We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience in a great city!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel St. Martenslane

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel St. Martenslane
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Zuid Holland
1 review
“Great experience in a great city!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2010

The room is very comfortable and clean.
The location is convenient but a bit of a walk down town.
Breakfast basic but fresh.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingepinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HipHotelMartenslane, Sales Department at Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this review, 26 November 2010
Dear Inge,

Thank you for your compliments! We agree that Maastricht is a great city.

Kind regards,
Team Hip Hotel St. Martenslane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    124
    40
    9
    4
See reviews for
31
128
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2009

Given that Maastricht is an awfully expensive place to stay for the night, staying in this hotel was a relatively good deal (69 euros + 9 euros taxes). However, in terms of what to expect you may be somewhat disappointed by the nice photos and description. This is definitely not a "hip" or design hotel. The interior was outdated and not extremely exciting. This hotel is part of a hotel chain, which has at least four more hotels on sale in the same street. In fact, you check in at a different hotel. Skip the breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank b12346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HipHotelMartenslane, Sales Department at Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this review, 26 November 2010
Dear guest,

Thank you for your honesty. We are very sorry that you did not like our interior. Because Hip Hotel St. Martenslane is a hotel without employees, you need to check in at another hotel. In this way we can provide the best service. We regret that it did not meet your expectations.

Kind regards,
Team Hip Hotel St. Martenslane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2009

We booked 1 night in this hotel through hotels.com. From the website the rooms look really nicely decorated and perfect for a romanitc trip! Unfortunately when we arrrived we were told that the hotel had been overbooked and we were given a room in the town house hotel just across the road. Our replacement room was tiny - literally the size of the bed and that was about it! It was also completely bare - very beige and cream - nothing like what we had booked on the internet!! When I went to complain about the size of the room the hotel staff first said they had no other rooms availble - A LIE!! We were subsequently moved to a larger room - however it was completely unfinished - no phone, missing lightbulbs and the toilet flush didn't work properly - not the most romantic trip!! At least it was only for one night. The Hip Hotel may well be a nice place to stay but unfortuantely we didn't get the opportunity to stay there despite the fact that we had booked months in advance. However, if it's anything like its sister hotel across the road - i would stay well away from it!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiki_82_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HipHotelMartenslane, manager at Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this review, 6 November 2009
Dear Kiki_82_9
First of all I would like to thank you for writing a review about our hotel. We are so sorry to read that your stay was less than perfect. Unfortunately, circumstances beyond our power sometimes force us to switch guests who have booked a hotel room to one of our other accomodations. I hope you will understand that we make every effort to prevent such situations. I would like to take this opportunity to offer you our sincere apologies and to express our hope that we may continue to welcome you as a guest of Hip Hotel St. Martenslane also in the future. Please feel free to contact me anytime for your next reservation in Maastricht.
t; +31 43 321 11 11.
Kind regards,
Anke Meijs | Hip Hotel St Martenslane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nederland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

We visited this hotel last weekend. Room was not clean, we found a sock of the last guest near our bed! But the worst thing was the incredible noise at night. The rooms are in front of the hotel next to a very busy bus station. Buses drive by al night long and make a lot of noise. I usualy never complaint about anything but this was ridiculous. You pay a lot of money to stay awake all night. Also we were promised a champagne breakfast. Well there was no champagne, and hardly anything to eat at all.
So take my advise, book elsewere cause Maastricht is a very beautiful town and there must be a fine hotel there!

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JorisNederland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HipHotelMartenslane, manager at Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this review, 13 October 2009
Dear JorisNederland,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel, and share your experience with other travellers.
We are always glad to hear from our guests. Both positive and negative comments enable us to align our services better with the wishes of our guests.

The lack of housekeeping you have been receiving certainly is not our standard of performance!
I would like to offer you my apologies for this inconvenience during your stay.

Our hotel offers rooms on the front and back side of the street. Some of our guests like the street view and some prefer a quit room on the back.
We are very sorry about the fact that we didn’t received your comment during your stay. We would love to see that every guest is happy, and could arrange a room switch for you in this case.

If you visit Maastricht next time, I would love to show you a perfect stay in our hotel.
Would you thinking of coming back to us, please give me a call or drop me an email.

Should you have any other questions, please do not hesitate to call me at any time on 0031 43 321 11 11.
management@st-martenslane.com

Anke Meijs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights as we had to help our daughter move from one student house to another.
We would recommend the hotel to everyone! Nice room good beds, clean.
The parking garage is a bit small, when we left we were partially blocked, it took us 20 min. to get out!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TulipHaarlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HipHotelMartenslane, manager at Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this review, 28 August 2009
Dear TulipHaarlem,

I would like to thanks you for taking the time and write a review about our Hip Hotel.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay.

We are very sorry to hear that it took you 20 min to get out of our parking. It was very busy.

Hope we can welcome you some other time,

regards,
Anke
Hip Hotel St Martenslane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

We chose this hotel as a consequence of a Bongo Gift : 1 night in a Design hotel
Very friendly, flexible and proactive personnel : we first wanted to go on 19-20/07/2009 but due to bad weather forecast we called the hotel on 19/07 in the morning and simply told the truth. We asked, if it was possible to postpone our stay for 2 weeks. They immediately checked and we had immediately a positive answer! When we went 2 weeks later all the specificities asked in the first reservation (baby bed in the room and parking reservation) were kept without having to call them to be sure.
The hotel is Design but quite simple, the common commodities could be refreched (paintings in the Hall, in the lift).
Regarding the room : we were positively surprised by the big size of the room. The accessories (coffee and thea machine, airdryer, dressing), the good insonorisation of the room and stillness of the location : as there is no aiconditionning, we opened completely the fence and the surroundings were very quite. There is no aiconditionning but the room are quite frech. The cleanliness of the room are good, but not exceptionnal.
Normally we expected to take the breakfast at the hotel Le Roi (just at the oposite of the street), but as this hotel seems to be in renovation, the reception told us that the breakfast would be in front of our door in the morning at 9 AM. With our baby, it's always a solution that we prefer and here we had it with no supplement. The breakfast was presented in a paper bag like for a pik-nik and it was very complete, above expectation. Everything was foreseen in sufficiency. With the coffee and tea commoditiies foreseen in the room, and the nice place foreseen in the room to eat, it was simply perfect!
The location is also quite good because it's not in the "commercial side" of the town :
* this gives the possibility to have free parking on sunday (this is not the case in the other part of the town) and the hotel is very near the Station (but strangely with very few noise in the room).
* by foot, It's very near and very easy to go to the old side of the town and commercial part.
Do not forget that if you want to go for shopping in Maastricht (where you find store names not known everywhere like DESEGUAL, NAME IT, ...), every first sunday of the month everything is open from 12AM til 5PM!
We only found that the arrival and departure hours were too short : arrival at 3PM is quite late and departure at 11 AM, quite early. In most of hotel we went it's arrival at 2 PM and departure at 12PM.
Would we want to do another week-end in Maastricht we would return to that hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SisiBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HipHotelMartenslane, manager at Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this review, 5 August 2009
Dear SisiBrussels,
I would like to start by thanking you for your detailed travel story.
We love to see that our guests are sharing their experience with other future travellers.
This helps us telling the travel world what kind of product we offer.
I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and the city of Maastricht. Again thanks for the feedback. Hope to see you again soon,

Kind regards,
Anke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

Cool hotel with quirky silver formica 4 poster beds and neon lighting. Huge floral mural on wall and matching cushions. Good space to work in (with free internet). No iron available which is sometimes a problem for me in NL - tried to summon one from the phone in reception. Champagne breakfast in room was yet another quirky touch. I think I only paid about 69€ including breakfast plus tourist tax so it represented good value for money. Quiet room at the rear of the hotel also ensured that I slept well. On street parking was free as we arrived late and left early. Close to station and not far to walk into the centre.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eld1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.0 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#1 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mabi
Hotel Mabi
#14 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dutch
The Dutch
#5 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#2 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Martenslane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Martenslane

Property: Hotel St. Martenslane
Address: Sint Maartenslaan 6, 6221 AX Maastricht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Martenslane 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel St. Martenslane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hip Hotel Maastricht
Hip Hotel St Martenslane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing