We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
142 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Wonderful wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

I stayed here as part of the VIP package for Andre Rieu's 2013 Vrijthof Concert and the whole experience was impossible to fault. Ultra modern hotel with amazing if slightly compact rooms. The food was of exceptional quality both for dinner and the breakfast buffet and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. I cannot say that the hotel is cheap but when a splurge is wanted I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Great location less than 5 minutes from the town centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnthonyIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    712
    371
    115
    41
    8
See reviews for
165
755
41
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We spent the second night of a weekend in Maastricht here and the comparison between the previous night is monumental.
This transformation of the old abbey into an Hotel is stunningly beautiful although personally I did find a little conflict between the design of the light fittings and the cathedrals architecture.
As a Hotel the rooms are just perfect, Dinner was excellent, the service was first class and I would certainly recommend this to anybody wanting some luxury within walking distance of the Vrijyhof Square.
I wished we has been there for the two nights but will find a way to ensure this will happen next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

Simply a stunning hotel.
Everything is impecable.
Do not miss this beautiful hotel in an amazing city.
Great food everywhere.
One big turn--off is a special 5 euros p/day/person tax. We were 5 people, so it costs us 75 euros.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dymonicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed two nights at this unique design hotel and really enjoyed the experience. The room rate was Euro 245. The picturesque old town centre is a short walk and has a selection of very good restaurants, cafes and bars.

Liked

+ Very well conceived adaptive re-use of an historic building
+ Excellent design and quality art collection
+ Friendly and very helpful reception staff
+ Unique rooms due to the historic nature of the building
+ Spacious room overlooking the internal courtyard
+ Good natural light, opening windows and quiet room
+ Large bathroom with window
+ Separate WC, walk-in wardrobe arrangement
+ Complimentary drink at the bar
+ Small bag of quality toiletries left in the room a nice surprise
+ Short walk to old town centre


Disliked

- Complimentary Wifi only available in the common areas
- No down pillows/duvet available - synthetic fill only
- Breakfast expensive and cost added to your bill even if you didn't partake (check your bill)

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inner courtyard are quiet. Some rooms on the top floor are in roof attic with smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

A cathedral turned into an amazing hotel. What a smart concept to save a piece of history.
Lovely suite, large, light, quiet, and a fabulous shower, made for a very unique stay in this quiet city.
Highly recommend it.

Sweet dreams.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sintragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay here for two nights. Well located for a 2 minute stroll into the main town square and only 20 minutes walk from all the great restaurants and museums. We stayed for our 1-year wedding anniversary.

Very well designed hotel with fabulous features in a unique setting. The breakfast prices are outrageous but the huge number of good local restaurants and patisseries mean that we didn't eat at the hotel.

The friendly staff spoke great English and were happy to help with any questions we had about local sights and restaurant recommendations.

We stayed in two rooms - we asked to move after the first night due to the really exceptionally loud traffic noise in the first room we were in. The staff were only too happy to accomodate our request. The second of our two rooms - 111 was stunning.

Room Tip: Avoid room 401 - very noisy Room 111 - very highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dj_akademix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

This was a really unique hotel, possibly a little overdone with some of the refurbishments. Definitely worth a stay if you are prepared to pay more than what is needed in Maastricht. Staff were friendly and helpful. Layout of the room was a little awkward but to be expected given this was a 15th century Abby. Was a little disappointed with 2 single beds and the offer for a paid upgrade just for a double bed. Very central to the wonderful town of Maastricht and only a walk to everywhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5Lees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.9 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.9 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#5 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#11 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Dutch
The Dutch
#1 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kruisherenhotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kruisherenhotel Maastricht

Property: Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Address: Kruisherengang 19-23, 6211 NW Maastricht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Maastricht
#1 Family Hotel in Maastricht
#1 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
#3 Business Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kruisherenhotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entrance of the Kruisherenhotel, an ancient monestary and church converted in a hotel and restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kruisherenhotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht Hotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Hotel Maastricht
Maastricht Kruisherenhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing