We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We booked this hotel thru 'Andre Rieu Travel', as we tried booking any hotel around maastrich for 'Andre's' Maastrich concert but was unable to get a booking as everywhere was full, and this was in Feb 2014. Going thru his official travel comapany we thought mmmmm will it live up to the hype and 'does exactly what it says on the tin' as stated on his website? How glad we did, as we couldnt fault anything really except maybe a defective lightbulb on one side of the bedside cabinets. We arrived at the hotel and the reception staff were friendly and efficient even tho there was an abundance of traffic checking in and checking out. They knew exactly how things played and adhered to the script. Altho not shown to our rooms we were given intructions which were easy to follow. We booked the 'live cooking' dinner and breakfasts and we cannot fault them. The abundance of food was plentiful and cooked to your liking, and there was so much choice. It really was lovely, including the free as much wine or beer you could drink whilst you was in the restaraunt. We had also booked the transport to and from the concert which did not disappoint, the rooms were spacious and comfortable, and all in all it was a very enjoyable 2 nights stay and would recommend to anybody. Altho we booked the transport for the concert, during our free time we travelled by public transport into town, we caught the number 4 bus which runs every 30 mins from town right to the hotel gate, to catch the bus into town, you had to turn right outside the gate and walk about 500 yards to the bus stop on the other side of the road, once again these buses were every 30mins and very punctual cost into town was 2.50 euros.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    326
    82
    21
    10
See reviews for
99
320
18
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Our company just held a technology conference at the hotel and in comparison to the hotel we used last year, this experience was a million times better. The guest rooms were very comfortable, the conference rooms were great, the food was perfect, and the hotel staff was amazing (professional, pleasant, and very helpful)... I hope that this hotel is used next year for our conference.

Room Tip: I suspect that all the rooms are good, since I didn't make a special request and I really liked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

My friend and I stayed yet 1 more time in lovely Maastricht to see Andre Rieu in concert. Hotel Van Den Valk is the perfect place to indulge in while there.Their "Live cooking " restaurant is surely one of Europe's best eating spots. The Bistro and formal dining restaurant are also very good. Nice atmosphere with lots of staff.Very large bedrooms with Air Con.which works! Not in pretty surroundings but quiet and pleasant. Very good value.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for a DE lux comfort room well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights and the minute we were welcomed by the unfriendly staff we knew that we had made a wrong choice... We had booked at 40sqm room with a patio and balcony - what we got was not at all what we had booked (no patio nor balcony). After calling the reception, we were able to change to another room (the one initially booked) but couldn't stay there for too long. One of the beds was broken and it turned out impossible to sleep on it. In the middle of the night, we changed rooms again and were moved to a smaller room but had to however pay the same price.
When it comes to cleaning service, we were disappointed, too. The basics were done, but nobody ever took care of the garbage nor properly cleaning the room as we found 2 spiders behind the curtains one night. Also, hotel essentials were non existent since there were no tissues, no bathrobes nor slippers, no items in the minibar,
Talking about the restaurant, we can't recommend it to anyone who thinks will enjoy a good steak or anything close to normal culinary standards. The breakfast was overpriced.
What annoyed us even more was the fact that - contrary to most 4* hotels - we had to pay for our bathrobes and slippers (in total 15€). To give you an example of the staff's carelessness: When we asked for the bathrobes and access to the sauna, one of the receptionists simply told us the price of the robes and slippers, but gave us no further details about the actual access which led us to call the reception again and find out that we had to get a key for the spa from the reception. Another thing is that we were promised to be called by the manager as at the check-out we complained about the quality of the service, but we never received that phone call.

To sum up, we do not recommend this hotel to anyone unless they want to experience disappointment at first hand. We did not enjoy our stay and would not go back to it or any other Van der Valk Hotels.

Room Tip: Do not expect a balcony even though you might have booked one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicole_A0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel for the free parking so were happy to stay out of the centre, however the hotel is next to the motorway so it isn't the easiest hotel to get to on foot. That said it is only a 30 minute walk so we still thought it was worth it. The hotel also provides a free shuttle into the centre which is really useful.

The room was a really good size with a lot of space. The beds were comfy and the room was clean and quiet. We didn't try the restaurant or bar but they looked very busy. My only complaint would be the price of the breakfast, we chose to eat elsewhere.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
183 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The room was clean and comfortable. The bedding was very inviting and we slept quite well. The breakfast was very nice...lots of choices . It will fill you up as you start your day. There was a garage right across the street from the hotel too which was handy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebirds77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We attended an art show in Maastricht and this hotel is close to the convention center. It is not ideally located, no restaurants near by. We had prepaid for our hotel stay and when we checked in we immediately got into a disagreement with the front desk who insisted we had not paid. I provided them with written confirmation of the payment and finally they admitted we had definitely paid. Not a nice way to treat your hotel guests. Breakfast is not included and they were charging $60.00 a person for breakfast. The hotel has dated furniture and was not overly clean. The rooms are a decent size. By American standards it is at best a 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#12 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
1.0 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#11 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht

Property: Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht
Address: Nijverheidsweg 35, 6227 AL Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing