We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older van der Valk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Venlo
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Venlo
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Older van der Valk”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I have stayed in various van der Valk hotels. This hotel is comparitively less than others. Maybe because it's older and situated next to a busy highway. Travelling with a 1 year old baby we were given a room next to the highway. when we requested a quieter room, we were moved to a room further down the floor without hestiation. Breakfast was very good. (van der Valk hotels always have good breakfast) and we did have dinner which was good as well. Free parking and good wifi

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToneHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    378
    145
    31
    12
See reviews for
100
420
32
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
501 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Stayed at Van der Valk for the xth time. This time, I was entitled to a free of charge room as a couple of months ago, the hotel had cancelled my booking by error and with the Floriade at its heights there was no room available anymore anywhere in or around Venlo. Anyway, you would expect that they wanted to make up for this certainly as my company is spending an awful lot of money with this hotel. Where did they put me? In the old part of the hotel, in one of their oldest, standard rooms. Then, they have redesigned the restaurant. Apart from whether you like the new style, many of the tables have couches on one side. They are very uncomfortable to sit on, but what is really annoying is that the fabric is synthetic so you can imagine what happens when you are sitting on it for a couple of minutes. Last but not least, they have taken the Dutch shrimp cocktail off the menu. I made comments already in previous reviews about the bar service: didn't bother to even go there this time. All in all, I am starting to get less and less charmed by Van der Valk Venlo.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeKokkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We booked on the fly ... driving from the UK to Denmark at the speed of light (almost, it's an emergency) but needing somewhere to stay enroute. This hotel seemed perfect. Number one on Trip Advisor for the area, so we booked from the car. It is really easy to find, just off the motorway (E34) but a bit noisy because of that. Check in was easy - the room (comfort) is spacious and well presented. We confirmed at check in with the receptionist that the restaurant stays open until 2230 (as shown on the web site). We went to the room, had a quick pit stop at the bar for a swift vodka tonic (very nice and served by a helpful and friendly bar man) and then arrived at the restaurant by 2115. Bear in mind we missed lunch. Dinner was always going to be important. We were told by the restaurant manager that the restaurant is closed now and we can only order at the bar. Unfortunately, the bar had a large group of the noisiest people (including drunk, cackling females ... why do they cackle? I am female and I have never cackled in my life!) so that was about the least attractive option. I asked the receptionist if this is true and he said yes. The restaurant was not busy enough to stay open. Great. So much for his earlier statement about when it closed. Having considered sitting in the car park to eat, we asked if we could have the meal delivered to the room. The receptionist said no, the bar man said yes. Was it the small tip we gave for those delightful vodka tonics? Maybe. Who knows. 45 minutes later we are still waiting for the food to arrive. So maybe it won't. We have a really early start tomorrow. This is unacceptable. So, what could be a great place to stay isn't. Especially if you want to eat. Especially if you want someone to tell you how it is. Especially if you don't want to have to start complaining about things. Ho hum. At least it is only one night. Not to be repeated. I hope.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonJem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany/UK
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I stayed here for the best part of a week whilst attending a conference at the university. The Venlo Hotel has everything the business traveller needs: a large car park, free internet, spacious, clean rooms and helpful staff.

There is a decent restaurant where I ate twice in the evening and every morning. The buffet breakfast which begins at 6 am is excellent.

The hotel is on a motorway but the rooms were well-insulated. There is a gym adjoining the hotel which guests can use (I didn't). You can hire bikes too, but I'm not sure where you would want to ride to!

I came by rail and it was a 14 EUR taxi ride from the station to the hotel. But you are better off with a car here.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I was driving from Prague back to the channel tunnel when i decided that i would not make the tunnel in time, so decided i needed to find a hotel for the night. This hotel is right by the motorway and easy to get to.
The reception was efficient and the room was clean and comfortable. the Hotel was very quite but it was a Sunday evening.
The Breakfast was good. and checking out easy.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueCatsuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

A very conveniently located hotel with easy access to the E34/A67 motorway.

It is everything one expects from a hotel, reasonable size rooms and bathrooms, all very clean. An excellent breakfast buffet, good evening restaurant and a friendly bar. Make friends with Jack the bartender! An asset that every hotel should have.

Some nice countryside and a lake nearby are nice for jogging around.

It is very popular for business forums and local events so it can get very busy. Advance booking recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
404 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

This is a large, multi storey hotel. Stayed for one night, on business in nearby Dusseldorf (40 mins.). The bedroom was quite large on the sixth floor in my case. Nicely decorated, with a view of the motorway and leafy countryside. The reception staff were fast in booking one in, but very slow in checking one out. The breakfast room was very large, bright and busy. Good range of food on offer, including a cooked breakfast. I found things a little hard to find, and had to ask staff, where things were, twice. This was because it was arranged in a channel, or a straight line, with a narrow passage, like way. Overnight parking was free.

Room Tip: Ask for one not facing the motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Venlo
3.2 mi away
Bilderberg Hotel De Bovenste Molen
0.2 mi away
Campanile Venlo
Campanile Venlo
#5 of 7 in Venlo
106 reviews
1.7 mi away
Theaterhotel Venlo
Theaterhotel Venlo
#3 of 7 in Venlo
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Bilderberg Chateau Holtmuhle
6.2 mi away
Sandton Chateau De Raay
2.0 mi away
Hotel Wilhelmina
Hotel Wilhelmina
#6 of 7 in Venlo
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Venlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Venlo

Property: Van der Valk Hotel Venlo
Address: Nijmeegseweg 90, 5916 PT Venlo, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Venlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Venlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Venlo 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Venlo has undergone a complete renovation and is sure to meet the expectations of both corporate and recreational guests. The 149 spacious guest rooms have been designed with your comfort in mind and include such facilities as air-conditioning or ventilation system and a tea kettle. The entirely refurbished restaurant with outdoor terrace truly is the heart of the hotel. Besides serving regional dishes, we also prepare a variety of meals with organic products. The 10 multi-functional conference rooms have a total capacity of 300 persons. In addition, the hotel includes a 24-hour reception service, free internet access throughout the building and a large car park that is complimentary for guests. Because of the hotel's central position to the A67, many of the tourist attractions and cultural sites are easily reached. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Venlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing