We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Hotel Mabi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mabi
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Turku, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Interior of lobby looks as a theatre. Rooms are still standard and all facilities work properly. Some minor problems were a bee which came from a window and a broken TV remote controller which affected that it was necessary to take the electricity cable of TV off that it was possible to turn off. Sleeping quality was good. Breakfast is a bit pricey but it includes more things than cheaper breakfasts. Location is close Vrithof and university area. I can warmly recommend that hotel if you need a place during a conference or similar event. Elevator works well and even heavy luggage is easy to transfer to and from a room.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Riku V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    235
    70
    23
    10
See reviews for
83
233
9
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed 1 night in this movie theatre themed hotel. For shopping and dining it's very good located. The staff was very friendly. We appreciated the free afternoon coffee and cake and the free wine and olives at night (from 5.30-7.00pm). Breakfast was good too. You'll find candies everywhere in the hotel (very tempting!). Room was good, bed was a bit soft, bathroom very clean. Parking was easy at the Q park Mosae Forum. Can definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12Nathalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I stayed here for carnival, and it definitely suit the purpose. The hotel staff was friendly and even adjusted my bill upon learning that I was going to have to pay more for a booking I made months earlier, when I could have booked the same room the day of for cheaper. The breakfast buffet was pretty decent (eggs, bacon, croissants, yogurts, sparkling wine for mimosas). The main gripes I had were that they did not offer the advertised Limburg pies and wine because it was carnival - that was one of the main reasons why we chose the hotel, so it was disappointing to hear that they weren't going to deliver as advertised. The hotel receptionist did make good on the wine by giving us mini bottles, so that was nice. It's also a bit noisy in the rooms, so don't go there during carnival if you expect silence. Other than that, it was a pretty decent stay, and I would consider staying there again.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a room towards the back (in the "09"s). Note that there is no v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adricornell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I stayed in the hotel several nights. Excellent location near everything. Ideal for walking. The initial positive impression was strong. It is interesting design-wise (if dark), serves a good breakfastand and its rooms are OK. As time wore on, however, service seemed spotty, driven by the mood of whoever is behind the desk. The computer available to customers urgently needs a reboot & update. Would I return? perhaps, but not for a long stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequenttraveller076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in hotel Mabi for 1 night, a citytrip to Maastricht.
Staff are all very friendly and helpfull.
Rooms are very clean and all the equipment you expect from a 4 star hotel is there. In the afternoon , all guests can take a free cup of coffee with typical local 'Limburgse Vlaai', which we appreciated a lot.
Breakfast is also very good, complete choice , everything is there...
The hotel is located in a former cinema, so quite a nice location too, right in the center of Maastricht. I really recommend this place, as it gives excellent value fir money with its clean rooms, fine beds, fine and complete breakfast and very friendly and helpfull staff.... What more would you want ?

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yves S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

First impressions are not always the best. From the outside it does not appear to be an inviting hotel but once inside it feels inviting and warm. The reception staff are excellent and very helpful. They explained about all the free extras the hotel offers such as coffee and Limburg pie between 3pm and 5pm, free wine and the cinema experience. The room was decorated to a high standard and the en suite was very clean. The hotel is located on a very quiet street but within a 5 minute walk of the riverside and all the main shops. Our visit was to see the Christmas market which did not disappoint, though we wished it could have been larger.
Breakfast buffet in the morning was fresh and never ran out of anything as the staff were very attentive. Would definitely recommend staying. Just one note, there is no parking at the hotel but parking is very close by.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gnomeontherange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My wife and I drove over to Maastricht for a couple nights whilst holidaying in Germany. We chose the Mabi for its central location and it proved really useful in this respect as we could pop back in several times during the day. It's also a very short walk to the riverside for pleasant walks and coffee. As others have commented the hotel is a bit quirky - but in a nice way - with free cake, olives, wine, sweets, fruit and hot drinks and the cinematic theme which runs throughout the hotel adds to the interest. Our room was quiet and comfortable and the breakfasts excellent. This is boutique accommodation without the amenities of bigger hotels but it provided us with a comfortable stay, excellent location and a bit of unexpected entertainment!

By the way we found the Vrijthof square a bit disappointing. The Mabi, on the other hand, is just off the Markt with the Town Hall and some pleasant and much more relaxed restaurants than those squeezed around the Vrijthof.

One point to note if you drive in as we did, the city centre is traffic free apart from service vehicles so you need to park up somewhere - in our case for two days. The good news is that there is an enormous underground car park and at it's far end a staircase exits just to the rear of the hotel. It really couldn't be more convenient. This is a QPark with vehicle entrance on Maastrichter Grachtstsraat. It costs about €22.50 per day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.6 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 38 in Maastricht
1,305 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#11 of 38 in Maastricht
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
0.4 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#5 of 38 in Maastricht
1,118 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Dutch
The Dutch
#1 of 38 in Maastricht
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mabi

Property: Hotel Mabi
Address: Kleine Gracht 24, 6211 CB Maastricht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mabi 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect hotel for guests who don't just want to be part of the crowd and who want to create their own story. A stay at the Mabi City Centre Hotel means giving free reign to your fantasies and bringing stories to life; stories imbued with just a hint of those censured scenes of the iconic films of the past. Within the walls of Mabi City Centre Hotel, located in the heart of the historic city centre of Maastricht, a world is created that inspires you to write your own script that is enacted against a backdrop of classic decor in the flamboyant 1920s Art Deco style but with a contemporary twist. Our personal service and luxury facilities create a new impression and experience of freedom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsNL, Hotel.de, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Mabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing