We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mabi - close to town - very nice stay.”
Review of Hotel Mabi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mabi
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed one night in Maastricht at the very mod Hotel Mabi. Mabi is a renovated movie theater and the cinema theme is carried throughout the decor of the hotel. We enjoyed the free popsicles in the lobby, fruit, candy, and quaint cinema room showing American silent classics such as Charlie Chaplain and Abbot and Costello. The wine and olive tasting was very cool, as was the coffee and cake hour. The breakfast was not included in our rate, but was well worth the add on. They have a very large variety of hot and cold foods to choose from. Our room was the Titanic room, complete with ship's bell and large format posters from the movie. The bathroom was nice and big, and came furnished with toothpaste and tooth brushes even, had we forgotten ours. Very convenient to the center of town made walking a breeze but parking a challenge (not included) but we figured out the maze of streets and canals eventually. We would definitely stay again if ever in Maastricht.

Room Tip: Titanic room was nice for three people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimncris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

Quirky Hotel with lots of little extras, Coffee and cake in the afternoon, wine and olives in the evening served free of charge. Rooms nicely designed but a little small. I was there in 28c and a fan was placed in the room but it really needed to have air conditioning, especially in the elevator hallway which is totally glass in direct sunlight. Toiletries were good quality and it was the first hotel I had been given a complimentary fullsize toothpaste of 100ml along with 2 budget toothbrushes. Due to its cinema past there are various cinema antiquities in the hotel and a mini cinema room showing an evening program.

Hotel Location is a 2 minute walk from the Markt square (turn right as you leave hotel) with several bars and restaurants. A further 5 minutes will take you to the Vrijthof with an even larger variety of eating places. It is not identified on hotel website but you should park in the Bassin car park which is just 3/4 minutes walk away. When you leave the car park head into the pedestrian residential area (it is counter intuitive!) and take a left and then right and you will be on the Kleine Gracht just 50 metres below the hotel. Don't follow the road like I did or you will have a longer round trip. Parking is expensive at €23 as others have said but it is the closest.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will hear the Church clock chiming the hours and quarters just 20 metres away
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry_St_Clair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My wife and I spent two nights in this excellent hotel. service was good and location central to city centre and rail station. We arrived early and we were able to put our bags in a locked room until room was ready. Extras such as the free coffee & cake along with the free wine and olives were very acceptable. Everything was very clean & tidy. I found the hotel in the first place on tripAdvisor.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnc35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed for two nights recently. We booked this as we wanted somewhere near to Andre Rieu concert and were not disappointed. We loved the quirkiness including the very large old cinema projector by the front desk. We were in the Chaplin room which was surprisingly large with a double bed and two singles and decorated with various Chaplin memorabilia. The bed was quite soft, but we had a very comfortable night. The room, although facing the road was very quiet. The bathroom was also a good size and no lack of toiletries, even full sized toothbrushes and paste should you have forgotten your own!
It was the little extras that set this place apart from large chains. The mints in the room, the sweets in the foyer and then there was the afternoon coffee and cake followed soon after by the wine and olives . You just helped yourself to the perfectly chilled wine out of the wine cabinet. Also the little gifts as we checked out. We will definitely try and get back here again -maybe for another concert. Sitting in the cafe in the nearby square watching all those people boarding the many coaches (we counted 17 with UK plates alone) with a 90 minute journey back to their hotels after the concert, we were so glad we made our own way over and stayed at the Mabi. It made for a very memorable weekend - and Maastricht is a wonderful town with great character.

Room Tip: Chaplin room is a large family sized room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happyholidayer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed for three nights. Rooms were adequate and very clean. Location was great and the staff were really friendly. We borrowed the bikes which was really good and it was very nice to have compimentary coffee, tart, olives and wine late afternoon and early evening. Loved the hotel and loved the area. Will be back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

A quirky and very pleasant stay the rooms were clean ,our room was spacious!"......the breakfast although was not in the price ,was excellent and plentiful "......complimentary wine ,pastries and coffee and tea was a nice touch, a good central location ,so easy walking around,,ideal place ,will stay again..Thankyou for everything".......................

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We only stayed one night. Rooms were on the small side, but comfortable with very good beds. Even though breakfast was not included, complimentary tarts, pastry, coffees and teas were served in the late afternoon and wine and olives were served in the early evening. The location was pretty good and within walking distance to everything, although I think staying further south on the other side of the Grote Markt might have been more atmospheric.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewportPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.5 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 38 in Maastricht
1,347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
586 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#12 of 38 in Maastricht
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
0.4 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#5 of 38 in Maastricht
1,181 reviews
1.4 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#13 of 38 in Maastricht
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mabi

Address: Kleine Gracht 24, 6211 CB Maastricht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range: £61 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mabi 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect hotel for guests who don't just want to be part of the crowd and who want to create their own story. A stay at the Mabi City Centre Hotel means giving free reign to your fantasies and bringing stories to life; stories imbued with just a hint of those censured scenes of the iconic films of the past. Within the walls of Mabi City Centre Hotel, located in the heart of the historic city centre of Maastricht, a world is created that inspires you to write your own script that is enacted against a backdrop of classic decor in the flamboyant 1920s Art Deco style but with a contemporary twist. Our personal service and luxury facilities create a new impression and experience of freedom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Mabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing