We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not enough staff”
Review of Het Arresthuis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Het Arresthuis
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Roermond
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
165 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not enough staff”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Ok First the hotel - very quirky, open plan rooms ultra modern and very different from most other places we have stayed. Rooms are very square and relatively open plan - so much so that You need to keep the blinds down when you have a shower as it is in a residential district and the building is overlooked window to window. However - staff were thin on the ground from check-in to getting a coffee and a little austere in attitude. Gym was OK - bit difficult to find (especially when there are no staff around to ask). Breakfast started late 8am not so good if you have a morning flight they did however serve us (we were 15 mins early). Not sure would stay again but it was an experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YellowJellyBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    151
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
86
373
8
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This luxury hotel is a former jail in the town center of Roermond. The location is great with parking next to the hotel or very nearby. From this hotel you can easily walk to most of the sites in Roermond. On request the staff provided us with a map and some tips.

The hotel looks great as it is completely restored in the old jail format. You actually feel like you landed in an old jail out of the middle of the previous century except for the fact it is much more luxurious then it ever was when there where inmates walking around. The room (we stayed in the deluxe cell) was good and well equipped with all the comforts you would expect in such a room. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was also good with nice freshly baked bread and all the things one could expect from a decent breakfast buffet.

We said to all our friends when we got home; we spend the night in jail and in the morning we had to pay to get out but it was worth it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estiocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edzell
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

What an excellent and inexpensive hotel, real value for money and a unique experience. The staff are really friendly, helpful and made my stay very pleasant. The food and restaurant are also first calss. If you intend visiting the area i would highly recommend this hotel. My visit was on business and i will certainly stay there again. Minor comment on the coffee machine but you only have to read the instructions or ask at reception, apart from that it was a pleasure to stay there.

Room Tip: i chose a comfort room which was excellent and that is where the experience starts, next visit i wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duncan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
200 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The "Arresthuis" hotel in the city of Roermond is built inside a former prison. Until 2007 it was occupied by villains. Right now it is a luxurious hotel for those who want something different.

And different you'll get! On the outside all the bars are still in front of the windows. Some of the personnel dresses in black and white striped prison cloths. The most spectacular are the steel bridges, stairs and balconies that connect the prison cells. One can even pose in front of a panel showing one's height in inches holding a name plate to have a mug shot taken.

The rooms are former prison cells. Three cells are now one hotel room. However, mine was in the former recreational room ("rec room") so it was a bit bigger. It also meant much of the prison theme got lost. It was however a nice, luxurious room with rain shower, flat screen TV and of course complimentary wifi. Do mind that most guests are Dutch, so most signs are in Dutch as are most TV channels. Only when necessary booklets and other items are available in English as well.

My only complaint about the room was the ever present noise from the air-conditioner. Even when I switched mine off, there was still a building-wide system that kept refreshing the air and making a lot of noise doing so.

The "Damianz" restaurant is part of this hotel. Since I'm a vegan I'm a challenge for most chefs, and that's putting it mildly. There's no vegan meal on the menu, but the staff was happy enough to cater for me and prepare an off-menu dish. Now I understand why even the locals like this restaurant: it was the best vegan meal I've had in Europe for years! I'm pretty sure the inmates never imagened one day this place would be this good...

Room Tip: The bigger rooms are more comfortable, but lack the prison theme.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank i0kan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I had high expectations staying at this hotel and I must admit was slightly disappointed. The hotel was spotless and the customer service excellent, all staff were friendly and very helpful.
The coffee machine takes a bit of getting use to and will only do a few drinks at a time before running out of water! The light switch behind the large photo wouldn't turn off and the safe decided not to work but all this was sorted out within 10 minutes.
The room is divided into 4 sections with the toilet right at the end but no door which I couldn't get use to!
The room seems dark even though there seems to be lots of light switches and if you are staying more than 1 night like we were, there isn't enough hanging space in the wardrobe. Toiletries were replaced daily and the bed was made up for the evening which was a nice touch.
Breakfast was a typical continental style which we love but disappointed with choice of fruit.
Roermond is a great place to stay and visit and it has lots of excellent restaurants and shops so I am pleased we had the experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oxgull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
142 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The hotel is located in an old prison. They do an excellent job promoting the theme: cute photo opportunity like you are being booked, patches on the back of robes, candy in a plastic baggie at turn down, and "don't drop the soap" on the soap. It is very luxurious for Europe. We stayed in a Deluxe room (22) which was roomy for Europe. Although we requested a Jr.Suite on their information form, they seemed to have missed it. The service was superb at reception, breakfast, and in the restaurant. My only complaints was the unusual smell in the room (rotten eggs?) and the shower. The shower was aesthetically really nice, but functionally difficult. I would stay here, again, but not in 22. For the price, it was a great hotel!

Room Tip: Room 22 smells like rotten eggs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vedettefille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

I only stayed one night and regret not having made it to the spa, but very much enjoyed my stay and evening meal. The room was spacious and comfy. A complimentary glass of nice cold prosecco on arrival was much appreciated, as was the espresso on departure. Really cool and funky interior design, superb food and super friendly staff (literally every one of them) made for an enjoyable stay. Convenient for the factory outlet centre in town as well as the historic centre of Roermond.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roermond
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dux
Hotel Dux
#2 of 8 in Roermond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Van der Valk Theaterhotel de Oranjerie
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roermond
Hotel Roermond
#6 of 8 in Roermond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Sandton Chateau De Raay
1.7 mi away
Ringhotels De Oolderhof
Ringhotels De Oolderhof
#5 of 8 in Roermond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fletcher Landhotel Bosrijk Roermond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Het Arresthuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Het Arresthuis

Property: Het Arresthuis
Address: Pollartstraat 7, 6041 GC Roermond, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Roermond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Roermond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Het Arresthuis 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Het Arresthuis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing