We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It served its' purpose, but very poor value”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Campanile Venlo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Campanile Venlo
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Venlo
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“It served its' purpose, but very poor value”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Used this hotel for our trip to Floriade. Accomodation reminded me of student accomodation. The hotel, if you can call it that was seperate from the reception. It was only possible to get out of one side of our bed as the room was so small that it would not allowed access to the bathroom. The room was dated and had a slighly musty feel. We were on the ground floor, with only lace curtains, so we had to lower security shutter for privacy. The walls were so thin, that I was woken in the morning from snoring from the next room, (They may have been woken by mine too!!!) I could clearly hear them talk. We were on the ground floor, and we were greeted by the sight of many rat traps just outside our room. Breakfast was expensive, so like another tripadvisor, we took the bus (83 every 1/2 hour) into Venlo. In fact we used the bus in the evening too, as there are numerous restaurants in Venlo, which is a nice place to wander around.
On hindsight we should have booked into a better place in the centre, for the additional amount. I certainly won't be using Campanile again.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorsetWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    36
    35
    8
    3
See reviews for
16
32
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester
Level Contributor
144 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Campanile are usually good hotels, and this one was no exception. Clean, good comfy bed, pleasant surroundings, not too noisy location but still not far from main routes. On the edge of the town, so transport needed to get into the centre. Bus stop nearby if car not ideal. Half hourly buses. Possible to take bus into town then pick up shuttle bus to Floriade. Or leave car in underground car park in town centre, then get shuttle. Cost-wise not much difference. But nicer than parking in the vast parking area at Floriade. Note that parking at Floriade costs E10 per day.
Evening meals at hotel good value for money and food OK. Rather 'boil in the bag', so the deep fryer was being well used, but tasty enough and salads nice and chips excellent. Breakfast however was extortionate at over E11 per person. Buffet style and lots of choice so you can gorge, but even so. We had the first breakfast there, then found a great place in the centre of Venlo (Delifrance) where we had a superb breakfast at half the hotel price, then went off in the shuttle bus to the festival. We would return no problem, especially now we know where to have breakfast!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms off the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Finding it very difficult to find a hotel in this city staging this year's ten year celebration of the festival and having tried more than a dozen possibilities two months in advance, I managed to book six doubles at Campanile 30 mins outside city centre. Great choice, very friendly, nothing flashy just ALL the basics very well presented. Hotel situated some distance outside the city centre but we were lucky to get a booking during this year's festival. P.S.If you like 'Chinese', book a table at the Chinese-Indisch restaurant called PENANG at Stalbergweg 95. Real 'bog standard' place- bill for 12 people £137 for 'the works'. Certainly not the Ritz but the 'best' Chinese I have ever had

Room Tip: Go for first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UNCLEBUCK503920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, Essex
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

It is amazing how people can write reviews from totally the wrong perspective! Campanile hotels are basic business type hotels, very reasonably priced, usually offering good basic food at a fair cost and are certainly not to be compared with Hiltons, Holiday Inns etc (or their prices!). If you want to take a family away for several nights - why on earth pick a Campanile? This shows a complete lack of knowledge of hotel chains. We stayed for two nights when visiting Floriade and the room was basic but totally clean. Although the hotel was full, there were no noise problems as the building (which is similar to an American motel in its style) is solidly constructed. The staff were helpful and we have no bad comments about it. I agree that, if you have any mobility problems, go for a ground floor room because the stairs are narrow. Other than that, as a stopover and not a holiday, it was good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Stayed 5 nights for visting the Floriade 2012. Close by the venue - 10 mins by car. This was the only good thing - besides good free Wifi coverage.

To start with, the rooms were extremely dirty. It actually smelled like dirt. We slightly rubbed a wet paper on the floor, and it came up pitch black! Told the front desk, they at least pretended to be schocked, and offered us free breakfast the next day. However the rooms still smelled like dirt, smoke or whatever.

Rooms seemed worn out, dark with little lighting. No "cozy atmosphere", only the basic amenities. Beds were OK, but squeaky. Not much noise from the street

Restaurant was OK, no more. Staff friendly, but overworked - reception and restaurant was together. On checkout we had to wait until the receptionist had finished serving breakfast before we could check out.

Seems OK for a overnight stop when you are just driving through (Truck Stop) but absolutely not for families. They do have a lot to learn especially about hygiene - our new towels were placed on the toilet seat by the cleaning crew!!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on ground level - no elevator to the other levels and very narrow stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venlo hotels

Niort, France
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

A very well located hotel in Venlo. Close to the shops, petrol station and a good stop over for the Floriade 2012 Expo which we were there to visit. The room was clean, comfortable and typical of the Campanile group of hotels. The staff were exceptionally helpful and were able to answer all our queries if not immediately, then by the next morning. We wanted to visit some Dutch windmills whilst in Holland ... not something every tourist asks for details of. The evening meal in the restaurant was good and weather permitting you can dine in the samll outside garden.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
149 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Most rooms are up narrow steep outside stairs. No elevators. Very tiny basic accommodations.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pcsk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Venlo
0.2 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Venlo
3.0 mi away
Bilderberg Hotel De Bovenste Molen
1.0 mi away
Hotel Valuas
Hotel Valuas
#3 of 6 in Venlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Wilhelmina
Hotel Wilhelmina
#5 of 6 in Venlo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Puur
Hotel Puur
#6 of 6 in Venlo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sandton Chateau De Raay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Venlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Venlo

Property: Campanile Venlo
Address: Noorderpoort 5 | Veegtes, 5916 PJ Venlo, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Venlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Venlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Venlo 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Louvre hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Venlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Hotel Venlo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing