We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to be in Breda”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bliss Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Breda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This is a great place to stay! Beautiful rooms, large and different from other hotel rooms. In the Bliss hotel you almost want to spend an evening in your room to enjoy the facilities. A nice couch and fireplace....hmmmmmm :-)

But; the restaurant Chocolate calls your name to go out. Just walk downstairs and there you'll find a great trendy place to have dinner.
And if you like shopping; the center is just around the corner.
We had a great time at Bliss!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fjiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2011

Bliss has a great concept and delivers on the promise of a unique lodging experience, but there are some caveats here that take away from the lustre.

First, my room smelled of smoke. Not overpowering, just kind of integrated into everything. This is the kind of smoke they can't do anything about. It'spart of the fabric of the hotel. The room was cute but a bit rundown.

The feel is that of a bed and breakfast. You'll never encounter another guest and there is no bar or common area to speak of. It is SO small that its size is the overwhelming impression. The rooms just aren't spectacular enough to overcome the slightly claustrophobic feeling.

Now, this hotel does have a tremendous attached sister restaurant. And I will say that its location is just about as perfect as you can get. So whether this is a three or four start hotel really depends on your own preference. I don;t know how you possibly give it five stars if you've ever stayed at a true five start in your life, but three or four for sure. I'd certainly consider it if I wer back in Breda, especially if I were there for some liesure rather than business.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pharmanuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

Lovely hotel with super service. Use the valet parking and breakfast in the room.

Bathrooms are very nice and the rooms very cozy with a fireplace, free wine, coffee (Nespresso) and fruit. The service is heartwarming.

Ambient lighting in the rooms and too many other nice details to mention.
One of the best city hotels in Netherlands!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeesFiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2010

DON'T CHOOSE THE DREAMROOM: the smell of the rotan furniture and floor is awful.
There isn't any heating in the bathroom: COLD !
When I mentioned this to the receptionist: "sorry", I don't know, I'm just a stagiare "

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherina_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Breda is a beautiful place...full of charm, quaint streets/canals/architecture. We needed to spend a night there after coming over from UK. The Bliss looked wonderful on the website, and when I arrived in the afternoon from Schiphol it seemed that way. My wife and younger daughter were arriving by car later. There seemed to be very few staff, and no one who was in charge. The receptionist was vague to say the least, and did not appear to have much local knowledge. The room seemed nice, and the fitments etc were all good. There was the usual boutique hotel find out how the coffee machine works, but that seems standard these days. The bed was certainly comfortable.
Around 6, I tried to use the bath, only to find that the plug didn't work. A trip to reception was met with shrugs, and someone from the kitchen appeared to see if they could fix it.... they couldn't. Without trying, I was told no plumbers were available, and I was offerred to change to an inferior room, which I declined (my wife and I finally used the bath in our daughter's room).
When my wife arrived in Breda by car, the fun started. Breda is much pedestrianised, and getting a car even with sat nav to the door proved impossible. The 'valet parking' failed to materialise, and the receptionist only vaguely knew the direction of the local car park. When we finally negociated a parking, we had a 10 minute trail along cobbled streets with our luggage. The lift to the rooms is bizarre, and would not pass scrutiny (you have to hold buttons at all times to make it work).
This hotel has so much potential, and with a bit of organisation (I assume the owners are not hands on) and some genuinely knowledgable staff, it could give value for the high room rates that they charge.
Sorry, but in beautiful Breda this is worth a body swerve until they improve.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crawfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

We loved this hotel - fantastic location (although do double check directions before you arrive to avoid falling foul of random street closures - a GPS will not help!) Very efficient valet parking and check in. Wonderfully atmospheric room with fireplace and comfortable sofa (Notting Hill suite). Gorgeous bathroom and very comfortable bed (despite being two joined together). Great staff. Extremely stylish, but then we love Flamont. Very little downside, possibly a bit of noise from the bar outside and some from the wooden floors of the hotel. Breakfast choice quite good but no eggs benedict/smoked salmon etc. Didn't try restaurant attached (arrived too late) but meant to be excellent. Definately one of our favourites hotels of the year!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Midigama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2006

The most exclusive stay in Breda is the Bliss Hotel. It is located right in the very center of the city. All 9 suites are very comfortable and large. They each have their own touch and style. Perfectly designed. Rooms go from 200 up to more than 300 Euro's. But it is definitely worth it. We stayed in the Mystery suite, which was romantic and had a beautiful bathroom. They serve a very good breakfast. Next to the hotel is their small restaurant: Chocolate. Parking is prohibited in the old city area, but they offer valet parking.
One small remark: there was a teapot in the room, but we didn't find a water cooker and the tea.
We come back next time, also because Breda is lovely. It is not too big. But offers great shopping and dining.

Thank Repko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breda hotels
City
Hotel Nassau Breda, Autograph Collection
Novotel Breda
#6 of 16 in Breda
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Tulip Keyser
#4 of 16 in Breda
270 reviews
Hotel Merlinde
#10 of 16 in Breda
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bliss Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bliss Boutique Hotel

Address: Torenstraat 9, 4811 XV, Breda, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Breda > City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Breda
Price Range: £129 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bliss Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bliss Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing