We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”
Review of Hotel Valuas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Valuas
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Venlo
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the lovely Hotel Valuas for two nights last week. We stayed in room 12 which was enormous! The room had a bedroom and very large living room area. The room had 3 doors going to a terrace with a lovely river view.The room and hotel were spotless. The included breakfast was made to order and was outstanding as was the food and service in the Brasserie restaurant. My husband and I both had Dover sole. Attention to detail with very helpful and friendly staff. Just a delightful experience!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monadsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    17
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
8
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level 6 Contributor
1,134 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

I thought the room was nice, but a bit outdated. My colleague, however, had a room with no hot water and that was fairly cold. My room was warm, and I had really hot water. My room was quiet and comfortable, even on the street-side. Try to get a room on the opposite side.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank LiketoeatCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omer israel
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

the hotel located by a riverside and has a very good restaurant whIch is probably the main reason people visit the hotel. The rooms are spacious, the bed comfortable, and the bathroom is OK. we enjoyd the outside of the hotel, the river, walking around and in the summer sitting outside will be marvelous. The best part of the Hotel is the Brasserie where yoy get a very good food for fair prices. To sum up, the Hotel is not modern but we enjoyed very much our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
502 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Last year as well as this year I stayed at Valuas after having a company Christmas dinner here. The experience for the hotel is completely out of sync with the standard of the restaurant. Do something about it: I might stay more often. As it is today, Van der Valk is a much better choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeKokkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

The hotel room looks like a Boy Scout excursion retreat - just terrible. Deep 70's style and bed size for kids. Bathroom in flashy dark brown. Scary. Floor panels sound like in a horror movie. Every step you take, everyone just wakes.
The restaurant on the contrary is different. Waiter wears white gloves and a soup starts at €15,- for starters. Good food but extremely overpriced.
Won't stay here again and really cannot recommend to anyone else.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissRalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I stayed at the Valuas with friends in order to visit the Floriade. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were impeccably clean, beds comfortable,the bathrooms (though a bit dated) were more than adequate, and the riverside location lovely. We stayed in road side rooms and can't agree with previous reviews regarding noise. We were disturbed just the once by an over zealous emergency vehicle which passed with all sirens blaring at 2am! Otherwise, as the hotel is located in a quiet residential area, we slept wery well. Breakfasts were great, with eggs cooked to order, a good selection of fruit and juices, and baskets of home baked breads (including specially baked gluten free bread for one of us), as well as the usual continental offering of meats and cheese. Venlo itself is a charming small town, a 10-15 minute easy stroll from the hotel,where we found dining places with no trouble for the two nights we were there. Everyone we encountered, from taxi drivers to waiters, were extremely friendly and welcoming. I must make a special mention of the Valuas staff, who were all superb. They all spoke very good English- thankfully- and all went out of their way to assist us with our various questions and problems with good humour and tireless service. Our only,minor,issue was the lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nootychoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We had dinner in the brasserie one evening. Stunning location on the river the Maas, and the bar is a cosy small area to have a pre dinner drink.
We choose the menu of the day, and it was really good. Very tasty with lots of fresh and seasonal ingredients. Finger lickin good.
The restaurant was a bit cold due to the aircon set very cold.
Highly recommended.
We wanted to go for a second dinner three weeks later but unfortunately they were closed for their annual holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Choccywoccydooda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Venlo
2.1 mi away
Bilderberg Hotel De Bovenste Molen
1.1 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Venlo
0.6 mi away
Theaterhotel Venlo
Theaterhotel Venlo
#3 of 7 in Venlo
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Wilhelmina
Hotel Wilhelmina
#6 of 7 in Venlo
87 reviews
1.0 mi away
Campanile Venlo
Campanile Venlo
#5 of 7 in Venlo
106 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bilderberg Chateau Holtmuhle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valuas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valuas

Property: Hotel Valuas
Address: St. Urbanusweg 11, 5914 CA Venlo, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Venlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Venlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valuas 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valuas has a four-star hotel with 17 spacious, comfortable rooms, which all boast a contemporary interior with warm colours. Some rooms even overlook the Meuse river. Hotel Valuas is the perfect location to extend your lunch or dinner and treat yourself to a stay of one night or more. Venlo and its surroundings offer countless possibilities for relaxation, leisure and sports. The hotel rooms can be booked even without a lunch or dinner booking at Valuas. Hotel Valuas is a member of Quality Lodgings, a group of small and authentic quality hotels where culinary pleasures and accommodation go hand in hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, HRS, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Valuas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing