude with my girlfriend. Standard rooms without fridge, but no warning, just a empty cabinet without the device (all rooms should have for this price). No robes for the pool.

Room Tip: try to get the rooms further from the lift and not facing frontal to the motorway. If possible a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeonardoMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Enjoyed a three night stay here during a conference, which was also held at the hotel. The room (205) was spacious, clean and bright, with a comfortable bed (pillows less so but just about ok) and pleasant ambience, big bath room with heated floor. Nice shower and lots of toiletries although strangely enough no lotion. Breakfast excellent, freshly cooked if required, lots of breads, cold meats, fresh pastries and coffee/tea/juices. Comfortable restaurant and efficient and knowledgable staff. Plenty of parking available which is free (had my motorbike so not sure about cars). Thoroughly recommend this hotel as a base for excursions. Free and reasonably fast wifi (sufficiently fast for FaceTime) everywhere.Great Brasserie too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#12 of 38 in Maastricht
1,323 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#11 of 38 in Maastricht
732 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 38 in Maastricht
1,334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Maastricht
Novotel Maastricht
#14 of 38 in Maastricht
939 reviews
2.6 mi away
Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt
Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt
#8 of 38 in Maastricht
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht

Address: Nijverheidsweg 35, 6227 AL Maastricht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range: £86 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing