We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay in Breda”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Tulip Keyser
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Breda
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A good place to stay in Breda”
Reviewed 17 April 2011

The Golden Tulip Keyser Breda is really just fine as a hotel goes. Not set in any grounds but fronts the road with a pull in point for taxis to drop you off and a small seating area outside just by the main entrance where you can have a drink. The hotel is of a good standard and provided me with a pleasant clean room (in the new residential block) with twin beds and a very nice bathroom. On a personal basis I did not like the dark furnishing style which tends to give rooms a dingy air but that is down to individual preferences. Still the room had everything one needed and was comfortable. Not many international channels on the TV but internet access so for a non-Dutch speaker no real problems in staying in touch with the outside world. The breakfast was pretty much standard and had leanings towards mass catering (orange juice - concentrate diluted a bit too far, scrambled eggs set in a bit of a solid lump etc, etc) but as always it is easy to criticise and one has to appreciate that guests turn up for breakfast at random times and so some of what you get is a matter of luck. I found the hotel to be situated within convenient walking distance of both the city centre (which is very nice) and Avans University where I was heading. All in all I am happy to recommend the Golden Tulip Keyser as a good place to stay in Breda and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ooDormouseoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    124
    37
    4
    2
See reviews for
14
56
18
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Le Mans, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

my point of view will be a bit different cause i "lived" here for a month but if you're here for one or two days, it's fine!
bedroom is small with a classical bathroom, a really small flatscreen tv and 2 small beds!!!
you'll have to book a suite to get a kingsize bed !
when you're "internet addicted", the free wifi is a must.
the restaurant menu is a bit poor, but for a short stay, will be ok
it's 2min walking distance from the krotemarkt, the place to have a drink byt the end of the day!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ptcmba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

I have to go to Breda once or twice per year. Because it is a small town, there are not any hotels from my company's preferred hotel list in town, so I have always had trouble finding a good hotel here (I have had several bad experiences with some of the local hotels). The only acceptable place I had found up this point was the Novotel which is not very conveniently located for my trips.

However, pleased to say I will probably stick with the Golden Tulip Keyser from now on. The rooms were clean and spacious. The hotel itself is nicely decorated and quiet. The location is right near the town center, so it is easy to walk somewhere for dinner, drinks or shopping.

All in all, not my favorite hotel in the world, but definitely my new favorite in Breda.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrussellpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2010

My stay here has been wonderful.. I totally enjoyed the comfortable and clean room. Service is good and the staff are really friendly. Its near to the shopping streets and to the train station. I would love to stay here again when I visit Breda...

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Munzter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2010

Without a doubt the best Golden Tulip I stayed at (not a big accomplishment perhaps but still it is a good hotel). It is very centrally located near the city centre (with lots of shopping, restaurants etc) and also with easy access from the train station.

The hotel does not look like anything special from the outside but once inside it has a modern feel to it and the staff were truly friendly and very helpful.

My room was a corner room on the 5th floor. The room had several windows which gave the room a slightly bigger feel. There was even a very small balcony.

Other than that the room was pretty standard with a desk, tv and a few chairs. There was a water kettle in the room which I appreciate. I do however not understand the apparent aversion to providing an iron and ironing board in every room but I have gotten used to it after travelling extensively in the Netherlands (of course it is possible to get it by asking the reception but would still prefer to have it in the room).

The bed was comfortable although it could have been a bit bigger. Everything was new and had a modern feeling to it. The bathroom was pretty standard with a bathtub.

The hotel also offers free internet (wifi) but you have to ask for the access codes at the reception.

The breakfast was a step up from the standard business hotel breakfast with plenty of options to choose from such as hot food like pancakes, several types of eggs (fried, scrambled), bacon, sausages but also plenty of cold food.

I was very happy with my stay and will most likely become a regular (seeing that I frequently travel to Breda on business).

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesaint01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2010

The reception was welcoming and the rooms were nice. Great to have free wifi in the room as well as a computer downstairs with internet access. We also used the printer free of charge. Breakfast is very good but a bit on the expensive side - weak Sterling doesn't help.
We didn't eat in the restaurant but had a drink in the bar which had a nice atmosphere. The hotel is in a perfect location - close to the centre of Breda but very quiet.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BECCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Nice hotel, European styling. Short walk to the Grote Market where there are literally hundreds of shops and restaurants. Awesome location, cozy hotel. Great restaurant and bar.

Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RobR21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breda hotels
Novotel Breda
#6 of 16 in Breda
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Princeville
#3 of 16 in Breda
603 reviews
City
Bliss Boutique Hotel
Bliss Boutique Hotel
#4 of 16 in Breda
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Keyser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Keyser

Property: Golden Tulip Keyser
Address: Keizerstraat 5, 4811 HL, Breda, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn Keyser)
Region: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Breda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Breda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Keyser 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Tulip Keyser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Breda
Breda Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing