We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt
Nearby Hotels
US$245
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Amrath Hotel DuCasque(Maastricht)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$134
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht(Maastricht)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$129
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
In den Hoof Hotel-Restaurant(Maastricht)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Botticelli(Maastricht)
US$128
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Designhotel Maastricht(Maastricht)(Great Value!)
US$144
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel Maastricht(Maastricht)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$120
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (910)
Filter reviews
910 results
Traveller rating
342
417
111
32
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
342
417
111
32
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice castleexcellent groundsstately homeconverted abbeybeautiful propertya short taxi ridestayed only one nightrecommend staying heremodern roomseasy accessandre rieu concertnight staywould definitely stay here againvisit maastrichtcity centrereception staffyogurt
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 910 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2010

we booked via booking.com.
we asked for a quiet room after a long day and a night fly.checked in and try to sleep.
but thrilling machines waked us up.
nobody mentioned that the hotel is under restauration and exactly the room under our room was one of the construction areas.
the receptionist ofer to change the room,few rooms farther were may be the noise is less.why they gave us the worst if it was something else available?
the answer:normaly people check in and go out !
IT IS NORMALY to pay for a room and sleep also.
we asked to speek with the managerit was not there.not in the afternoon and not the next day...
we could not sleep,and all our stay was ruined.
the rooms are extremly small,breakfast was good and the park is the only good thing about this hotel.
do not go there,they are not reliable.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dandexter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Vaeshartelt is an interesting place, part old palace, part added-on conference centre. The grounds are just beautiful, with a lake and bits of forest and surrounding farmland. The restaurants and bars are lovely and service good, and it's only about 10 mins into central Maastricht by car. The rooms are nothing special, but comfortable enough and good beds. We stayed in the back (non-castle) section, the rooms at the front might be different. Lovely place to relax and chill out in the beautiful Dutch countryside.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

When you drive through the gates down to the hotel you can't help but be impressed. The hotel bar, restaurant and lounge downstairs are beautifully designed in a contemporary way which contrasts but doesn't clash with the beautiful old house. The problem was when we got to our room. There was no kettle and coffee making facilities, there was no bin, the bed was made up really basic without any thought into making it look nice and the decor was basic. There was also no information in the room. I feel like they made downstairs really nice and just didn't bother with the rooms. We asked the staff if we should have an information booklet and they said they had been taken away to have new stuff added which seemed really silly to us since they could have just added a page. The staff weren't very helpful. All the menus were in Dutch and for a hotel flying international flags outside we thought they could have had a translated menu in English or French. The location is good if you are driving as they have a large car park. It's only a short taxi ride into the centre.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancescaBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2010

Staying in a Castle for 75euro, hard to beat. But on top we had a VERY comfortable room, to be awarded a 3 star rating they have been robbed. Excellent breakfast, friendly staff. Amazing building, fantastic grounds, free parking (important in this neck of the woods). Easy bus into Maastricht, cheep taxi (less than 13Euro back). Also close to Valkenburg (approx 8Km)

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank GregK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2008

Fantastic hotel with great service. Situated in an old castle, once owned by King Willem II. Where old and new meet in a very nice way. Very nice hotel room, excellent service, great breakfast buffet. Only a few kilometers away from Maastricht, Valkenburg, Wittem and many other nice places. Going back there
for sure!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Laonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews