We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a few faux pas...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tilburg
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quite a few faux pas...”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My husband and I stayed during the busy Roadburn festival so we expected things to be a bit hectic at this hotel, but my oh my! The first room we were given had some personal items left on the bed, so we lugged all our suitcases back to reception to tell them and they insisted that the maid must have just left some things behind. They offered us a free drink. When we went back up to the room we discovered that there was also a suitcase in the room and it was most definitely already occupied. They moved us to another room which was set up in a twin bed arrangement. Not great for a couple but they were not very apologetic. We felt embarassed that we had to ask them to move us to a room with a double bed and that is when they finally upgraded us to an un-renovated suite. The suite itself was large but it was extremely outdated. Light bulbs did not work in a few lamps and there was no overhead light so the room was quite dark. On the plus side the hotel is centrally located close to the festival. Next time we go to Roadburn we will certainly look for other places to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room, there is a MASSIVE difference!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redhaute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AV622, Front Office Manager at Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Tilburg Centrum. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We are sorry to hear that we weren’t able to meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies. I would like to speak to you in person about your experience during your stay in our hotel. Would you be so kind to send me an e-mail with your contact details. You can send this to mwoudenberg@mercure-tilburg.nl

We appreciate your feedback and it is our hope that we may welcome you again in the near future to provide a better service for you.

Kind regards,

Marieke Woudenberg
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    247
    88
    29
    13
See reviews for
61
158
54
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
bieteut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I've stayed here on numerous occasions and by now I've accepted that it's mostly down to luck whether the stay will be pleasant (or even luxurious), or not. It should be pointed out that during a festival weekend such as this one, the hotel charges well over twice the normal rate for the type of standard double room, even though quality clearly varies, simply because demand far exceeds supply.

At least one room (107) is overdue for some upkeep: mattress was saggy, there was damage to the outside of the bathroom door (looked like someone had kicked it), and there was black gunk around the edge of the tub.

Of course there is also the matter of the room being on the first floor, right in front of the lift and stairs, with the windows facing the square & right at the corner of the always raucous bar/restaurant street. Closing the windows lowered some of the noise but the room quickly became stuffy.

Also, certain breakfast items were not properly refrigerated, and on one morning the whites of the sunny side up eggs were not cooked.

As always, employees were very friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter. Higher floors have a bit less street noise. Beware that during some m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bieteut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AV622, Receptionist at Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Mr./Mrs.,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about your stay at our hotel. With your feedback we can modify the quality to offer the best possible service.

We are very sorry that we haven’t been able to meet your needs during your last stay. It’s good that you inform us about the things you weren’t satisfied with. The comments on furniture an bathroom supplies that were insufficient, we will communicate these flaws to our Housekeeping Team and the Technical Team so fix it and prevent these things in the future.

When you experience noise from outside or any other lack regarding the room, please feel free to contact our hotel reception. The staff can always check if there is any other room available for you at the time. We have 24 hour reception, so even after midnight there is always somebody available to help you with anything.

Please accept our humble apologies regarding the breakfast items that weren’t properly refrigerated. I will personally contact the breakfast chef to inform her about this matter, so we can prevent this from happening again.

Thank you once again for you honest opinion and we hope to welcome you again so that we can be of better service to you!

Kind regards,

Judith Kolen
Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldenzaal, Overijssel, Netherlands
Level Contributor
271 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Visited this place several times already. Its a nice hotel centrally located in the heart of Tilburg. Staff is very friendly and the rooms are clean. I like the Priviledge rooms a lot! The light switches can be a bit confusing though. The in room coffee machine is also a really odd one that doesn't work too well. The older standard rooms are a little bit outdated, but still in good shape. Dislike having to shower in the bath tub.

The welcome drink and snack tower which are given for free to regular customers are an awesome enjoyment. Also the sauna which is right below the hotel and included for Priviledge Room guests is simply amazing for a hotel sauna. Several saunas to choose from, a pool, whirlpool, all in a relaxed clean quiet environment.

The wifi in the hotel is fair. Don't expect too much of it, but it works for the basic stuff.

Haven't tried breakfast here yet as I find it too expensive with having all the alternatives right out of your doorstep.

Will come back for sure!

Room Tip: Get a priviledge room. Especially if you fancy saunas. Its worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NL_Koen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AV622, Receptionist at Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Mr. Koen,

How nice to hear that you have had such a good stay in our hotel! We want to thank you for sharing your honest opinion via Tripadvisor.com. We very much appreciate it.

We hope that we may welcome you again in the near future! And before you decide not to have breakfast, feel free to take a look first, at our large buffet with a diversity of daily fresh products! We wouldn’t want you to miss out on something you haven’t seen before.

See you next time!

Kind regards,

Judith Kolen
Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The hotel was under renovation but the room was still clean and had most amenities you would associate with Holiday Inn. The only objection I had was the powerful odor left from chemicals used to clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davonna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AV622, Receptionist at Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Mr. /Mrs. Davonna,

Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate your stay in our hotel! It’s important for us to know what the experience is of our guests, to make sure we can modify the service to make our guests happy!

We are glad to hear that you have had a nice stay. Thank you for sharing the comment about the chemical odor after cleaning, we will talk to our housekeeping staff about this.

Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Kind regards,

Judith Kolen
Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Hotel is in a good, central location to be in the middle of activity in Tilburg. Downside is that they party hard in Tilburg and the hotel is right in the middle of the bar scene. Took other TA suggestions to request a room on the back of the hotel for quiet and glad we did. Although there is a nasty view of the parking garage, other people in our party were up all night. The hotel is clean, rooms in the newer part of the hotel are nicer than the old. Took us a few minutes to figure out the light switches as you must use your room key to activate them. Parking garage is adjacent to the hotel with hotel parking on floor 7 & 8 with direct connection into the hotel. Three cars were broken into during our stay so leave no valuables outside! I had booked and prepaid for 4 nights through AMEX and upon checkout hotel tried to charge me additional as the AMEX rate wasn't rack rate. Showed my confirm from AMEX and they did remove charge but glad I had the confirm with me. Free wi-fi with a code from the front desk. Overall good experience.

Room Tip: Definitely in the back for sleep, front for view of the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl41643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AV622, Receptionist at Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Mr./ Mrs.,

I want to thank you for sharing your honest opinion via Tripadvisor.com. With the help of your remarks we can modify the quality of the service to our guests. So your opinion is very important to us.
We are happy to hear that you have experienced a nice stay at our hotel. It’s good to hear that we were able to meet almost all of your expectations.

Unfortunately there were some things that you were less satisfied with, such as the noise from outside and the view at the parking garage. It is indeed so that the rooms at the back of the hotel experience less noise from outside, because they face the parking garage. I am happy to hear that this was a better solution for you regarding the noise.

The parking garage which you have parked your car in is, not owned by the hotel. There is just a corporation with this garage so that we can offer our guests a space to park their cars for a discounted price. Unfortunately we do have control over what’s happening in this garage 24/7. We try our best to inform our guests to park at the 7th and 8th floor, which is reserved for our hotel guests. After 9 PM a extra fence is closed and therefore the cars of the guests are extra secured. Also on these floors the garage is equipped with security cameras.

We are sorry that there has been some misunderstanding about the payment of your bill. I am glad to hear that the problem has been solved. But our sincere apologies for this troubles.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you again as a guest in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Judith Kolen
Receptioniste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Love the location of this hotel, it's right in the heart of Tilburg...close to shops, bars etc.
Staff are very friendly and attentive.
Older rooms are a bit dated but very clean, spacious and well equipped!
WoulD highly recommend this hotel having stayed there many times!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AV622, Front Office Manager at Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Mister/ Misses,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Tilburg Centrum. Thank you for sharing your experiences with us!

We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

With kind regards,
Marieke Woudenberg
Assistant Front Ofiice manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tilburg
0.9 mi away
Bastion Hotel Tilburg
Bastion Hotel Tilburg
#3 of 8 in Tilburg
210 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ibis Tilburg
Ibis Tilburg
#4 of 8 in Tilburg
287 reviews
2.4 mi away
Auberge Du Bonheur
Auberge Du Bonheur
#2 of 8 in Tilburg
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
NH Waalwijk
NH Waalwijk
#1 of 2 in Waalwijk
661 reviews
6.2 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Gilze-Tilburg
5.1 mi away
Auberge De Moerse Hoeve
Auberge De Moerse Hoeve
#5 of 8 in Tilburg
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum

Property: Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum
Address: Heuvelpoort 300, 5038 DT Tilburg, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Tilburg > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tilburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum is the perfect place to enjoy your trip. The hotel is ideally situated in the city center, a stone's throw from the shops, the town's nightlife and the central train station, close to the Efteling and Beekse Bergen theme parks. There is also plenty to enjoy in the hotel itself, which will make you feel perfectly at home. For example, why not dine at Taste!, Our Gault et Millau-standard restaurant, enjoy a high tea in the Puur Mercure brasserie or unwind in our CitySauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing