We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be seeing me again”
Review of Hotel Asselt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Asselt
Ranked #6 of 11 Roermond B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Room was small but ok. Clean sheets, bed was comfortable. We had to use the bathroom further down the hallway. Clean as well, but terrible odour coming from the sink or something. Breakfast was ok, but could be better. No croissants or anything like that. Staff was not very pleasant, especially the one at the front desk. At 8 o'clock AM, a fanfare band started rehearsing at the hotel. At the weekend that is! Still can't believe a hotel would allow that, taking all the other guests in consideration... I guess for some hotels money is more important than guests. When you want to use the spa facilities (sauna, hamam, ...) you have to pay, even if you are a guest. What age are we living in? When I adressed this matter at the front desk, it came down to the fact that 'It was brand new'. So your guests have to pay 'till it's pay off? Seriously?

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank la_ragazza_mela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

Nice, professional and most helpful staff I encountered in years. Free WiFi in all areas, Free parking. Excellent food in the restaurant thanks to a great chef. Excellent hotel in all aspects. I will definitely stay there again at any time.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, ask for room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HighMikko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

From outside the Hotel looks stylish, inside we see as positive the quality of the boxspring beds, the Wifi and the quiet surroundings and the vicinity to Roermond, Düsseldorf. However that is all... As negative we noted the only basic breakfast, the poor somehow sleepy service by mostly unskilled part-time staff. We refer to the poor equipment in the rooms, the lack of lamps and dark atmosphere thru the whole building. Poor cleaning in the room like dirty window frames and bath fittings, in the so called wellness center there was no staff, no cold water to fresh up after the sauna, no towels, no chairs, however a lot of hamam equipment. Make sure not to pay for the wellness center.

Room Tip: Check the room before.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fmd1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Ended up in the hotel due to a combination of reviews and price comparison. I was very lucky to find this one! it is a small hotel, you definitely need a car to reach it, it is in the country side but 8-10 min from the roermond outlet and 15 min from german towns. I only booked the hotel for one night and seriously regretted not staying longer in the area. Arrived late at night and planned to leave early morning but decided to enjoy a couple of hours just relaxing.... the breakfast is awesome and fresh... the coffee was delicious!, the terrace was small but very nice with a small fountain and a side "oriental' area to seat. very modern, attentive and welcoming staff. At the beginning I was concerned that an early rooster were going to disrupt my sleep but it didn't happen :) despite the fact that I had to leave the window open (there is no air conditioned :( ... perhaps the only minus but only because of the unusual hot weather in europe during those days). I woke up with the soft sounds of the country side birds.... Everything looked like brand new at the hotel, they may probably would like to learn few things from their peers if they want to keep the hotel continuing looking like that. What can I say.... will not hesitate at all to go back to this hotel :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoxLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Only been a hotel since May but the staff are trying very hard to make it a success. Very quietly situated down a country lane. Everywhere spotlessly clean but overall the hotel currently lacks atmosphere

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kevin1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lejeune1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roermond
2.6 mi away
Fletcher Landhotel Bosrijk Roermond
2.8 mi away
Van der Valk Theaterhotel de Oranjerie
2.7 mi away
Het Arresthuis
Het Arresthuis
#1 of 8 in Roermond
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Dux
Hotel Dux
#2 of 8 in Roermond
301 reviews
3 mi away
Herberg De Bongerd
Herberg De Bongerd
#1 of 1 in Beesel
49 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Roermond
Hotel Roermond
#7 of 8 in Roermond
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Asselt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asselt

Address: Oude Baan 6, 6071 NP Roermond, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Roermond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Roermond
Price Range: £58 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Asselt 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This former brewery from 1849 now houses a modern hotel behind its historic exterior. Hotel Asselt includes free Wi-Fi, a terrace with barbecue and a restaurant which serves regional cuisine. The historic center of Roermond, featuring the Cuypershuis and Designer Outlet Centre, is just over a 5-minute drive away. Flat-screen TV and a desk are provided as standard in the rooms at Hotel Asselt. They also each have either private or shared bathroom facilities. Guests can relax at the spa center, which features a sauna, steam bath and hammam. The cities of Dusseldorf and Maastricht can both be reached within 40 minutes by car. The Asseltse Plassen are just over one mile away and have recreation options including sailing and surfing. Free parking is available on site at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Asselt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing