We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing fancy, it will do though” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Breda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Novotel Breda
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Breda
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charlotte, Michigan
Level Contributor
118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy, it will do though”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Stayed here three nights recently on a business trip. Based on the previous reviews on Trip Advisor, I was expecting a pretty nice hotel. The reality is that it's an OK hotel, but nothing really special. I'd rather stay at something like a Hampton or Fairfield in, they are far nicer for the money.

The condition of the common areas is sketchy - the hallway carpet was quite dirty-looking, and the lobby area felt a little dark and dreary.

The first thing that puzzled me when I entered the room was the very odd setup - I walked into a tiny little alcove (1m x 1m), with the WC off to one side, and an open closet area to the other. I had to open ANOTHER door to get into the main living area, which had the sink and shower off of it. The setup of this room was just weird and made the space feel much smaller than it was.

The WC and the shower are quite nice, the room I was in appeared to have had those areas recently remodeled. The shower areas was nice and large, and very clean.

The living area left something to be desired. There was a small loveseat that was hard, outdated, and ugly. There was a small but rather tall table in the middle of the open space . . . to tall to use as a coffee table for the seating, too tall and too small a top to use as a computer station, and there was already a nice sized desk in the room . . . I didn't quite get why it was there.

The bed was a disaster, and based on my colleagues' experience, very typical for this hotel. It looked like an IKEA memory foam mattress that had seen better days . . . like in the 80's. I could tell when I looked at the bed walking in that it was a lumpy mess. I pulled the sheet back, and it was about 4 inches thick and lumpy as hell. When I slept in it, I could feel a huge ridge down the middle (a major problem since I am 6'5" tall and had to sleep at an angle to fit), plus there were lots of high and low spots everywhere else. I would have probably been more comfortable on the love seat. I woke up every morning with a massive backache.

The TV was very small (I didn't measure, but it looked like a 19" widescreen LCD), I never turned it on, so can't comment on the quality of the picture or the programing.

The rooms do offer a small minibar with prices that are fairly reasonable for hotel mini bars.

The view out of the room was nice - I was overlooking the courtyard/pool area. Rooms were fairly quiet, especially if you closed the inner door - that blocked out any hallway noise. I did notice that the security lock (the bar that you flipped closed for extra security) had been removed. When I asked the others I was traveling with, theirs were also missing. That struck me as a little odd . . . that's the only lock that can't be opened from outside, so I felt like the room security was a little lacking.

The breakfast was quite nice, good selection of a variety of dishes, and everything was tasty and seemed very fresh. Price was a bit expensive, but I would recommend trying it anyway.

Overall, my experience at this hotel was fine, and the price was OK, it's just not the fanciest place in town.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    365
    148
    27
    17
See reviews for
227
201
45
191
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Only spent one night here, on our way to Schiphol for our flight home, so only a very brief stay. We chose this hotel on the basis of the TA reviews and I'm happy to say they didn't lead us astray. This is a very comfortable, clean and nicely appointed place to stay. Our room was quiet and spacious; had a very comfortable bed and the bathroom had a great shower. A couple of more unusual, but much appreciated, features - there is a little entry to the room with a cupboard and a second door into the room proper - means you don;t get any corridor noise in the bedroom area. And the toilet is in a separate room from the bathroom - definitely liked this aspect! It is reasonably priced accommodation, on the outskirts of Breda, so location is excellent if you just want a bed for the night as you are on the way somewhere using some of the major highways in the Netherlands. But you will need to drive if you want to go into the city centre for a meal, shopping, whatever. Staff were very helpful and friendly. There is a pool, as well as a bar and restuarant, but we didn't use any of these facilities, so can't comment on them. We don't normally stay in chain hotels, but this one was a great choice!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelite42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

This hotel is well located on the outskirts of Breda, idela if your seeking a stopover on a longer journey to or from Westerm Europe. It was a good example of the familiar Novotel brand. Failry modern, well eqipped and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful and the restaurant was good for both dinner and breakfast. You could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stayed here 2 nights on business. Hotel is situated outside the town and is good for people with cars but is still fine for those without. Bus 115 travels to the town centre and station and the stop is a 7 minute walk from hotel. Reception will give you a bus timetable with map of where to find the stop - fare Euro 3. A taxi costs Euro 14-18 into town but, in my experience, always takes at least 15-20 minutes to arrive to collect you - I actually preferred the bus which doesn't take much longer to do the journey. Reception staff are really friendly and helpful as are the bar/restaurant staff. The outside pool is small and unheated but if the weather is good it is a great place to relax. The garden and outside tables are very nice and dinner or drinks in the garden on a sunny evening is very pleasant. Breda town centre is beautiful with lots of outside restaurants around the market square and down by the canal. Breakfast in the hotel is Euro 17 and has quite a good choice including nice crispy bacon and egg. Hotel seems popular both with business travellers and families and I think is a good choice for visiting Breda or surrounding areas.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Numberoneguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
134 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Stayed here one night on our way to the Veluwe. Very friendly staf, our son got a little present (Dino skeleton to put together). Food in the restaurant was very good. Room was spacious and clean. Clean bathroom, nice shower/bath. Nice terras and garden. It was a very warm day and outdoor pool wasn't open :( Didn't take breakfast there, found it was too expensive (€17 p.p.) and we don't eat that much in the morning. The hotel is very easy to find, right next to the highway.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indra_and_Wim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
376 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

I make a reservation in this hotel during my visit to the Efteling. The hotel is located in a nice area. The room was very modern and clean. The colors are nice and funky. The bathroom was also new and fresh. There was a rainshower and a seperate toilet. There was a extra bed in the room. The staff was friendly. During the summer there is a outdoor pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nathalievb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breda hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Princeville
Hotel Princeville
#2 of 15 in Breda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
2.4 mi away
Apollo Hotel Breda City Centre
1.9 mi away
Hotel Nassau Breda, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Campanile Breda Hotel
Campanile Breda Hotel
#14 of 15 in Breda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
2.0 mi away
Golden Tulip Keyser
Golden Tulip Keyser
#6 of 15 in Breda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
2.8 mi away
Amrath Hotel Brabant
Amrath Hotel Brabant
#9 of 15 in Breda
3.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Breda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Breda

Property: Novotel Breda
Address: Dr. Batenburglaan 74, 4837 BR, Breda, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Breda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Breda
#1 Green Hotel in Breda
#5 Luxury Hotel in Breda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Breda 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Breda is een 4-sterren hotel in de gemeente Breda, dichtbij de grens met Belgie en de snelweg A16. Het hotel ligt vlakbij het prachtige Mastbos en het historische centrum van Breda met zijn Grote Kerk, Chasse theater, het jaarlijkse Jazzfestival en Outdoor Brabant. Het hotel heeft 106 moderne hotelkamers en in 2014 de begane grond vernieuwd met een trendy en sfeervolle ineterieur voor de lobby, bar en restaurant. Het beschikt over een tuinterras en een nieuw buitenzwembad. Overal in het hotel is gratis wifi, draadloos printen en parkeren kan kosteloos op eigen terrein. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Novotel Breda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breda Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing