We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High tea, low quality”
Review of Boulevard - CLOSED

Boulevard
Price range: US$6 - US$14
Cuisines: Italian, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Boulevard Grand Cafe is a modern venue where you can enjoy more than 25 coffee specialties, pastry, breakfast, salades, pizza's, burgers, panini's, ... We serve cocktails, beer, wines, coffee, tea, iced coffee, smoothies, ...
Reviewed 12 May 2014

For my friends birthday I made a reservation for a high tea at the Boulevard city cafe in Maastricht. Been here before to have a coffee and had several meetings over there and normally the quality of the food and drinks is very good. Now I order the High Tea Mezzo which is about 17,50 euro per person and contains 2 hours of food and drinks they say. The hospitality of the personnel was great but that was all. We started with a fresh pressed orange juice and got two scones with cream and jam. Then we got a little pile of plates with a few sandwiches, some fresh fruit and a few pieces of pastry, really poor in quantity and quality. Then we got a piece of apple pie?? never heard about that before in a high tea. All this time we got two tea, and whenever we wanted to order more, there was nobody to take or order.

Although we had a great time catching up again the high tea was really really poor!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cecile009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoulevardMST, Eigenaar at Boulevard, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014
Google Translation

Hi Cecile, allereerst hartelijk dank voor je review. Vreselijk jammer te horen dat we je zo teleurgesteld hebben. We proberen het al onze gasten altijd naar hun zin te maken. In de meeste gevallen lukt dat ook. De high tea Mezzo is de hardloper binnen onze high tea arrangementen en we krijgen normaliter alleen maar complimenten hierover! Veel gasten komen regelmatig terug om van deze high tea te genieten. We serveren een glaasje jus d'orange, scones met clotted Cream en jam, vers fruit (aardbeien, meloen, kiwi, druiven), sandwiches zalm, sandwiches jonge kaas, minibroodje kalkoenfilet, 3 Petit fours per persoon en verder kun je onbeperkt kiezen van alle koffie- en theespecialiteiten gedurende anderhalf uur. De inhoud van de high tea staat op onze site volledig beschreven. Als afsluiter hebben we jullie ook nog een stukje appeltaart met slagroom geserveerd. In veel gevallen krijgen gasten de taart niet eens helemaal op omdat ze vol zitten. Wij zijn dan ook verbaasd dat je naast de kwaliteit ook over de kwantiteit spreekt. De invulling van de high tea is overal anders en wij kiezen er voor om de high tea zoals boven beschreven te serveren. Appeltaart past volgens ons goed bij een zoete high tea. De appeltaart is overigens niet eens standaard bij dit arrangement. We betreuren het te horen dat jullie geen bediening konden vinden voor het bestellen van extra drankjes. Gelukkig gaf je wel aan dat de bediening erg gastvrij was. Cecile, we waarderen je opmerkingen maar hadden het fijn gevonden als je ter plekke naar het buffet was gekomen om aan te geven dat jullie graag nog iets zouden willen drinken. Dan hadden we daar ten minste nog iets ter plekke aan kunnen doen. We hopen je op termijn weer in onze zaak te mogen begroeten en danken je nogmaals voor je op- en aanmerkingen. Groet, Harold & Régis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

Considering it's location across from the Douwe Egberts cafe, this cafe's aim should be to serve better coffees and give better service than from the one across the road which is a popular franchise.

Of course Boulevard was here first in this prime location!! But, the coffee I had was weak, (as in watery and from an automatic machine. My pet hate in The Netherlands are these lazy automatic coffee machines that make awful tasting coffees. Where are the baristas? Isn't Holland meant to serve some of the best coffee in the world?! ) the meal ok for €6. And at least they have table service, which really should be standard...but the coffee disappoints.

I hope that they can improve on this. The cafe has a lovely interior, but when I went I was one of 5 people here for lunch. Installing a simple barista machine and improving on coffee, in my opinion would improve their cafe.

The two guys that run it seem to be pretty nice, so I hate to give them a bad review. But I hope they can continue with their business and wish them all the best!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TessyDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoulevardMST, Owner at Boulevard, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to read that you like our style and interior. We are sad that you mention that we do serve coffee from an automatic machine... which is not correct.

We do serve coffee from an La San Marco espresso machine... most likely we replaced the old machine with a brand new machine yesterday afternoon!!

We only serve real Italian Segafredo coffee. Normally, guests are satisfied with the quality. It might be the case that something went wrong with your coffee (it is manually made for you... not automatic). Unfortunately you didn't mention that something was wrong otherwise we could have checked the quality and replace the coffee if something was wrong indeed.

If you are in the neighborhood please check in again and come see our brand new machine. We can discuss the procedures and quality of the coffee together.

Hope to see you again soon!

Harold & Regis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Been here several times to enjoy a nice coffee (Segafredo) and breakfast or lunch. They offer several breakfast menus, two high-tea options and a nice selection of (basic) sandwiches. Price-quality ratio is decent. The atmosphere is relaxed, plenty of space, nice chairs and sofas as well. There is relaxing soft lounge music playing. Service is excellent and personal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dutchtraveldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2015
Google Translation

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2015
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoulevardMST, Owner at Boulevard, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boulevard also viewed

Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 
Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 
Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing