We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a quiet night” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tilburg
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not a quiet night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Checked in earlier with colleagues - based here until Thursday night.
Big queue at reception. Older style hotel with some tired fittings. No aircon in the room so need window open.,unfortunately Dutch team won their World Cup game so after average meal (tiny portions) everyone else is partying which I can hear way too loud. Don't expect a good nights sleep.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AV622, Assistent Front Office Manager at Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Sir, Madam,

We mostly appreciate your comments about your stay. We are happy with every kind of feedback, so that we can optimize our quality and service. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations.

We are sorry to read that there was a queue at the reception, we always try to avoid that by working fast and efficient.

Did you contact reception with your complaint? Otherwise we could switch your room if there was availability.
Our standard rooms, unfortunately, do not have air conditioning, but we also have our luxury Privilege rooms. Those rooms have air conditioning and some of them are on the parking side, which means that they are very quiet.

We were pleased that our Dutch team did win the World Cup match as you can imagine this was a reason to party for the Dutch people. This may have caused some extra noise outside. As a city centre hotel it is possible that you, as our guest, experience discomfort from this. Unfortunately this is not always in our hands.

It is our wish to welcome you as our guest in the future.

Kind regards,
Marieke Woudenberg

Assistant Front office Manager
Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    232
    84
    29
    12
See reviews for
53
149
53
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Everything you need is located within a few steps of the hotel. There are lots of places to eat as well as shops of all types and even several churches nearby. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff is friendly. The route from the car park to the reception desk is a little odd, but other than that no complaints. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for a "privilege" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank virgo24j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AV622, Receptioniste at Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Sir, Madam,
Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate your stay in our hotel! At Mercure we strive for the best quality and service for every guest. Your positive feedback helps us with that!

We are more than happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you experienced our staff as friendly. We are also glad that you liked the location.

We will ask our duty manager to check if the route from the parking to the reception desk is marked clearly. Thank you for informing us!

We are pleased to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mignon van Roessel
Receptioniste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fulwood
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed in Tilburg for three days and this hotel is the ideal location with shops to the left and bars to the right. We left the car in the car park and didn't use it until we departed. Staff were very friendly and professional, no exceptions.

Room Tip: Tilburg is lively so if you won't sleep because of bar noise then ask for a room down the side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryFulwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AV622, Assistent Front Office Manager at Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback! We will share this with our staff and we are sure this will stimulate them to give every guest the same experience as you had at Mercure Tilburg!

We are looking forward to welcome you again as our guest in the future!

Kind regards,

Marieke Woudenberg

Assistent Front Office Manager
Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We arrived here after trying to find a carpark for a while and was warmly greeted. Then we went up to our room and thought well ok its just to sleep in. Mmm sleep yeah right! Little did we know that this little town never sleeps~!... The restaurants and bars , cafes all look inviting when you first arrive and look around but 11 pm the volume goes up and the young ones arrive! They don't seem to stop till 5 or 6 am.
The car we had hired would not fit up into their car park building cause it was too wide... and parking anywhere around the city is very hard to find.
Our kids would of loved staying here as they are in their 20s... . we found the prices were expensive for drinks and eating in this hotel as well. Beds were ok and rooms clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smilernz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AV622, Receptioniste at Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Tilburg Centrum.
At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We are sorry to hear that we weren’t able to meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies.
Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

If you have any questions you can contact our hotel reception 24 hours a day and our staff will be more than happy to help you.

We appreciate your feedback and it is our hope that we may welcome you again in the near future to provide a better service for you.

Sincerely,

Elleke Groenewoud
Receptioniste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

At the time of writing, the Mercure is rated #1 in Tilburg. This says more about the city than it does about the hotel. There was no luxury on offer, in either the city or the hotel, and the room was dated but clean. I had a nice view to the square and the cathedral even though there isn't really that much to see. The reception staff were kind and professional, and they did their best to make my stay as pleasant as possible even though you probably wish you were somewhere else. For any longer period of time I would probably stay in a nicer city than Tilburg and commute. But the Mercure will do for a few nights.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seminartraveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AV622, Receptionist at Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Tilburg Centrum. We appreciate that you share all of you experience with us. We are sorry to hear that we could not meet your expectations entirely.

We are more than happy to read that you experienced our staff as kind and professional. We will communicate this with our staff and they will be more than happy to hear that you have experienced it this way.

Please let us inform you that we have different room types in our hotel. Regarding your definition we think you stayed in a standard room. We also have air conditioned privilege rooms in the hotel. For an extra fee of €25,- you can enjoy your stay in this room. You get a lot of extra’s, like coffee and thee facility’s in the room, a king size bed, magazines, a walk in rain shower, free sauna access and amenities. Those rooms are loved by business guests who are staying for a longer period.

We would like to thank you for your honest opinion and we would be more than happy to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mignon van Roessel
Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Since it is now 3.30am and I am unable to sleep in this dreadful room, It seems the best time to write this. DO NOT STAY at this hotel unless you are a complete hedonist who only wishes to use it as a place to vomit or use the toilet. There is no aircon and the room is hot enough to melt the over priced mini bar chocolate in May. There is no way you could sleep in this room with the window open because of the noise from the clubs and streets. If you are in a group, on arrival they will not be ready with your keys, and you will then find the inadequate and slow one lift which smells of sewage is too full so you will probably have to hump your case up the equally smelly staircase. The place is generally shabby and security is poor with open access to all floors. Mercure, you have some nice hotels, but this is not one of them and you should be ashamed of yourselves.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel away from the centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berridgesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AV622, Asssitent Front Office Manager at Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate your stay at Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum.
With the help of your feedback we can modify the quality of our service.

We are very sorry to hear that we weren’t able to meet your needs regarding your stay. When you experience something similar like this in the future, please do not hesitate to contact our hotel reception. Our staff will be more than happy to provide you with a different room when we have any available.

Furthermore we have more luxurious rooms available for only €25,00 extra to the rate of a standard room. Some of these privilege rooms are situated at the other side of the hotel and have a walk-in shower, a king size bed, a bathrobe, slippers, coffee and tea facilities in the room, a newspaper in the morning and free access to the CitySauna.

Next to this we very much apologize for not being ready to check you in at you’re arrival. This is obviously not how we want to operate. We will talk to our staff about this matter so that we can prevent this from happening in the future.

If you have any further suggestions or remarks please do not hesitate to contact the Assistant Front-Office Manager, Miss Marieke Woudenberg at mwoudenberg@mercure-tilburg.nl.

Once again our sincerest apologies. Hopefully we will be able to meet you again and be of better service to you.

Kind regards,

Marieke Woudenberg
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tilburg
0.9 mi away
Bastion Hotel Tilburg
Bastion Hotel Tilburg
#2 of 8 in Tilburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ibis Tilburg
Ibis Tilburg
#4 of 8 in Tilburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
2.4 mi away
Auberge Du Bonheur
Auberge Du Bonheur
#3 of 8 in Tilburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Gilze-Tilburg
7.7 mi away
NH Waalwijk
NH Waalwijk
#1 of 2 in Waalwijk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
5.1 mi away
Auberge De Moerse Hoeve
Auberge De Moerse Hoeve
#5 of 8 in Tilburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum

Property: Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum
Address: Heuvelpoort 300, 5038 DT Tilburg, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Tilburg > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tilburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum is the perfect place to enjoy your trip. The hotel is ideally situated in the city center, a stone's throw from the shops, the town's nightlife and the central train station, close to the Efteling and Beekse Bergen theme parks. There is also plenty to enjoy in the hotel itself, which will make you feel perfectly at home. For example, why not dine at Taste!, Our Gault et Millau-standard restaurant, enjoy a high tea in the Puur Mercure brasserie or unwind in our CitySauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing