We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”
Review of Hotel Valuas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Valuas
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Venlo
Reviewed 14 May 2012

The most comfortable beds and PILLOWS ever experienced in a hotel. The service is simply wonderful and fab food. The Brasserie was full and so we ate in the bar which was just as comfortable. Cant recommend highly enough - just a pity no more reasons to go to Venlo as we were visiting Floriade.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2011

I have stayed and dined at Valuas many times. I am in Venlo for business and probably have stayed in all of the nearby hotels. I found Valuas a great place to stay because: It is a small friendly hotel with great food and service. It has a good location, free parking and free internet ( i can't stress this enough since Internet is quite expensive in dutch hotels).
The only downside are the rooms. While being clean and serviceable, the decor seems outdated and I wouldn't mind pay a bit more for a better decoration. Still Valuas is my number one choice in Venlo.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank balina76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Hotel Valuas is named after Bructer Valuas who founded Venlo in the first century AD. Tastefully renovated after the 1995 inundations the hotel has basic but comfortable rooms (ask for room facing the river). In the hotel entrance is a copper plate with the high water level mark of the Meuse River.

The brasserie is tasteful furnished and serves excellent food. At the other side of the building is the Michelin star restaurant. In summer from the terrace you have a great view over the river Maas. To the centre of town is at a 10 minute walk. Staffs are very helpful and friendly. The hotel is in a quiet neighbourhood next to the river.

The room was basically furnished and room and bathroom were impeccably clean. The breakfast was very good. Parking is free, however as the restaurant and brasserie are very popular the parking lot fills up in the evening.

Having dinner in the brasserie or the (more expensive) restaurant is worth the money. The service was excellent, the food very good.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsPiket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

When visiting Venlo, where I grew up, we always stay in the Valuas. Because my parents took me there when I was still a toddler (60 years ago....) I have a personnel affinity to this place, but still today it has lots of ambiance and we find it a good base for staying in the area.
The location is great with a great view over the river Maas (ask for room facing river!) and a 10 minutes walk to the market place and port boulevard. The room price (includes a rich breakfast) is OK for the level of amenities the place offers. We only had once dinner at the restaurant many years ago as we always want to find new places in the area.
Room 12 is the largest room with the only balcony of the hotel (very big and when the weather permits, a great place to chill out in private), but this room is only equipped with a douche and no bath. Another very good room choice is number 11.
The staff (every year we come there is new personnel) is always very helpful and kind.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JmK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler5319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank mmsmeets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dr16o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Venlo
1.1 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Venlo
2.1 mi away
Bilderberg Hotel De Bovenste Molen
0.6 mi away
Theaterhotel Venlo
Theaterhotel Venlo
#3 of 7 in Venlo
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Bilderberg Chateau Holtmuhle
1 mi away
Campanile Venlo
Campanile Venlo
#5 of 7 in Venlo
115 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sandton Chateau De Raay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valuas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valuas

Address: St. Urbanusweg 11, 5914 CA Venlo, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Venlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Venlo
Price Range: £85 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valuas 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valuas has a four-star hotel with 17 spacious, comfortable rooms, which all boast a contemporary interior with warm colours. Some rooms even overlook the Meuse river. Hotel Valuas is the perfect location to extend your lunch or dinner and treat yourself to a stay of one night or more. Venlo and its surroundings offer countless possibilities for relaxation, leisure and sports. The hotel rooms can be booked even without a lunch or dinner booking at Valuas. Hotel Valuas is a member of Quality Lodgings, a group of small and authentic quality hotels where culinary pleasures and accommodation go hand in hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Valuas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing