We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet dinner near Maas river”
Review of Rantree

Rantree
Ranked #2 of 410 Restaurants in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Gourmet dinner near Maas river”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Nice Saturday dinner for 7 persons in Maastricht centrum. I selected Rantree through Tripadvisor and in general we were very satisfied. The service was very good starting from the reservation till the cheque"s payment. Could be excellent, apart from a sudden and unexpected change from the waitress, who started speaking German instead of English, when a light rain started and we kindly asked her if it's possible to change table. We had almost all of us the 3 courses menu of €35 p.p.. Apart from the beef entrecôte, which wasn't anything exceptional, all the rest were simply delicious. Starters, cocktails, wine, deserts, cheese plates. The whole 4-hour dinner left us really satisfied. We enjoyed the atmosphere, while Rantree's people seem enjoying what they do. Since Rantree is a new gourmet restaurant in Maastricht, it has all great potentials to further progress to the top. Recommended!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dimitris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    68
    11
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Veszprem, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

It came to us as a surprise that a new restaurant was opened in the inner city that quickly hit the charts of Tripadvisor. We made a reservation 2 weeks in advance for 6 o'clock for Saturday. It turned out to be a good decision as despite that we were the only guests for about an hour, the restaurant suddenly filled up the capacity completely (around 34 people). The place has minimal, but charming design and informal, friendly atmosphere that guaranteed a relaxed and pleasant evening.
The staff is professional and happy to answer any additional inquiries about the dishes or wines. We went for a 4 course menu accompanied with wine selection. Above that we received small appetisers and extra surprise bites before and after the dinner. We have spent there around 4 hours, but the time was rich in experience and went fast.
The combination of different tastes was creative and delightful. The quality of the ingredients and texture of the food were outstanding! The wine went well with the dishes.
The only slight mistake was to choose gin as an aperitif. The taste was nice, just together with the wine offer the total alcohol intake was almost too much :).
We visited some restaurants with similar price category, and I must say that this was the best out of those with a continuous high standard along the meals!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Geri_and_Evi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great food, staff and wine. Good value for this level restaurant”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Multiple free tasting plates along with a sensational menu. Food and wine fantastic. Good staff
I'd go back in a heartbeat

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mitch507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I found ourselves in Maastricht for the evening. We found Rantree by accident whilst exploring the city not far from our hotel. We had not booked a table, the restaurant was quite busy for a Thursday night. A table was found for us and we sat down to what became a three hour dinner. We choose the €35 menu which was quite exceptional and fantastic value for money. All in all we were served with 7 separate dishes each one meticulously presented. The waiting staff of which there were two were attentive, describing each dish presented to us. The food and wine appeared at just the right time and our whole experience was fantastic. I would throughly recommend Rantree for either dinner or lunch.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

While attending TEFAF, we were given a tip to visit this new restaurant in Maastricht and that was the best tip we got on the entire trip. The service is impeccable and the food is an experience worthy of me taking the time to write a review! All the little extra tastings were fun and the explanation of the wine served with each course made it seem even more special. I highly recommend this as a must try in this city!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank blondebeachbabe69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rantree also viewed

Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 
Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 
Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 

Been to Rantree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing