We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best japanese restaurant of Maastricht but...”
Review of Kobe

Kobe
Ranked #68 of 409 Restaurants in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best japanese restaurant of Maastricht but...”
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

As written in the title, the best japanese restaurant in Maastricht. For belgians not far from the border also.
A little bit expensive but the quality is really good.
Good service and well located.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VBianchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    55
    17
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
shropshire
Level Contributor
99 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Hmmmmm...............”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Having travelled to Japan many times going to a Japanese restaurant was not new to me. Going to one in Europe was.

It was a bit Japanese but you kept your shoes on and sat on seats so that was different! But generally it's the food that is important. We chose a mixture of traditional cooked and uncooked Japanese food and it was good but being in Maastrciht the word 'good value' was lost in translation.

Overall a good experience but if you want to sample real Japanese dining then cough up £2000 pounds and travel to a little place I know in Southern Japan.........

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank r2uzenblot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Different than most restaurants I have been in Maastricht”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I have been to this restaurant twice for a business dinner. What impresses me the most is that they cook on your table, infront of you. It is interesting to watch them and it gives you new experience. The food is good and fresh. However it is very expensive (1/2 lobster for 80 euro or something like that). I would recommend it only if you have a lot of money to spend.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Assya1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
77 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“nice but not perfect”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

nice restaurant , great location, seems to be fresh products , execution not the best.
in summery good but not great. reasnable prices.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan187497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monster, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
255 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Disappointed on service”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We had dinner here at the 4th of May (Memorial Day in Holland) together with my partner. In Holland we are used to be silent at 20.00 hrs for 2 minutes so when I asked how they would arrange for 20.00 hrs in the restaurant the waiter told me that they would continue working, which is a personal choice. However when I asked if it would be possible to tune down the music then for 2 minutes he bluntly told me that it was not and walked away. Moreover during the 2 minutes he thought it was necessary to bring us the soy sauce, while we were keeping silent. He did not come by the 5 minutes before or the 5 minutes after. I think it was a simple request, no one would have noticed as it was piano music playing nothing special. To us this is important and their response was disrespectful.

Outside of that the food was of average quality with small portions, on the menu it did not say that some of the sushi had wasabi in quite some (big) quantity added to the kappa maki (cucumber roll) as well as to the tuna roll, my partner does not like it that way, certainly not when you have not been warned.

Considering the prices compared to the quality it was on the high end of my expectations and experience with other sushi restaurants. Outside of that it has a nice interior and the possibility to choose between teppan and tables and normal tables is nice as well.

We are not coming back here. There is better choice, even outside of the incident with 2 minutes of silence.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aliceesjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kobe also viewed

Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 
Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 

Been to Kobe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing