We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional Dutch place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B Aan de Singelgracht

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B Aan de Singelgracht
Ranked #5 of 10 Breda B&B and Inns
Europe
Level Contributor
285 reviews
267 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Traditional Dutch place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

A somewhat particular place so it’s quite hard to write a proper review of this B&B. Let’s start with the good location. On a 5 minutes walking distance to the Central train station and Tourist information (VVV), opposite the Valkenberg Park and also 10 minutes walking from the heart of this lovely city (Grotemarkstraat/the big square/Church). Parking is available next to the station (Stationsweg, 11 euro per 24 hours, however we were not totally sure if this was the most safe place). The rooms (divided over different houses with separate entrances) are all different and look like little apartments. Good size, comfortable beds, very traditionally decorated (old fashion style, rather dark) and with eye for detail (candles were burning, coffee and tee facilities, classical music playing, sweets and nuts nicely presented). The stairs upstairs however are extremely steep and narrow which could be a problem for elderly or disabled guests. The owners live behind the place and are friendly and attentive. You should be aware that this is not a hotel where you drop by whenever you want. You have to make appointments about when to arrive and/or depart. A good breakfast is served until 09.00 in the dining room with an open kitchen. Beautiful fresh fruit salad, fresh orange juice, yoghurt, warm rolls, cheese, charcuterie, pastry and different kinds of breads. Despite all positive aspects we encountered we still feel a little bit mixed about the price. 105 -115 euro per night (including breakfast) is quite a lot for a B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAEMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    16
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
17
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

This is the first time I have ever been impacted enough by a hotel experience to write a review on Trip Advisor.
My advice: book at this B&B at your own peril and be prepared to be tossed out on your ear at a moment's notice and for any minor trangression, even for something that is completely outside your control (as others have written about this place).
I have since discovered from reading Trip Advisor that this proprietor has been operating in this way for at least 3 years. She is extremely set in her ways, so that each of my 3 days there started out as if in the military (be there precisely on time, sit where I am told, not just which table but which chair at that table, do not ask for even minor variations to the breakfast menu, etc.). Visitors are not permitted (a fellow conference delegate who dropped by to pick me up for dinner was treated with absolute disdain).
But the tipping point was that I was evicted, yes, i had to change hotels for my final 4 nights, as a result of an altercation between the hostess and another guest of the B&B (who as the host university representative for the conference I was attending was paying my bill, which was paid in advance). I was not present for the falling out "event" between these two individuals, but it is irrelevant. The point is it had nothing to do with me and although the hostess acknowledged that I was just an innocent victim, she was absolutely unshakable in her decision that I had to leave immediately. I still cannot believe it, I am 58 years old, I am a university professor, I've been travelling for business and pleasure since I was 18, and I have never, ever been treated so unfairly, with such rudeness, and with such dire consequences.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 420Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vlissingen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

My second visit to this most charming property in Breda.The Graumans family were very welcoming on arrival, help offered with luggage and personally escorted to our rooms.
The rooms and modern bathroom were beautifully clean, comfortable and some lovely homely touches of lit candles, chocolates and classical music playing.
The breakfast was served downstairs in a beautifully decorated dining room and was plentiful and delicious.
All in all, highly recommended! I will return again........no doubt!

Room Tip: For a special occasion, choose the delightful romantic room with gorgeous 4 poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdenn62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

REMEMBER, this is not a hotel but a bed-and-breakfast. As such it is cosy but very expensive. It does not afford you the independence and privacy of a hotel because it is in someone's home. The stairs to your room are a mountaineer's nightmare. Getting your cases up is a real challenge. As such it is a serious safety hazard. But you're in someone's home; the breakfasts are great; the rooms are clean; and it is very conveniently situated with Breda Station 2 minutes away and the town centre a gentle 10 minute walk through a park.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starryjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

From the outside the hotel looks quite common seems like nothing special. Then you get to see the rooms. Romantic, classic old world charm combined with modern ensuite facilities greet you on entering. We were on a bike trip and the hotel provided a locked garage for the bikes. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Hotel is within walking distance to city part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skatecreekrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

We choose this B&B because it was suggested as a good place for cyclists. And we did appreciate being able to keep our bikes in a private garage. The location is very convenient since it is within walking distance of a grocery store, the train station and the historic section of town. Despite this, it was very quiet in our room. The room was very charming. It was decorated interestingly and we really appreciated the comfortable chairs, large coffee table, table and chairs. After a day of sightseeing, it was easy to relax in the room. There was also a coffee maker and fridge in the room. We also appreciated the music, candles and candies. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was large, clean and well-appointed. BTW, the owner was helpful, friendly and charming. The stairs are steep but they all are in the Netherlands.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, Lancashire.
Level Contributor
215 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

I read a review of this guest house on this site which warned about the hosts' inflexibility and having just visited here I can understand what they meant, however a trait which often goes with this is that of being meticulous and that is certainly true of 'Singelgracht'.

We were given a delightful garden room with very traditional furnishings and a 'romantic cupboard bed' - all scrupulously clean and tidy. Our hostess lit candles and lamps, of which there were many, on our arrival... and soothing classical music played in the background. The breakfast was beautifully presented in a lovely downstairs room and was very tasty as well. The B&B is well located, being a 10 or 15 minute stroll through the park, to the centre of the lively but picturesque town but close to the main ring road for driving too. Car Parking was no problem - we found a space just around the corner - and compared to most places we visited, was very good value.

The hosts are perhaps, by nature, a little formal but they made us very welcome and the accommodation was very nice.

Room Tip: You can choose a specific room, depending on availability, when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breda hotels
Golden Tulip Keyser
#6 of 15 in Breda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
City
Bliss Boutique Hotel
Bliss Boutique Hotel
#4 of 15 in Breda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Breda
#5 of 15 in Breda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Hotel Princeville
#2 of 15 in Breda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Campanile Breda Hotel
#14 of 15 in Breda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Aan de Singelgracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Aan de Singelgracht

Property: B&B Aan de Singelgracht
Address: Delpratsingel 14, 4811 AN, Breda, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Breda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Breda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your B&B Aan de Singelgracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing