We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very noisy rooms and bad breakfast experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Rotselaar, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very noisy rooms and bad breakfast experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

We had high hopes for this hotel: descriptions and reviews looked good.

The check-in went very smoothly, helped by friendly staff. We also were offered a welcome drink (biological juice).

The room (lower floor) was rather small, but we already knew this from earlier reviews. However once we opened the door, the very distinctive smell of the air fresheners immediately came to you. We had to open the windows to clear the air...

The beds were too soft, so in the morning I had a pain in my back from the bed. If you are a light sleeper you won't get too much rest here: you can really hear everything through the walls and ceilings. Everytime someone opens a door in the hallway you hear this loudly in your room.

We had checked that it was possible to come to the breakfast until 11am. We were there at 10.50 and made our choice from the buffet. There were about 10 people from the staff running around in the breakfast area: it really didn't give you a comfortable feeling. At 11.02 the main waiter came to all tables that were still eating, telling we had to leave the area as they had to prepare it for eastern brunch. Our plates were still full, and we should take everything to the bar. They could have told us this when we came in at the breakfast area, so we could immediately be seated in the bar area. Now we had to move everything to there, for which we passed. This really is something I have never experienced and find unacceptable.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beerbalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaeshartelt, Director of Sales at Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your opinion about our hotel on this site.

We regret that the hotel wasn't what you expected. We will take your comments about our rooms and the soft beds into account with our upcoming renovation of the rooms.

We appreciate all your remarks, and I am truly sorry about what happend during your breakfast, our guests’ feedback is the best way to aim efforts at providing the best service.


We really thank you for your review and we hope you come back soon in order to see all the improvements made in our services and facilities.

Kind regards,

Toos Hofstede
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    371
    97
    24
    5
See reviews for
78
524
13
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
107 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Given the difficulty in getting a room in Maastricht during TEFAF, this is a good choice. The rooms are basic but clean. There are no toiletries in the bathrooms but you can request them at the front desk. The taxi to and from TEFAF is around Euro18 one way. Breakfast offers both hot and cold items.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladybug789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varik
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

Room was very small, but adequate. Castle tasteful design. Beds were not made after the first night, reception not very helpful. Price/ quality raton not very high. Breakfast was really nice, but a bit overpriced in my opinion

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank basdeckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

I stayed a whole weekend mid October. Loved the decor of the hotel. Would've loved to stay here with my partner. I came for an event with a colleague. And this hotel is more suitable fo ra romantic weekend then business trip. Staff is very welcoming and warm. Rooms are slightly basic, but very comfortable beds. We had lunch buffet and at 18€ it was a very good value for money. Also really enjoyed our drinks at the bar, tea selection is great. We dined once, the food was good, but nothing exceptional. I had beef fillet and it was perfectly cooked, but vegetables accompanying it were a little bland. Overall, food is of a very good quality, but didn't tickle enough my tastebuds.
When next in Maastricht would definitely choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UkTraveljunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucuresti, Bucuresti, Romania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

I went there in April for dinner and drinks by the bar. Very good impression of the place, beautiful location, garden around very nice and big. Probably not so cheap, but a very nice place to stay, a mix of old building and paintings with modern furniture. Would strongly recommend it if you can afford it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

Charming green peaceful surrounding and close to city centre (10min drive). Helpful friendly staff.
Inside castle modern design with a classic historical flavour. The rooms are located in a sober annex building attached to the castle. Rooms are simple and small, water in shower sink didn't run well and toilet doesn't flush well either. Although beds are very comfortable. Buffet breakfast with various choices (hot and cold) and fresh bakeries. Unfortunately self service on tea and coffee for a 4star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blossom28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woerden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

I have stayed various times at this hotel because it was ideally located. The staff is great, nothing said about them. The rooms are the problem for this hotel, simple, only a few with airco, no mini bar or anything like that and no place to work.

Breakfast is good, dinner as well but the menu has limited choices which are trying to show a Haute cuisine kind of thing.... Taste and presentation is good.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DutchWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
2.3 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#1 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
2.2 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#2 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#11 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
2.6 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht
2.3 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt

Property: Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt
Address: Weert 9, 6222 PG Maastricht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing