We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, non-conventional, comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel St. Martenslane
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We stayed for one night. Our room really was hip. Large, well-designed, clean, light, quiet. A coffee-machine in the room (pads included!) and some lunch-packages from an automat in the entrance hall should be enough to get awake in the morning, because regularly breakfast is not included. We had booked breakfast extra and enjoyed a huge, rich and fresh buffet, including very different styles of breakfast.
If I ever will have to stay in Maastricht for a night or three, i'll be back!
Stefan

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stewim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HipHotelMartenslane, Sales and Marketing at Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2011

Dear stewim,

Fantastic. We would gladly welcome you again in Maastricht!

Kind regards

Team HipHotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2011

My partner and I stayed over at the Hip Hotel for just the one night. We found it quite easily as it’s close to the station and easy for taxis too. The hotel is actually part of the Townhouse Hotel opposite, that also gets great reviews, but the hip is more of a self service type hotel. You check in at the Townhouse and that’s where you have breakfast etc but you stay over the road where there isn’t any receptionist or anything.
There’s a lift, which is always welcome with luggage etc and we were really surprised when we opened our door. The rooms are very modern. You walk in through an entrance hall with complimentary hot drinks and a great bathroom and then in to the bedroom. It’s a really big room with a kind of cub in the center that forms the bed in the center with the TV etc and seating and a table around the outside. Great if you’ve got to work or use a laptop. Good if you like to lye on the bed and watch TV. I haven’t seen anything like it. You can choose different kinds of lighting including different colours.
Both the Hip and the Townhouse have vending machines so you can get drinks etc at any time, and the townhouse has lots of comfortable seating for the evenings if you want company rather than your room. Breakfast is impressive to say the least and is the widest variety we’ve seen when we were traveling across Europe on this trip. It’s not cheap though- could have cost the same as dinner if full price. We got ours included in our deal which made a stay at the Hip much more of a better deal than staying at the Townhouse, so make sure you look at the price of both when booking. Also, breakfast was stupidly busy around eight o’clock. Seems to be lots of business people staying or coach loads or something and it made it difficult to cope, by the looks of things. Leave it until later if you can.
The Hip Hotel certainly is that: it’s modern and trendy. For the size of the room I’m sure much more could have been made of it and it was a little form over function really. The bathroom had very little ventilation and was like an oven. It made it rather uncomfortable for two people to use. We were given less than half a loo roll between us and I had to go and ask for more and the towels were paper thin and not big enough unless you’re a supermodel with no hair. Parking was difficult and could be very expensive if you don’t know what you’re doing. We were lucky.
Overall, great for a one night stay. Roomy, novel and different.

Room Tip: Check The townhouse across the road too- part of the same hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazzrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HipHotelMartenslane, Sales and Marketing at Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2011

Dear Kazzrip,

Thank you very much for your compliments and the elaborate feedback! Your review gives us

the opportunity to improve our concept. Thnx!

Kind regards,

Team HipHotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

This hotel had amazing decor with themed rooms and everything was modern and designer style, very chic. We no issues, staff were friendly, had a really good atmosphere too. Reeeeeaaallllyyyyyyy comfy beds!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drew26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HipHotelMartenslane, sales&marketing at Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2011

Dear Drew26,

Thank you for the lovely compliments! We are happy to hear you had a good night sleep.

Kind regards,
Team Hip Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

It was surprising to see the comfort of this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BertvandenBurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HipHotelMartenslane, sales & marketing at Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2011

Dear Bertvandenburg,

Thank you for the compliments!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

We stayed here for one night, and really enjoyed our stay here. It already started when checking in: you need to check in at the hotel across the street, part of the same hotel group, and we got a very warm welcome and a cup of soup from a friendly hostess. A nice small extra touch. It was no problem I was a bit early. The room was, as advertized, very spacious, and had lights that could be either red, white or a combination, and you could adjust the brightness of all lights. That gave a nice romantic atmosphere to the room. The room was cold when I entered it, I already knew more people complain about that, but I switched on the radiator in the late afternoon and I have been warm for the rest of the night.
The corridor (between the room and the bathroom) had a small stand with utilities to make coffee/tea. What it missed was spoons. Breakfast is optional, and across the street in the other hotel, but we just made our own breakfast in the room. The room itself had both seats at a table and a bar, all very modern but comfy, just like the bed itself.
The bathroom was just a regular bathroom, but very clean.
The location is very convenient: it's within 5 minutes from Maastricht Centraal Station, and a short 10-15 minute walk to the old city center, over one of the old bridges. Also a cinema theatre and lots of bars and restaurants are within a 5-minute walk. The street is pretty quiet, although some buses go through it. Downstairs there are vending machines where they sell both food and utilities such as sunscreen lotion.
Overall I had a great stay here, but there were a few things that could use some improvement, like putting spoons in the room, but also the shower was spraying water all over the bathroom, the window/door between the bathtub was too small and let water go through at the bottom. There was no bathtowel, while because of the water the floor got very slippery after taking a shower. We just used a regular towel for that. But price-quality wise it was an excellent hotel, and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michelw88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HipHotelMartenslane, Sales and Marketing Departmen at Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2011

Thank you very much for your detailed review with all compliments and your feedback! We will improve these details so that your stay will be even more enjoyable next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

The Hip Hotel St. Martenslane is great for young people to stay in, as it is trendy and close to all important places like the station and city center. The rooms are comfortable and hip, you find everything you need for a superb stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsahC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HipHotelMartenslane, Sales Departmen of Hip Hotel St. Martenslane at Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2011

Thank you for your kind compliments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

This is a little hotel close to both the main train station and centre of town.
This is a low budget hotel, suited for everyone that don't intend spending their whole budget on a place to sleep. Quiet neighbourhood. I personally found the bed a bit uncomfortable, but my partner had no problems with it (too soft for my liking).
The optional breakfast buffet is ok. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RitaBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 February 2011

Dear Crowded_Minds,
Thank you for the kind compliments. We would be delighted to see you back again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.0 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 38 in Maastricht
1,346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
586 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mabi
Hotel Mabi
#9 of 38 in Maastricht
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#12 of 38 in Maastricht
743 reviews
1.1 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#13 of 38 in Maastricht
1,347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Martenslane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Martenslane

Address: Sint Maartenslaan 6, 6221 AX Maastricht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range: £63 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Martenslane 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel St. Martenslane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hip Hotel Maastricht
Hip Hotel St Martenslane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing