We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The art of relaxing”
Review of Hotel Dis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Dis
Ranked #7 of 51 Maastricht B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Maastricht is such a relaxed and stylish town, so why not choose this gallery-hotel for a week end stay? No style over substance though.The welcome is friendly, warm and caring.The rooms are tastefully furnished with modern furniture and art. I loved room 7 right under the roof, very cosy and yet a great size. All comforts you expect in a good hotel are provided for. Maybe the towels could be bigger, but this is me nitpicking, and I really don't want to, because I think, that this is a very individual place that offers all to make a stay in Maastricht a special treat. Breakfast is full of lovely tasty things and you get to walk through a beautiful art gallery to get to your morning coffee - what more could one want? The price is reasonable for the service offered. I couldn't fault it and that is a rare occurrence!!!

Room Tip: I would choose room 7 every time: situated under the roof it is a very comfortable hide away from th...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petitefraise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Dis
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

The Hotel Dis is a charming boutique hotel ideally located (at least for us) in the no-less-charming city of Maasricht, Netherlands. We were there for a wedding and the hotel had been arranged for us and friends by the bride's family. Like many such European hotels, its entrance is unprepossessing and you'd walk right by it if you weren't looking for it.
Inside, it is a different story. It has perhaps half a dozen rooms (we didn't count) situated on 3 storeys up a fairly narrow, semi-steep stairway. The stairs were a bit of a challenge with luggage but we managed.
The building is clearly an old one, well refurbished. The view we had was lovely - over the courtyard garden and on a level with the rooftops of Maastricht which were, in themselves, charming (photos included). The rooms had slightly creaky wooden floors, might have been a bit disturbing to those below (we didn't ask) but, since we were on the top floor, we were fine. They were well-appointed and we needed nothing.
The service was excellent, and the complimentary breakfast, tasty. The room through which one passes to the dining room is a mini art gallery.
What we liked most was that it is at the intersection of 4 streets but with little traffic and, in an island in the middle of the intersection is one of those lovely little European outdoor spaces with tables and chairs looked after by the lovely (and worth a visit) little restaurant, Lure, just across a narrow street. One can sit out and have a light meal, a beer (excellent local brews) and feel like a native. We sat and watched as groups on young(ish) 'Maastichians' met, visited, and the size of the groups at adjacent tables grew and diminished as people came and went.
The hotel is a short walk from everywhere you'd want to go in Maastricht and a nice quiet place to come back to after a day of exploring.
It's not the Hyatt so don't look for pool, spa or fitness room.
We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank osclaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Spent 2 nights in this wonderful Hotel. Comfy bed in a huge room with great art. Room 1 does face the street and as others have noted, there can be some street noise (even with the windows closed). At some point, I think the owners should replace the windows with some new double or triple pane units that block noise. Great location in a quiet corner of Maastricht.


Recommend Gio's for dinner. We also ate at Le Tapage and was frankly disappointed with the food and slow service.

Maastricht is one of my favorite places in Europe! The Dutch people are wonderful and there are more outdoor cafes with great beer in Maastricht than you can count. Tons of great shops for clothes, shoes and fine jewelry.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montyawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We were upgraded to the front room on the first floor. Excellent, huge, well lit room. Luckily the street is rather quite, as the windows let every noise go through. Another part of town would have been a nightmare. Breakfast was great, we must say that the place really has a lot of magic, old house, nicely renovated, interesting art gallery, breakfast in an old chapel. It is true there is no lift but depending on your condition, you reserve where you want to be. Parking can be easily arranged if you care to reserve for it. Centrally located in the old town which allow you to discover it in a very relaxed way : by foot. We will go back. Excellent staff by the way.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrissassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night on a stopover in Maastricht and wasn't disappointed. Other reviews sum it up pretty well. Quiet, clean, and a5 minute walk to grot markt. We stayed in room 7, right at the top of the building under the eaves, and there's lots of narrow stairs to get there. Fine if you're full of energy, but a bit daunting after a hard day's drive or sight seeing, or perhaps a few to many beers at any of the fine local pubs or restaurants in the vicinity. (Note to hotel proprietor: room 7 door needs oiling, if only for the sake of other guests sleep.)
Parking is down the street in a( locked 7 pm to 7am) parking area (warning: do NOT park in any space other than those designated for the hoteloor your car will either be clamped or towed. Saw poor sucker from Austria with a big yellow clamp on their BMW front tire.)

Didn't have breakfast there but on checking out saw the spread and it looked fresh and plentiful.

Id definitely stay again, though maybe not in room 7!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Excellent location. Professional and friendly staff. Spacious rooms with high quality fittings. Some initial problems accessing the wi-fi service in my room - but this was quickly attended to and rectified. Room rates are high and generally the hotel was value for money - but at the price I think that the (beautiful) Breakfast should have been included and not an extra charge. The only real criticism I have is that there was very subdued lighting in the rooms, making it almost impossible to read - and the separate toilet area off the bathroom was very dark with completely inadequate lighting.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights for the art fair in March. The city is basically old town (left of river) and new town (right of river and where the train station and exhibition centre are located). Location of Dis is excellent close to the Vrithof and its restaurants and little shops. Each room is different as it is a converted house, so when booking do say what you want, and what you do not want. Room was on top floor as requested and which I like, as there is no noise above me (no lift but that is fine with me), it had lovely view out to the adjoining house, and was quiet. Hotel Dis itself is down a narrow lane but it did not feel unsafe. Narrow lanes are characteristic of the Old Town. Bedroom was a generous size ( I booked a deluxe, double bed) . Bathroom good size with good water pressure for long bath but it is somewhat dark. Some of the rooms have rather 'bizarre' art painted in the walls so if that freaks you out do say so. Hotel is spotlessly clean, and recommended for solo female travellers. Bed was comfortable, lovely pillows and duvet. Breakfast is Dutch style, boiled eggs on request, and adequate cold buffet table. Owner is a bit brusque but that's just his style, but you do see him every morning at breakfast, so it does have an effect on one's stay. You get a front door key to let yourself in, and of course your room key.
On the whole, an OK stay, expensive for what it is, due to owner's "service style". Friends who stayed at the Beaumont for the same price said they had a good stay there.
Tip: lovely home furnishings shop nearby- Toro Interior Design, Sint Pieterstraat 34.

Room Tip: Do be specific when booking, as to what sort of room you need. Email works fine with the booking/the...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LuxurynCulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.7 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 38 in Maastricht
1,312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 38 in Maastricht
1,375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#11 of 38 in Maastricht
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel les Charmes
Hotel les Charmes
#15 of 38 in Maastricht
121 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Dutch
The Dutch
#1 of 38 in Maastricht
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dis

Address: Tafelstraat 28, 6211 JD Maastricht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Maastricht
Price Range: £85 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dis 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing