We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad customer service”
Review of Hotel Zenden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Zenden
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very bad customer service”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We have stayed in April in this hotel for two days. The bad impression came very early, when it was restricted that if we arrived there after 3 o clock we were going to lose the reservation, which was something really likely to happen, since it was a national weekend off ( Easter Week). The following day we went back to our room and there was no shower gel. I had to search around but there was no one in the hotel to provide it to us. On top of all of this, we are paying in cash and after a month I realised that they charged our credit card without any permission not information with the amount of 100€. They made up a reason and amount. We will not going to visit this place again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieF_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martijn Z, Manager at Hotel Zenden, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear AussieF_84

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of all our customers and we understand that you are dissapointed about the smoking fine.

On the site of your booking agency you have seen that we are a non smoking hotel.
When you've checked in we gave you our information brochure with our house rules and fine for smoking. Nontheless you choose to violate our hotel's non smoking policy.
We are really sorry about this, you left us no other option but to charge a fine.
Please be so courtious to the next guest to respect a hotel's non smoking policy.

We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    120
    28
    12
    6
See reviews for
24
162
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wageningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We had the wow room, including a large bathtub and king size bed, and really enjoyed it there. Loved the auping bed, the wooden beam and interesting hidden tv (don't count too much on the quality of the sound though). Everything was pretty clean though you can tell most of the things were not made of very durable material, but the overall look and feel was pleasant.
The shower worked well, the bath was clean and about big enough for two people. We did not have breakfast there as it's very close to the centre and Maastricht has some wonderful taverns. It was a bit noisy when we arrived since the schoolkids had swimming lessons (pool is indeed only available at certain hours which can be checked on their website) but other than that we had a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauravD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martijn Z, Manager at Hotel Zenden, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear LauravD,

Thank you very much for your nice words. We love to welcome you back in the future!

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I really liked this place! The location was spot on for our conference at EIPA, it is also very handy for restaurants... nicely placed by the river and only 5-10 minutes walk from the central station. We arrived at 7:30PM, which was after their official check-in hours. We had called ahead to warn them, but it was no problem. We were greeted very warmly and check-in was quick and easy. I opted for the bigger room with terrace (obviously more costly), but my colleague who had the smaller (cheaper) room actually had a much nicer layout and more space. The terraced room I had was nice, but a very compact shower and no hanging space. The terrace although nice, was large with only 2 small chairs - perhaps sprucing it up would make it worth the extra pennies. My colleagues room was fantastic - huge shower and open, spacious layout. Decor and furnishings are as described - minimalist and modern. If you don't like that, don't chose this hotel - simple. We chose to have breakfast at the hotel as it was a good price. I really enjoyed the breakfast. It was simple, a small selection of treats, with a lovely lady taking orders for fresh coffee and eggs. Really nice, relaxed atmosphere for breakfast - i'd recommend it. As a small hotel, the place itself is quiet - it has a very homely feel if you compare to hotels such as the Derlon which have a hundred(?) rooms!

All in all, a lovely stay here - friendly staff, clean rooms, modern furnishings, great location and relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martijn Z, Manager at Hotel Zenden, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Deborah W,

Wow what nice words. We love to hear that people feel at home. Since we are just a small we always strive to give every guest a personal contact and feel at home.

I'll tell Marina, the lovely Belgian lady from the breakfast, what you wrote. She'll be happy to hear that.

Oh and thank you for taking the time to write a such a friendly review.

Hope to welcome you again with us in Maastricht.

All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

- room was not clean, when showering all the windows showed hands and feet of recent guests..
- website offered swimmingpool: is only available at certain hours, but only if you are there before a certain time..
- "fake" modern interior, everywhere failures in design causing float when taking shower for example..
- offering of tub on website.. was not there.
- bad service when things break down: we had problems with the internet and TV. When calling the 'noodnumber' they said that it was to late to call the technician and offered us free breakfast.

All in all, we send over 300 euro for 2 days in the room disillusioned. The positive thing to say is that the location is ok and it is not so noisy (you do hear you neighbors though..)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anno60713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martijn Z, Manager at Hotel Zenden, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear Anno60713,

Thank you for your review!

Sorry to hear that your stay was not so pleasant as you expected.

We would like to thank you for your points of critics and we will take action to solve your remarks.

Nevertheless we are hoping to welcome you again the future!

Kind regards,

Team Hotel Zenden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012 via mobile

Great central location, stunning design if you like white minimalist & I do. Parked on a meter by the river, a short walk to the hotel check in and the a further short walk to the Studio 5, 2 streets away. Had to check in by 6pm which might put some people off, also no lift, I was only on the first floor but if you had cases to carry up several flights you might be looking for assistance.

The studio itself was large, stylish, comfortable and quiet with a fully fitted kitchen, nespresso machine etc. Having driven for 9 hours i would have appreciated some milk in the fridge, sugar to go with the coffee pod supplied, maybe a bottle of water and a beer. Check in time is also limited to no later than 6pm - not always possible especially when driving a distance. The weather was very warm and air conditioning would have been good.

Breakfast was a typical buffet style and certainly adequate served back in the main building adjacent to the reception and above the swimming pool which I didn't use but hope to next time.

Would I return - definitely - but please extend your check in times and provide some basic provisions in the studios - why not offer an optional add on package, I would certainly have paid for it!

Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank edelinick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martijn Z, General Manager at Hotel Zenden, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear Edelinick,
Thank you for your review! We are glad that you had a good stay with us! Thank you for your comments .Our studios all have air conditioning, but maybe you have overlooked the controls. We will look into offering a food and drinks package. We would like to welcome you again in our hotel. Kind regards,
Team Hotel Zenden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
313 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Well, I have really mixed feelings about this hotel.
The location is excellent and the design (if You can stand everything, I mean each and every part of room in white - I liked that) is nice, also the staff was helpful.
On the other side, our room was on the second floor with very narrow and steep stairs, so getting there with suitcases was challenging.

The bad thing was, there was terrible smell on the corridor - but only on the corridor, not in the room. The room was very spacious, very clean (well, all in white - it must be a hell to clean that ;). It was a bit noisy, "thanks" to people returning from night drinking activities...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Protagonist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martijn Z, Manager at Hotel Zenden, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Dear Protagonist,

Thank you very much for your valuable comment!
The smell on the corridor comes from an essential oil aroma diffuser. But apparently this is smell is a bit too strong for you. We'll make sure the settings are lowered.

Thank you for your detailed and constructive feedback!

We will be pleased to welcome you again at our hotel!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Booked a studio room, which looked very nice. Good location looking over the Maas river, close to lots of restaurants and shops.

The studio is based in a house, and being on the 3rd floor without an elevator was not very convenient. Additionally, the room was not cleaned in after our 1st (of 2) night in the hotel. Parking was located next to the hotel, but very expensive for 2 nights.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasper V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martijn Z, Manager at Hotel Zenden, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Dear Jasper V,

Thank you very much for giving us such a positive and detailed feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our studio and we hope we will have the chance to welcome you back as soon as possible at our hotel. Our apartments have the possibility for a daily cleaning like at the hotel, you can ask this at the front office. Unfortunately we do not have any say in public parking fees. If it was our choice they would be be free of costs.

We hope to welcome you back as soon as possible.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.5 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
491 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#10 of 38 in Maastricht
682 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Dutch
The Dutch
#1 of 38 in Maastricht
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 38 in Maastricht
1,269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 38 in Maastricht
1,274 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zenden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zenden

Property: Hotel Zenden
Address: St. Bernardusstraat 5, 6211 HK Maastricht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zenden 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Zenden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing