We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good central B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Dis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Dis
Ranked #7 of 51 Maastricht B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good central B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

Great location for spending a few days in Maastricht. Only 5 minutes walk from main square with all the restaurants overlooking the square and the shopping streets are nearby. The hotel is in an lovely old part of Maastricht, almost next to part of the old city wall, it's in a tiny road with no parking anywhere nearby, the hotel has some reserved parking (which you have to pay for) so make sure you book a parking space with the hotel. We had a big bedroom, big comfortable bed, bathroom/shower OK but the shower splashed all over the floor. The room was good, clean but felt it lacked personality There is no lift, so if you don't do stairs it's not for you, although they are managable. Breakfast is in the back of the hotel in a vaulted room that lookes like a chapel, breakfast is extra, it's OK but quite expensive for a continental.
We were told by Dutch friends to go to a restaurant call Lieuwke, food was great and not expensive for the quality, only problem no English translations for the menu. I think they are trying to keep this good restaurant for the locals!
We booked a city tour with the tourist office,and recommend it, we really enjoyed the experience and would not have walked around these areas if we had been just by ourselves and it makes the visit so much more interesting.
All in all a good place to stay for a short visit to lovely Maastrict.

Room Tip: If you dont like stairs go for 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conmackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    31
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
45
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
128 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We spent two days in Maastricht staying at the centrally located Hotel Dis. If you are driving to the hotel, be sure to have detailed directions as 28 Tafelstraat is a very narrow street and not well marked. Once we found the hotel, the staff assisted us in taking our bags to our second floor room (room # 3). Yes, there is no elevator but the stairs are manageable. We reserved parking in one of the hotel’s reserved spots a short distance from the hotel as parking is scarce. The main floor gallery consists of three rooms of beautiful artwork that leads into the breakfast room. Our bedroom was large and faced the front of the building. Some traffic/street noise during the night so if you are a light sleeper, request a room toward the courtyard in the rear of the building. Nice size bathroom but the tub/shower has no door and water covers the floors when you shower. In addition, the tub is very high making it somewhat difficult to get in and out. Bed was comfortable and the artwork and furnishings appropriate. Room is showing some wear with one coat hook pulled out of the wall and the bathroom needing a fresh coat of paint. The best part of staying here was the location so close to the square and center of Maastricht. The original first city wall is literally feet from the hotel as well as restaurants, museums and shopping. Tourist information provides a great self guided walking tour of the historic district that is well worth the time. Enjoyed a delicious four course meal paired with lovely wines at Mes Amis, a short 5 minute walk from the hotel. While we did not eat breakfast at the hotel, be aware that most places do not open for breakfast until 10:00 am. Overall the Hotel Dis was a comfortable and convenient place to stay for our visit to historic Maastricht

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EaganTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

We had a fantastic two-night stay at the Hotel Dis. We selected the room at the top and loved it. The room had views to two sides -- of a lovely square on one side, and of two church steeples to the other. The location can't be beat, within walking distance of the nicest areas in the old section of Maastricht. Breakfast was very good. The bed was very comfortable and there was free wifi. We loved our stay and recommend this hotel highly. (Maastricht is also a charming old town, with many really nice cafes and restaurants and great for exploring. We're very happy we visited.)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freshairfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Messina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

Very tastefully renovated old building which is also used as art gallery. Breakfast is served in a nice vaulted room at the back. Well located for car travellers and a stone-throw from the famous central square of Maastricht. We managed to stay there on a cheaper then usual rate because it was off peak, which was great 'cause we would probably not have chosen it otherwise. It is really a high-end B&B not a hotel. No reception, no bar, no lift, no fitness centre. But the owner has it all very well organized and he is happy to give useful advise on your visit to Maastricht.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpecieMigratoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2010

Enjoyed a 1 night stay in the Dis hotel. Very helpful owners who made a nice combination of a small boutique hotel combined with a nice art gallery.
Parking close by is a problem but the hotel has an enclosed parking area 100m down the road, 15 euro per day.
The room on the 2nd floor was large and met our expectations, all amenities present and clean.
Have dinner in the "Coin des bons enfants" restaurant nearby!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teesside
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

Great location close to the centre of Maastricht, with pleasant bar/restaurant in square across road. Excellent large, individually designed rooms above art gallery, but only reached using steep stairs, so don't bring a heavy suitcase. Super breakfast and very good service. Car parking off street 100m away, but limited, so book beforehand.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teesside_tourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

Excellent place. In the old centre of the town with very nice restaurants, galeries and shops. The very friendly owners have made an artistic and design hotel of it with 6 very quit rooms. Eat at Beluga (next door) or cafe Sjiek :-)

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulus024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.3 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
0.7 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#5 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Dutch
The Dutch
#1 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dis

Property: Hotel Dis
Address: Tafelstraat 28, 6211 JD Maastricht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dis 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Dis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing