We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent food, good location, horrible staff” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Molo 5 - CLOSED

Molo 5
Price range: US$44 - US$147
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent food, good location, horrible staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We had 2 friends visiting Maastricht, and it was a last minute decision to go here, as we thought it would be a good dining experience in a nice location. The restaurant itself was lovely, with stone walls, and a cozy atmosphere. Unfortunately, from the first interaction with the serving staff, the enjoyment of the evening slowly declined from there.

The server asked to take our coats, and then instead of hanging them with everyone else's, threw them on a chair beside the closet. Granted, we were casually dressed, but if you have a dress code, then let me know and I'd be happy to come back in more appropriate attire. What I do not expect is to be treated like a second class citizen, and made to feel belittled. I am paying the same for the same experience as the other diners, and at the very least, I expect to be treated with respect.

Food I would rate as average. Some things were good, others mediocre. The champagne was not great, the prosecco was actually better. Service was disappointing. I definitely will not return. There are definitely other restaurants in Maastricht with better food and better service for about the same price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank athelia237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    22
    4
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, Limburg, Netherlands
Level Contributor
88 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

I was here with my mother and girlfriend and it was a nice experience. The food was well presented and the vitello tonato was made with craftsmanship. We enjoyed it here. The portions are a bit small, but it was worth it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Basjan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaduz, Liechtenstein
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place, nice harbor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

Nice cosy restaurant and bar. We had an apero first, and than switched to the for dinner. We ate fish, everything was very good. Do not miss it! There are few tables, so remember to make a reservation.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank lelaLugano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exciting food choices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We went to Molo 5 and had a 5 course surprise dinner. We got dishes we never had before: carpaccio from octopus and a cheese fondue from Camembert baked in the oven. It was delicious and the combination of ingredients was fabulous. We will definitely go back again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra_Maastricht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really a lovely experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

I'm not much of a review person, but I must say this restaurant is great, lovely scenery, great food, I just want to recommend this place to all people visiting Maastricht.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fluor87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Molo 5 also viewed

Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 
Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 
Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing