We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Taste is ok!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taste!

Taste!
Reserve with
Taste! is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 228 Restaurants in Tilburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$82
Cuisines: Contemporary, Diner, French, Dutch, European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The love of food and drink is obvious and you can taste it! Dine at Taste! For the ultimate taste sensation. The open kitchen is the source of exquisite, exceptional delicacies. Taste! Believes it is in your best interest for dinner to be 'sustainable'. This means that - as often as possible - the kitchen crew use products that were organically grown and/or reliably traded. According to their philosophy, guests should enjoy pure, honest meals. Mouth watering? Why not join us and Taste it! The experience as a whole and the food in particular are of paramount importance when dining out. Taste! Understands how important those two elements are for a successful night out. Alongside the most delectable dishes, the trendy decor contributes to the right atmosphere.
the Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Taste is ok!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Very nice dishes, well presented, variable tastes and nice wine arrangements. Although in a basement nice ambience. It's a bit more expensive than other surrounding restaurants that generally charge around €25 for a simple course without drinks.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank inberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    36
    3
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tasty and well presented..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Business meals for two nights. Prompt service. Tasty appetisers. Excellent visual presentation and tasty food.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“SLOW!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

I think Taste! is overly pretentious! I think they assume that they're combinations are unique, but I find their dish combinations often ill-advised. Also, they are way too SLOW! Why do they think that everyone who wants to spend more money as to spend an enormous amount of time there? Why is that the predominant stamp here? Even the culinary experts won't think it's reasonable to spend 4 4-1/2 hours on a 3 course menu! I think that the waiters should be better trained, and so should be the kitchen staff!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank otilia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
487 reviews
299 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,154 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Slow Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Taste is the restaurant in the Mercure Hotel and I have already included comments in my review of the Hotel.

The food served in the restaurant is of a very high quality and I am not surprised it wins awards and has a very good reputation. There is a good wine list selection and some decent beers on tap. Furthermore, it is not too expensive given the standard.

My criticism of Taste is the speed of service as it assumes that you want to spend the whole evening savouring the restaurant experience ( although it is still positively speedy compared to the Bonheur ! ). As a result, instead I often eat in the Hotel Bar ( especially if I am on my own ), which has a more basic menu but the food is still to a good standard, less expensive and served promptly by friendly staff

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fatbear2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

I've been lucky enough to eat here a few times over the last few years and it astounds me every time. The hotel in which it's in may make you wonder whether the restaurant is good but venture downstairs and you will be delighted.
A really cool, laid back atmosphere with amazingly creative chefs who serve up creative (but unpretentious) fine dining at affordable prices.
The food is well sourced and of great quality and is served beautifully.
Staff are attentive and can advise you really well. If you're not sure what something will look like ask the chef as he has photos of dishes on his phone.
This place is always the highlight of a trip to Tilburg and I have never eaten better locally

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taste! also viewed

Tilburg, North Brabant Province
Tilburg, North Brabant Province
 
Tilburg, North Brabant Province
Tilburg, North Brabant Province
 
Tilburg, North Brabant Province
Tilburg, North Brabant Province
 

Been to Taste!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing