We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a weekend, great front desk staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Lumiere
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Eindhoven
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice for a weekend, great front desk staff”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

First of all the front desk staff was really fantastic and that sometimes makes a stay better. I stayed at the hotel for 7 nights in a row because the company I work for has a contract with this hotel. I am a huge fan of boutique hotels around the world and here are my pros and cons on this one. Overall it was a good stay but is a bit lacking for those of us on an extended stay.

Pros:
Good location, right in the center not too loud except for the garbage trucks each day.
A/C and heat worked very well and there was a window that opened for fresh air.
Free laundry! A plus when you were there as long as I was!
Fantastic Rituals bath products are a treat.
Great shower, didn't use the bath but it was huge.
Bottled water refilled each day was nice and there was a fridge.

Cons:
No onsite dining, bakery was fine for breakfast but did get old after the 4th day with limited selection. But the staff was so nice.
My room was pretty dusty and there were a lot of scuff marks on the walls, could use a fresh coat of paint or some touch up and a bit more cleaning.
Internet could be slow at times. But was included in my rate so I can't complain.
Linens and towels should be higher quality in a "boutique" hotel.
Business center is one computer and a small printer that was out of ink when I tried to print my boarding pass.
There is not really anywhere to gather in the hotel with friends or colleagues outside of the hotel rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room if they can accommodate you, maybe not on the alley side because of the garbag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    82
    26
    5
    6
See reviews for
23
111
14
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Booked this hotel for a cityrtip to Eindhoven. We travelled by train and the hotel is 10 minutes away (walking). The hotel was easy to find, in a small street. It is right in the city center. Checkin was great and the lady who helped us was really helpful. She made a reservation for us at a restaurant and we got discount because we were staying at this hotel. We had the Luxury Cityroom, it is not big, but good enough for a few days.The bathroom is small but very convenient. The toilet is in a secluded room, which is rather large. The shower is great and i love the desgin of the bathroom, very clever! In the bathroom you get free Ritual shampoo, which i loved. Breakfast is in a small bakery next to the hotel and i loved it. It is a lovely place and they make your sandwiches fresh and with everything you want. Really good service although the bakery is small it is really nice. The last night we wanted to watch a movie and the hotel has a lot of dvd's you can borrow and watch! Would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Hotel is in the city center with a lot of shops in the street and neighborhood but the windows are g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ennetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Stayed at this hotel near conference
Very pleasantly surprised at the shear class of this boutique hotel. Very clean. Full of character. Distinctly different and superb staff. The bathtub is huge considering the rooms as is the shower room. One thing that always gets to me is the separate toilet with no hand wash basin. Maybe it's a Western thing but it's not hygienic to not have a hand wash in the toilet area. This design feature lets down the overalll experience. I must say that the tv channels were limited to lots of dutch and the only choice for English was CNN and BBC ..what about Russia Today or Sky or Sports or movies

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khan_saber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

It's a really small (20-30 rooms) but extremely well located and clean and nicely decorated hotel. Room is very clean and stuff are friendly. Some rooms have coffee and tea facilities or you can just take one at the lobby. The breakfast is next door in a bakery with really wide range of choices of pastry in the morning. That's quite usually but I have to say the quality is even better than some of the 4 stars continental buffet.
It's in the middle of the shopping streets surrounded by shops and restaurants. Not far from the station neither.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dilbert2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

The Lumiere was a positive surprise in many ways:

The front desk staff is outstandingly friendly and helpful, the rooms (and particularly the bathrooms) are nicely furnished, clean and well equipped, and WiFi is performing well.

While the breakfast arrangement in the bakery next door might seem a bit awkward at the first glance, it works very well: There is a good choice of excellent quality food and one can even have a small takeaway package made.

I will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eclipticon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Our university student group of 17 needed to find a hotel for 3 nights in Eindhoven. There were several choices, but after reading trip advisor, we settled on the Lumiere, and I am very glad we did. All the reception staff we met were warm, friendly and very helpful.

This is an upscale business hotel that is rather pricey given the exchange rate of the euro to the dollar. After having big issues with the internet service in older hotels in Amsterdam and Delft, the robustness of the internet at the Lumiere was very welcome! We could finally all skype our families and get our work done!

Our students all had double rooms. They were a bit small overall but very comfortable. The bedding was excellent—the best we had on our 16-day trip traveling around The Netherlands (you get what you pay for). Students had electric kettles and tea and instant coffee in their rooms. My colleague and I each had an executive room (mine was a corner room #107, with several separate areas, like a little suite). My colleague had a different layout, a larger room #210, without smaller areas. We both had Nespresso machines with an ample supply of capsules (robust, medium, decaf).

The hotel does not have a breakfast room. They use the bakery next door to offer breakfast to their clients. We purchased the breakfast voucher for each of the students at 9.5 euros each. This enabled us to go next door and eat anything we wanted (there were no eggs as I recall), but there were an amazing variety of pastries, meats, cheeses, breads for sandwiches, excellent granola, fruits and yogurt (plain and in cups), and all the coffee you could drink (strong and dark).
Many students made sandwiches to take with them for their lunches. So, for us it was a very good deal.

My only compliant about the hotel is that it smells like a bakery all the time. It's a pleasant smell, but if you are on a diet or trying not to eat foods with sugar (like pastries), it can drive you crazy.
There is not much of a lobby area, but there is a large screen TV behind the reception desk, a Nespresso machine if you want a coffee, and a bowl of candy and lollypops that our students made a serious dent in for the 3 nights we were there!

There is a business center with two computers and a printer, on the floor below the reception area with a large table. On the last day we were in Eindhoven, the hotel stored our considerable amount of luggage in a storage room, and many of the students used the business area to do their homework before we left for the train to Amsterdam at 5:00 p.m.

Room Tip: I mention some rooms in my review. Some rooms face the street below. Mine did, but this was no probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

My wife and I stayed here on a weekend and were quite pleased with the place.

The rooms are a good size with a nice modern feel. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was great, with a large shower and big separate tub. There's free wifi throughout the hotel, and a Nespresso machine in the room.

There's no restaurant in the hotel. They send visitors to the bakery next door for breakfast for about 10 euros each, which isn't a bad option. We simply grabbed a few things from the bakery and took them back to our room instead.

Room Tip: The executive room was a little larger and good value for the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eindhoven hotels
Binnenstad
Pullman Eindhoven Cocagne
Binnenstad
Boutique Hotel Glow
Boutique Hotel Glow
#11 of 26 in Eindhoven
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Student Hotel Eindhoven
#12 of 26 in Eindhoven
67 reviews
Park Plaza Eindhoven
#2 of 26 in Eindhoven
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Lumiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Lumiere

Property: Boutique Hotel Lumiere
Address: Hooghuisstraat 31 A, 5611 GS Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Eindhoven > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Eindhoven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Boutique Hotel Lumiere 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Boutique Hotel Lumiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing