We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for Efteling”
Review of Hotel De Kroon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel De Kroon
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kaatsheuvel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Our stay at Hotel de Kroon was simply to provide a base for a visit to Efteling theme park. It advertises as being 5 mins walk away and this is spot on! The room was practical, comfortable, and great for our family of 4.
On a very hot day we were delighted to walk straight into an air conditioned room, with ceiling fan to boot!!
The town is very quiet despite is proximity to Efteling, but there is a small selection of places to eat... Try the Greek, which is fantastic value.
It's worth bearing in mind this is as it advertises, a family hotel, so you will be aware of excited children both in the well equipped play room and early in the day.
A great place to base yourself for a visit to Efteling without breaking the bank!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Emjay3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel de kroon was so amazing. The hotel staff was so nice that we thought we were family. If we ever go to that area again we will stay there. They have amazing rooms. We loved it. And if you have kids...it's really close to Eftilings the really cool amusement park that's super fun for children.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Cooler_nerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This has become an annual tradition for our family: travel to Hotel De Kroon in Kaatsheuvel to stay the night, then visit the Efteling amusement park the next day. We trust De Kroon to offer us the same each year: clean and comfy rooms, a decent breakfast, a playroom for our kid and a decent price to boot.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for a room at the far end of the hallway if you have very young children, or if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed there 2 nights, two families and had a great time. The rooms are clean and renovated, the staff is amazingly friendly, the breakfast is nice and there is a play room which the kids loved, located just near the dining room. They spent there an hour each morning while we had our coffee and prepared our bags and each evening... Plus is it walking distance of five minutes slow walk from De efteling park. There are 2 good restaurants we visited also walking distance from the hotel. Both kids friendly (try the Greek...) and good value. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilit111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel for two nights and it could not have been better! It is a 10 minute walk to/from the Efteling Park, close by there is a grocery store and different restaurants. For those traveling by bus, the bus stop from/to ‘s-Hertogenbosch and Tilburg is again just a 10 minute walk from the hotel.
The room we stayed in was spacious, super clean, and nicely decorated. The hotel has a playroom for kids full of all sorts of toys (even a slider) and a DVD to watch cartoons; the playroom is adjacent the breakfast room so it was perfect for us traveling with a three and half year old boy. Breakfast was really good (croissants, fresh bread, cheese, and ham and all sorts of jams). The two ladies running the hotel were very friendly and helpful. We asked to have a water kettle in the room and that was not a problem; we asked some suggestions for restaurants and they not only suggested one that was super good, but also called directly the restaurant and made a reservation for us. Moreover, in the morning they would enter the breakfast room to explain to each new guest how to use the automatic espresso/cappuccino/tea machine. We truly loved this place and we highly recommend it to anyone, especially families with children.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Friendly, Friendly & Friendly staff, those owners of the hotel, perfect location, best value of money, nearby the Efteling Theme park (7 mns), highly recommended, it is better to contact the hotel directly for booking.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASaadany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This is the 4th time I've stayed at Hotel De Kroon on numerous trips to De Efteling and I've never had an issue.
The two ladies who run the hotel are friendly and welcoming. The hotel has been renovated recently with new bathrooms!
Breakfast is nice, lots of fresh rolls and meats/cheese.

So close to the park, walkable with parking so no need to pay 5euros at the park.

Couldn't recommend enough, lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bond231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaatsheuvel
NH Waalwijk
#1 of 2 in Waalwijk
725 reviews
Efteling Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kaatsheuvel
602 reviews
Hotel Waalwijk
#2 of 2 in Waalwijk
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum
Ibis Tilburg
#4 of 8 in Tilburg
316 reviews
Tulip Inn Oosterhout
#2 of 2 in Oosterhout
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Kroon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Kroon

Address: Gasthuisstraat 140, 5171 GJ Kaatsheuvel, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Kaatsheuvel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kaatsheuvel
Price Range: £74 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Kroon 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel De Kroon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing