We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but special for the children”
Review of Efteling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Efteling Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kaatsheuvel
Certificate of Excellence
Uk
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Expensive but special for the children”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Stayed for 1 night in a 5-bed comfort room. Bunk beds for the children were fine, looked great but beware the lower bunk is quite high off the floor if you have a wriggly or very young child. Children loved all the little touches in the room, and around the hotel. Dinner and breakfast were ok. Overall, expensive but what you would expect for a theme park hotel and nice to have done it. Will definitely be returning to the park but next time we might stay at another local hotel (purely based on price).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenC_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    212
    52
    14
    6
See reviews for
399
77
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

The hotel is easy to find and right near the highway. Still we did not hear any car noise in our room. The parking is right next door to the hotel and the hotel also has a small outdoor playground and an indoor play room next to the restaurant. We were welcomed in a very friendly manner at the reception and check in was done very efficiently. There are indeed only two lifts but as our room was on the second floor we sometimes took the stairs. The hotel is keeping the Efteling theme so it appears a bit outdated. Our 4-bed room was of medium size: there was sufficient room to walk around but no real place to sit except for the beds. The decoration is quaint but as a consequence difficult to clean. Our kids liked the bunkbed but I was slightly worried as the upper bed is quite high and my 5-year old tends to move around a lot. After she fell asleep I therefore moved her to the lower bed which would fit both my kids. Breakfast was ok but nothing special. As with many other parts of the hotel it is completely aimed at kids, so there were pancakes, special buns and lots of sugary spreads on offer. In addition the Efteling characters made a visit to the breakfast room. At check in you have to chose between two shifts for having your breakfast, this ensured that the breakfast room was never too busy. Obviously, the only reason for visiting this hotel is for visiting the Efteling: via a little path you are there in less than 5 minutes by foot, which is ideal.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Budgetglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stay one night in the hotel.
.
Poor atmosphere, slow and small elevator. Not friendly stair
we thought it would be like the LEGOLAND hotel in Windsor but its not.
we are not recommended to stay there the night.
Not polite not profeshionak and not and friendly stuff and even the light drink in the evening expensive buffet are in addition to the high price
Big No to this hotel, its time to give value for money

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EVE248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sneek, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I had a two-day meeting for work in the Efteling Hotel in June and as a result was booked for one night in a standard room in the hotel. Check-in was already done for all of my group, so we could go straight to our rooms.

The room itself was fine. It was large and had four beds, underlining the family concept of the hotel to visit the hotel with your kids. A nice little detail was the small mouse peeking out of the wall between the beds, enhancing the Efteling experience. As this was a theme-hotel, you need to like the decor. It was a little too much for my taste and maybe a little outdated, but I would think my two boys aged 3 and 6 would love it. The room and bathroom were clean and the bed was excellent. The rooms had also free wi-fi, which was fast enough.

We, as a group, made use of the breakfast-buffet and that was okay, but not as extensive as I had expected (for the price per night). Parking was free, which was a bonus.

We had a good meeting and a good stay at the Efteling Hotel. For business I would probably choose another hotel, but I think they will see me back with the family.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntonHomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netanya, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I thought the hotel was a bit run down. Again, I might have been expecting too much but for the price paid I did expect more. The breakfast was very good and allowed for getting to the park early through a special side entry for guests only. Our shower alternated between hot and cold water which I found funny but the ladies in the family were not amused whatsoever!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilpepsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed three nights here, in July, absolutely fabulous, the rooms are wonderful, the whole experience was a trip to remember, the staff in hotel couldn't be faulted, food absolutely great, definately a place to visit, one of the best places I've stayed in.

Room Tip: They have specialist rooms, fairy tale themed, but the regular rooms have interesting thing in them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steenhuffel, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We booked the (w)onderwatersuite and our kids (10/13) enjoyed it.
The room is well decorated, nice jacusi, well insulated from outside (Near freeway).
Only two elevators (long waiting times at morning when all guests are checking out...).
Friendly and helpfull staff.
The hotel restaurand has a limited choise of p[lates and only one, but delicious, vegan plate.
In my opinion... worth the monney.

Room Tip: For a special occasion (kids birthday), pick a theme suite... The (W)onderwatersuite (onderwater...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sb01362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaatsheuvel
NH Waalwijk
#1 of 2 in Waalwijk
693 reviews
Hotel De Kroon
#2 of 3 in Kaatsheuvel
141 reviews
Hotel Waalwijk
#2 of 2 in Waalwijk
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum
Tulip Inn Oosterhout
#2 of 2 in Oosterhout
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Efteling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Efteling Hotel

Property: Efteling Hotel
Address: Horst 31, 5171 RA Kaatsheuvel, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Kaatsheuvel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kaatsheuvel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Efteling Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Efteling Hotel is a child-friendly, fairytale-themed hotel directly bordering the Efteling theme park, where you and your family can enjoy an enchanting stay, including breakfast and unlimited access to Efteling. Located only 1.15 Hour away from Amsterdam, the Efteling is a unique theme park with a fairytale atmosphere, natural surroundings and a wide range of thrilling and enchanting attractions, making it the ideal short-break destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsNL, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Efteling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Efteling Hotel Kaatsheuvel
Golden Tulip Kaatsheuvel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing