We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable stop over”
Review of Hotel Merici

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Merici
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sittard
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Comfortable stop over”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Recently converted from a Ursuline convent school. Fabulous sweeping wooden staircase dominates the central part of the hotel. A good bar on the ground floor. A decent breakfast with good coffee served on the first floor. Busy when we there on a Thursday but very efficient staff looked after us well. The bedrooms are very good with superb double bed and excellent quality bedding. Very quiet but disappointingly unable to open the windows. A/c was not obtrusive. Quirky bathroom and good rainfall shower. Centrally located with underground car park. Sittard has a typical Limburg town square with a good choice of restaurants. Good stop over and highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIckeyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    94
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
21
150
4
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, Wales
Level Contributor
164 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Very pleasant building tastefully renovated in a modern style while retaining many original features, situated conveniently just off the main square. Bedroom spacious with comfortable beds. The provision of a nepresso machine in the bedroom was a nice touch although providing three capsules in a room for two may well lead to a little friction. The arrangement of the toilet, shower and washbasin was however distinctly odd as noted below, the doors intruding into the washbasin area as they opened. The price for period surroundings and materials can often be period creaks and rattles – either that or someone had smuggled a small rhino wearing football boots into the room above us that night. You cannot have such beautiful old wood around you without such minor foibles so we accepted this without any problem. The guy outside our bedroom window minding his own business working in the garden was another matter – try not to get a room on the ground floor. Net curtain would help enormously.
I must admit that I found the much vaunted staff to be a little half soaked – very pleasant but lacking focus/attention to detail. The driving directions and map we were given by reception ignored the major roadworks only 100m from the hotel that caused us to fail to access the hotel and resort to drag our luggage across the square; my report of a fault with lighting in the room was not actioned and I had to fix the problem myself. The breakfast was a real treat and most enjoyable although the service on one of the days of our visit was a little distant.Sittard doesn't seem to feature much in guide books but has a charm and is well worth a visit. The large central square is a delight.
In summary, a good hotel that we would have little hesitation in revisiting - at the right price naturally.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MistaMeldrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed at the Merici with my Mum & Sister last weekend as we were going to an Andre Rieu concert in Maastricht. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, there aren't enough adjectives to describe the ambience of the hotel itself and the helpfulness of the lovely staff.
Our contemporary styled rooms were very clean and furnished to a high standard yet with remnants of the past still remaining which gave it character. As it was very hot and sunny during our stay we chose to sit outside on a few occasions in the very peaceful and leafy hotel garden with a drink, reading our books and watching the cyclists go by. The melodic bells that rung on the hour also lent to a very relaxed and almost sanctuary like feeling. The breakfasts we ate in the very light and airy breakfast room were delicious and the variety was impressive. We also dined at the hotel restaurant in the square and the food and service was impeccable. The town square itself is lovely with some very fine buildings, and its a great place to sit with a beer and blend in with the locals.
The hotel manager and staff were very pleasant indeed. It really was service with a smile. We just got the impression that nothing would be too much trouble for them. All in all a lovely stay in a great place. Hopefully we'll be back.

Room Tip: If you want a good view ask for a room overlooking the garden or the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorburg, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The hotel is very nice and beautifully designed. Rooms are spacious and bed very comfortable. Merici Hotel is suitable for the couples wanting to spend weekend away and enjoy the quietness of the surroundings. Our dinner in the De Kroon Wine & Dine restaurant and breakfast in the hotel were delicious. Attention to the Fair Trade products! Very recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Issssy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
119 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I stayed in the Hotel Merici on a recent vacation because of its architecture and convenient location. I was very happy with my choice.

As other reviewers have noted, this hotel is located in a former cloister that has been extensively and tastefully renovated. Touches of the old building remain in the high ceilings, arched windows, beautiful wooden staircases, and (in a few places) old tiles. Primarily, however, the building has been decorated with warm mocha and beige walls, sleek furniture, and modern lighting fixtures that nevertheless evoke an earlier era. Instead of bland "hotel art," the bright hallways contain large photos mounted on unframed canvases showing Sittard-area scenes that juxtapose old and new architecture: exactly what is happening so harmoniously with Hotel Merici.

One cautionary note: this building is truly in the middle of a very old city, which means that the views from the rooms are of the other buildings nearby. The nearest building is a lovely cathedral (unsurprisingly, next to a former cloister) that nevertheless looms very large when it is viewed at very close range out of the hotel's windows. If you are looking for wide open spaces and a bucolic view, this hotel will not be right for you. If, on the other hand, you are looking for a hotel of distinctive architecture that is a few steps from the main market square and pedestrian-only shopping district, the hotel's location couldn't be more perfect.

One reviewer noted that parking was a "bit removed" and that it required some walking. In fact, while the entrance to the parking garage is 3 blocks away, the private parking area for the Hotel Merici is entered by driving 3 blocks *underground* back towards the hotel, with the result that the parking spaces are approximately 30 feet from an elevator directly into the hotel! So, once you learn the "trick" of how to get in and out of the private parking area, parking is extremely convenient to the hotel and does not, in fact, involve much walking.

I must say, however, I was glad that I talked to the front desk about arrangements for the car prior to our arrival. Parking needs to be reserved separately from the room, so she took our parking reservation at that time (10 euros/day). She also advised me to drive directly to the hotel to unload our luggage and receive instructions for getting to the private part of the municipal parking garage. There is one VERY IMPORTANT point regarding driving to the hotel which I was very glad that she mentioned: one needs to drive down a one-way street in the wrong direction! The front desk attendant reassured me that this breach of traffic rules is allowed when going to and from the hotel; and the street is quiet enough so problems are unlikely. Had I not spoken with her in advance, I would have been very frustrated with trying to get to the hotel. (Google maps did not handle this situation very well, as you might imagine.)

Based on these preparations, our arrival went smoothly and check-in proceeded quickly. The friendly front-desk person gave us very clear directions to the parking garage so parking was accomplished quickly, as well.

Our room made an excellent first impression. The large bed was topped with a comfortable, thick mattress pad that completely eliminated the problem of falling into the "crack" between the 2 separate mattress/box spring sets by stretching across the two sections. (Yay! I wish more European beds would take this approach!) Reading lights and controls were convenient for reading in bed and a desk alcove was perfect for setting up my computer. The rock-solid, free internet was very much appreciated. The room temperature controls were responsive and we were able to warm the room quickly during the day then cool it easily for sleeping under the thick featherbed comforters.

I only had one small quibble with the room set-up. Our room's bathroom consisted of a sink (open to the main room) with a shower on one side and toilet on the other. Both the shower and toilet areas were entered via frosted glass doors. Unfortunately, the doors swing out past the sink, which means that I couldn't use the sink when my husband wished to enter or leave either of the other compartments. If they had made the doors swing out towards the room, that problem would have been much diminished. There was no tub in our room, but the shower was roomy and it was nice to have a choice of two shower heads.

Breakfast was the best I can remember of any hotel in the Netherlands (and I have been to a number of them). The breakfast attendants cook the ubiquitous soft-boiled eggs plus eggs to order, including fried, scrambled, or omelets with cheese, ham, and mushrooms (or any combination thereof). The buffet tables contain rolls, croissants, crusty loaves (both white and whole grain), and crisp cracker-like breads; all the makings of open-faced sandwiches (slices of cheese, ham, and chicken, plus tomatoes, cucumbers, and vegetable relish); fruit, yogurt, cereal, high-end jams (strawberry, cherry, apricot), Nutella (chocolate-hazelnut spread), hagels (chocolate sprinkles), and more. Besides coffee and tea, they noticed that we drank a lot of water and brought a 0.75-liter bottle of mineral water to our table.

One sunny afternoon we asked if they had a terrace we could sit on, and they opened up their outdoor drink service area just for us. Another evening, we hosted drinks for our friends in the sophisticated (indoor) lounge area. Our friends were very impressed by the attentive service and the "prachtig" (wonderful in Dutch) atmosphere.

The front desk personnel also helped me address a small dental problem: a gold crown fell out on the Friday night of our stay, and I asked them to help me find a dentist who could replace the crown on Saturday morning (not an easy task). They located a dentist who could see me, patiently gave me very detailed directions so that I could find the office, and then inquired upon our return whether everything had gone OK. I find that exceptional requests, such as finding an off-hours dentist, often test the limits of a hotel's service, and Hotel Medici came through with flying colors.

Restaurant tips: we enjoyed both Restaurant Dafne for Greek food and Chinese-Indische [Indonesian] Restaurant Hong Kong, both of which are in the market square (Markt), extremely convenient to the Hotel Merici.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dr-Jill-from-NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Indiana
Level Contributor
240 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The exterior is old world charming. Impressive architecture. The interior is wonderfully renovated. Very modern and clean styling. The staff were very helpful. The only issue was parking was a bit removed. there was significant space to park underground, but the distance walked would need to be noted. A person can be dropped off in front of the hotel, but the person parking the car will walk a bit. Much to see near by.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belgium
Level Contributor
127 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This is a four star hotel worth every star. It is a fully rebuild monumental building right in the centre of Sittard. (A city worth visiting). The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room is clean, luxury, properly isolated and perfectly decorated. Also the breakfast can compete with every other 4 or 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hansvink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sittard
1.3 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Fitland Sittard
0.1 mi away
De Limbourg Sittard
De Limbourg Sittard
#3 of 5 in Sittard
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
4.0 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Stein-Urmond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Prins
Hotel de Prins
#5 of 5 in Sittard
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Kasteel Doenrade
9.5 mi away
Chateau St. Gerlach
Chateau St. Gerlach
#2 of 47 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merici

Property: Hotel Merici
Address: Oude Markt 25, 6131 EN Sittard, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Sittard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sittard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Merici 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Merici Sittard is an unusual accommodation, as the 4* hotel is established in a beautifully renovated cloister in the beating heart of Sittard. The sounds of the city barely permeate the thick walls of the former Company of St. Ursula Cloister. The name 'Merici' comes from the founder of the convent order: Angela de Merici. Between 1843 and 1946 girls were schooled in the hotel's adjoining buildings. Merici is one of the seven special monuments in the Cloister Quarter.Every morning, Hotel Merici serves a delicious breakfast buffet in the former refectory with live front show cooking. A romantic picnic hamper or a practical lunch box can also be ordered on request. The hotel operates in accordance with the Green Key Label, an international hallmark. Hotel Merici strives for a healthy environment, and opts for the use of sustainable products and the employment of energy saving measures. As such, organic, fairtrade and regional products are used wherever possible.The #a la carte restaurant Wine & Dine serves heavenly dishes, and is just 75 m from the hotel. The restaurant has an intimate outdoor terrace on the atmospheric and historic market square. It is also possible to have a drink and a small bite in the hotel's lounge & bar. After a lovely day you can enjoy a wonderful slumber in hotel rooms comprising of harmonious furnishings. All rooms are equipped with airconditioning, free WI-FI, excellent beds, LCD flat-screen TV, safe, Nespresso coffee facilities and a spacious bathroom with rainshower and seperate toilet. The rooms come with a minibar, stocked on request. A complimentary bottle of water will await you in your room upon arrival. Hotel Merici also has an underground in-house car park, a bike/scooter hire and shuttle service. You can request information about fares at the hotel.The historical Dominicanenwal city wall is near the old canals and visible from the rear of the Hotel Merici Sittard. From the front of the hotel, you can easily walk to the Basilica, the Oude Markt and the pleasant shopping area. By train it will take you 40 minutes to reach the exuberant city of Maastricht. Sittard train station is a 10-minute walk from Hotel Merici. Roermond, Dusseldorf, Hasselt and Antwerp are also interesting cities to visit in the area. The German Eifel (low mountain range) or the Belgian Ardennen are wonderful places for walking, no matter the season. Snowworld Landgraaf is a great place to go skiing, while the Thermae 2000 in Valkenburg and Carolus Thermen in Aachen are a blessing for both body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Merici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing