We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good five star hotel in perfect location. Only little logistics problems.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
2 reviews
“Very good five star hotel in perfect location. Only little logistics problems.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2010

We went there from 13/05 till 16/05.
We have chosen a Prestige room. We got room N°3.
The hotel is in a old church. Simply amazing location! 10 minits from the center of the City.
To the contrary to what we have red before :
- the room was perfectly clean. Spacious (around 50 m²), with an perfect bathroom with bath and amazing big shower room. Very designed furnished. Everything perfect on that side.
- It's a 5 stars hotel, so the price is certainly not cheap (like parking at 30 EUR/day or breakfast at 27 EUR / people) . But the quality of the room, the food and the location is at the level of what you pay for.

Regarding sleeping quality, the beds were perfect, only a bit noisy sometimes because it's stones everywhere, people working in the hotel should perhaps not whear high heels shoes which can make a little noise hearly in the morning.

Only little problems is not regarding the service itselfs: people are very kind and helpfull but there seems to be little logistics problems around the service (between the different departments) and not enough communication to the customers in such an hotel level.
Examples :
- We used the card to get breakfast in our room the first morning. It was not replaced for the next day.
- We took white wine in the mini bar. It was not replaced. When we asked for it. We received red instead. And the same the next days. Surelly this would mean that white wine was missing but in that case, the people of the hotel should know it or a message should be left in the room to explain and appologize.
- Because we had no card to order breakfast in our room for the 2nd day, we called the reception who was very helpful to take the order for us. But we did not get the breakfast the next day! We called and received it 10 minits after with appologises.
- The last day, there was again no order breakfast card in the room. We asked for it and received one. But when breakfast came, is was not complete compared to what we asked : we had tea for one instead of 2, there was no sugar neither. No salt and peper while we had eggs, we asked for mushrooms and there were not there.

The food is excellent : we took a salad in our room the first night and it was simply delicious. So, on saterday night we reserved a table in the restaurant of the hotel. Very beautifull location even if I should thing that the decoration should have been more theatralistic for such a place (but it's my taste)! The food was perfect and the associated wines too, the only problem was that it was a little too long between the courses. We stayed 3 hours for a 4 services cource (desert included).

In conclusion :
- if these little logistics problems should be resolved,
- and personnaly if a system for tea and coffee was also foreseen in the room (at least in the privilege rooms and suite),
it would be a really perfect hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SisiBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    712
    371
    115
    41
    8
See reviews for
165
755
41
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2009

We had this hotel on our "wish list" already for a long time, been reading about it in magazines, the 'hotel in a church'. The entrance is strange but funny, there is a lot of art & design in this hotel, you will find it through the whole building. It makes you walking around disovering new things all the time. Sometimes I do not understand the art, but some things in this hotel are nice to look at, In the court-yard and even in the loft corridors you will find interesting things. The most impressive is the church itself, again with a lot of art & design. We had a very friendly welcome, the receptionist showed us the room while telling about the history of the hotel. The room we had was very nice & spacious (because it was quiet we were offered a free upgrade). Breakfast was excellent, but make sure you are hungry because there is a lot of choice and it is not cheap. The hotel is located just a 5 minute walk from the Vrijthof. It was a perfect stay, we just wanted to mention one little thing: that it is a kind of strange that you book a room for a much lower price on a booking-site than at the hotel itself. We rung the hotel to make a booking but it was not possible to get the same rate as the booking-site, so we reserved on the booking-site.
We want to thank Mr Oostwegel & his staff for a wonderful stay in this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeroenStruyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
722 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

After an initial pleasant phone call while travelling to Maastricht, we
were really looking forward to our visit. The receptionist told us they
had plenty of availability, and explained the 3 categories of rooms,
saying we could make our choice on arrival.
On arrival, I was met by a scowling unhelpful very young receptionist,
who was the most unpleasant example of her profession that I have ever come across in many years of international travel. She reluctantly agreed
to show us one category of room, and that was all. When the conversation
became heated, I insisted in seeing a manager. The manager was not much
older, but at least found someoe to show us round. We settled on the
middle level of room, which was quite comfortable. The rooms had scant
detail of the hotel services (no phone guide etc.) and after dinner, I
asked if some detail could be given in the morning (as we were staying 2
days). Again I was given a barrage by the upstart receptionist, who
insisted that all information was in the room. I subtely tried to
reinforce the staff / client relationship to no avail. I even tried to
excuse her from a lack of English, only to be retorted that she
understood English perfectly! In the end I simply walked off.
The location of the hotel is good, architecture interesting, and the bar
modern and comfortable. The walk down to the centre of the city takes you
through many of the truly pretty sites. I do feel however that there is a
money making venture element in the hotel. Internet is not free
(ridiculous for the room rate) and the expensive valet parking is a local
multistorey at an elevated rate. Breakfast orders were not picked up, and
were wrong when they eventually arrived. The room keys continually
deactivated, and of course, the bill was wrong (on their side).
Sadly,until staff training is addressed, this is one to miss in a
beautiful city.

Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank crawfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2009

Pros:
- Funky hotel in a church
- Fantastic interior design
- Great room (was upgraded to Superior room)
- Very friendly staff
- Great service all around

Cons:
- No free internet
- Location is not quite perfect
- Expensive for Maastricht

Summary: This is one of the coolest hotels I stay at in a long time. I loved the funkiness and the staff were really nice, which made this a perfect stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cybertraveller696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2009

We stayed for two nights in this hotel during a long weekend in Maastricht (lovely town) qnd Aachen in Germany 9we were at the thermal baths). My husband being and architect was very interested in the hotel structure and design. The hotel itself is impressing, very nice and design establishment (a former church turned into a hotel). yje hall and the bar are really hip, they ae set in the middle of the old church's nave and it really is impressive. The rooms are tiny, fully equipped (bathroom, TV, bed, desk and chair, trousers press, safe, etc, all you could ask for in a 5 stars hotel). But they are small. Given that they originally were the cells of the monks, they're rather small anyway for the price they cost (we paid 180 EUROS excluding breakfast). The breakfast buffet is pricey (26 EUROS per person) but is really good, lots of food, fresh fruit, nice croissants, no expensive but good. The location is a bit de-centered. The staff is nice, but not a plus. they just stick to the average, you would maybe ask a bit more out of a five star hotel. The restaurant is nice, rather expensive for small "nouvelle cuisine" (i.e. two bites in a plate) meni. I would say that one night is enough, think about it if you want to spend more than one night there. It's too overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francesca9371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2009

Good location for shopping and snowboarding( Snowworld about 15mins drive). The church is full of character and has been transformed into a truly stunning hotel. Staff were very friendly and eager to help. We stayed for 2 nights in a prestige room(105) It is one of the few rooms that overlook the courtyard. This room had twin beds together ( we had requested a double with the agent we booked thru) We asked at front desk if they had any double available which unfortunately they didnt(apparently not many rooms do) So if this is mega important to you I would advise you phone the hotel directly to request. We had breakfast at the hotel both mornings, which was tasty. We ordered some pizzas in our room on the first day - if youre trying to keep costs down would say prob not worth the 12.50 each and the room service charge on top. 2nd night we had the 4 course meal with champagne - DELICIOUS! My partner and I like to go away for weekends so have stayed a fair number of hotels, but never one like this! All in all I would say if youre looking for that somewhere special, for that special someone, for a special occassion - look no further youve found it!!!! I saw the photos and virtual tour video of the hotel and thought it looked fantastic, but did wonder if it would turn out to be a case of ' good but not as good as it looked in the photos' - I neednt have worried because it was a case of ' they dont do it justice!!!'

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scgrovaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2008

This converted church is now a deluxe hotel. Each room is different, and the design--extremely contemporary--is quite amazing in contrast to the setting within this small cathedral. My room was huge, exceptionally decorated and so unusual. A truly memorable experience, and very comfortable.

Breakfast was also excellent, with a varied buffet located on the second floor, open to the vaulting windows and high ceiling.

Everyone who worked there was very nice. And, of course, everyone speaks perfect English.

Internet access in the room is 10 euros per day. I look forward to this becoming included in the room rate, like electricity.

Overall, I am very enthusiastic about turning empty churches into architectural gems.

  • Liked — Creativity of design
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank BFBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.9 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.9 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#5 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#11 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Dutch
The Dutch
#1 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kruisherenhotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kruisherenhotel Maastricht

Property: Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Address: Kruisherengang 19-23, 6211 NW Maastricht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Maastricht
#1 Romantic Hotel in Maastricht
#1 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
#3 Business Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kruisherenhotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entrance of the Kruisherenhotel, an ancient monestary and church converted in a hotel and restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kruisherenhotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht Hotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Hotel Maastricht
Maastricht Kruisherenhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing