We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location to explore the city!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amrath Hotel Alkmaar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amrath Hotel Alkmaar
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Alkmaar
Waalwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect location to explore the city!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I stayed there in March 2014 for one night. I've picked up the hotel because of its location and indeed it was perfect! Just the right starting point for an exploration tour of the old city centre. I have asked for a room with waterfront view and I didn't regret. It wasn't noisy at all, although just underneath your balcony there's a relatively busy street. The moment you close the window and you don't hear anything. The room was of a decent size. Breakfast buffet was also good and there was a sufficient variety. Staff was very polite and helpful. The hotel has a private parking, too bad you can't book a place in advance. If it's not that busy they will let you leave the car there even after check-out.
What I didn't like about the hotel - although at first sight the room looked clean and maintained, they hadn't dusted the furniture for days and the air was stale... Besides, there was black mold in the bathroom... And these things are unacceptable for a hotel pretending to have 4 stars, aren't they...
Will I stay again? - Yes, I will, because of its good location and the little choice of hotels within a walk to the city centre AND with a parking..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    134
    70
    9
    2
See reviews for
28
124
14
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

The hotel was excellent in arranging check in, and the facilities provided were very good. Breakfast was expensive and limited in range. A good stay and good rail links with Amsterdam and other Dutch cities.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank small_fish_big_ocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Perfectly adequate, a short walk from the railway station. Excellent draft beer form Limbourg on-tap; but no evening meals. The old town centre not very far away (5 mins.) but limited choice there. Maybe there are more places open in the summer and when it isn't raining. Found nice Chinese/Indonesian on the way to the station (3 mins.). Hotel was clean, bed comfortable (not very nice pillows) and OK breakfasts.

Room Tip: My room ovelooked the street, but I noticed no noise. Maybe different with the window open in summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NSTP81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

I have been several times to the Amrath for work this year and always try to have a room in this hotel. It isn't a luxurious hotel and you should expect anything special but you do always have the important basic things: friendly and helpful staff at the reception, clean and nice rooms, good and basic breakfast and a greeat location near the park (in front), 8 minutes walk from the station and a couple of minutes from the centre of Alkmaar which you reach by making a nice walk along the canal which feels more like a like through the city.
Checking in and out is very fast and as I said before, don't expect an amazing hotel but you also don't need to expect negative suprises.
I only once didn't have a room in this hotel in Alkmaar and had to go to a different hotel, which became my one less good visit to Alkmaar.

Room Tip: The hotel doesn't offer lunch or dinner but offers help in ordering delivery of food at the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icegini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

I have stayed at the Amrath several times before when visiting a supplier in Alkmaar and always had a good stay. However this last visit will certainly be my last, I judge hotels on firstly location, comfort and customer service the latter point unfortunately is where the Amrath has disappointed me.

When I arrived I was told that there was no parking spaces available and I would need to park elsewhere.
I parked up in the hotel car park while I checked in to cut a long story short the hotel manager was unhelpful, obnoxious, abrupt and showed no customer service at all. I will not use this hotel again and will ensure my employer blocks this hotel for all employees.
With so much choice and online availability I cannot understand how these hotels think they can't treat there customers in such a way and expect people to return and hand over there money.

Additionally I think the Amrath really does need a make over the rooms are looking very tired and dated, good luck but you haven't impressed this customer.

Room Tip: Choose a different Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil_Spencer_uk75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
141 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Probably only a 3 star but a perfectly acceptable choice. Convenient location only 5 minutes walk from all of the attractions. Comfortable rooms and adequate breakfast buffet. Friendly and helpful staff. Also has on-site car parking facilities which is an added bonus in Alkmaar.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in the amrath several times while on business in holland and always had a great stay . Friendly service , good breakfast (no food in evenings ) nice clean rooms , good wifi . Located 5 minutes from train station and 5 minutes from alkmaar city centre, ideal.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrycharleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alkmaar
1.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Alkmaar
Golden Tulip Alkmaar
#2 of 5 in Alkmaar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Alkmaar
Grand Hotel Alkmaar
#3 of 5 in Alkmaar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Familie hotel Alkmaar
Familie hotel Alkmaar
#5 of 5 in Alkmaar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Stad en Land
Hotel Stad en Land
#4 of 5 in Alkmaar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
8.4 mi away
NH Heemskerk Marquette
NH Heemskerk Marquette
#1 of 1 in Heemskerk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.5 mi away
MIJ Hotel & Lounge
MIJ Hotel & Lounge
#2 of 9 in Alkmaar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amrath Hotel Alkmaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amrath Hotel Alkmaar

Property: Amrath Hotel Alkmaar
Address: Geestersingel 15, 1815 GA Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Alkmaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Alkmaar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amrath Hotel Alkmaar 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for an hospitable, charming yet modern hotel in the centre of Alkmaar, in which to stay the night during either a business or pleasure trip? If so, then the most comfortable option is the Amrath Hotel Alkmaar! Built in 2005, this new hotel has 84 deluxe rooms, 5 junior suites and 1 suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de and Ebookers so you can book your Amrath Hotel Alkmaar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alkmaar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing