We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for us” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miauw Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Miauw Suites
Ranked #106 of 225 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not for us”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

Miauw Suites looked great on the internet but the reality is completely different. This is not actually a hotel as it has no facilities outside of the rooms whatsoever. Having lugged our bags up the steep stairs to the first floor (no elevator) we arrived in the White Room. The temperature was around 90 degrees inside (despite being 70 outside) and there is no air conditioning. We were on our honeymoon and wanted to experience a boutique hotel but this was appalling in every way. We checked out straight away and found alternative accommodation close by that was very good. Miauw Suites has declined to refund any of our costs for the 2 night stay. I understand that we arrived at 3pm on the first day and that it would be unlikely that the room could be sold again but feel that the second night should have been refunded.

Room Tip: Somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    16
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
2
33
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

The TRIPADVISOR reviews were so glowing that I chose Miauw Suites over many other possibilities. Supposedly my husband and I had been upgraded from a room to a suite, but the space didn't seem to be a suite by what I consider a suite. The bed was very comfortable; the room was clean; the young woman Maya who showed us to our room was very helpful and nice; the building was on a canal. But the room/suite was probably not worth the price we paid. Given that there is no lobby or concierge service, we walked a block to the Hotel Pulitzer and used their concierge services. They were very helpful in arranging a day tour to Rotterdam, Madurodam, Delft, a flower market, etc. They also got us taxis once or twice.

Several days after we returned home, I read an article in the New York Times about people getting paid $5 to write positive reviews about hotels or restaurants. I was sad to read that the authenticity of some of the TRIPADVISOR reviews might be compromised.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneSanford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

I rarely write travel reviews but with our stay at Miauw, I just have to.

First off, it's not your typical hotel but that's the reason why we chose this. Secondly, location is fantastic. Third, the rooms are spotless, greatly designed and furnished and well-maintained. Like what others have said, dreamy and airy, bathe in white and subtle colors, with fresh flowers during our entire stay.

We stayed for 4 nights. Two nights at the White Room, 2 nights at the White Suite. The suite is like having your own apartment in AMS, complete with a functioning kitchen, dining and living area, and a serapate bedroom. The bathroom is decent and functional, can't really complain much about it.

Analik, the owner, is a great host!

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DaimosLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

Miauw Suites was a highlight of my stay. I love design hotels and this one fit the bill, but was even more intimate, because it's almost like staying in your hip, stylish friend's spare room versus a veritable hotel. The room was a modern design lover's dream: charcoal walls, crisp white bedding that's just as comfortable as a Westin bed, an Apple computer in the room, fresh flowers and a view that is postcard-perfect. I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Little_e74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacko_jackson
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

We stayed 4 nights in the "White Suite." Analik (owner/designer/manager) was really helpful and kindly greeted us to the suite immediately upon arriving. It's definitely a narrow winding staircase up to the 3rd floor but it was expected and you get used to it. Very cool building and rooms are fairly isolated. It's in an amazing area with tons of great shopping (i.e., really really expensive shopping for most part) and sightseeing and a big grocery store around the corner to stock up the well-equipped kitchen if necessary. It's basically like renting your own beautiful apartment in Amsterdam. The area is actually quite large with a separate bedroom area and an open living room/kitchen. Really comfortable sectional couch and nice dining table. I'd say it's at least 700 square feet or so but didn't measure it. Incredibly well-designed with postcard beautiful canal view, and the apple computer in the room was highly useful. We kept windows open most of the time just because the view and air was so nice. You even have a view of Westerkerk and can hear the bell how can it get any better. Street can be a little noisy during the day but it's in the "Nine Streets" area so should be expected. Bathroom is only kinda interesting area because the shower, toilet, and sink are all in the same area, but this is pretty common from my experience in Europe and it's not really problematic because there is a squeegie that soaks up and pushes the water away into the drain. The room and bathroom were always very clean. Someone comes in and replenishes everything and cleans up once a day and you don't even see them so it's like a regular hotel in that respect. Any questions we had I'd just e-mail Analik or google it on the computer and she'd get back to us as soon as she could. There are a ton of amazing restaurants around the area. We at at Bussia and were really impressed. There is a really nice yogurt shop downstairs too for daytime snack. We can't speak for any of the other suites (although they looked just as cool) but overall I could type pages and pages about how great the stay was for us. Best advice I can give is pass up on a regular expensive hotel and stay at Miauw you won't regret it. Excellent value for what you get and the location. I researched tons of hotels for the same price in Amsterdam and Miauw blows them away. Can't wait to go back what a great place.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacko_jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

Rooms were clean and beautifully presented. Owner was friendly and had plenty of advice on what to see and where to go. The location was perfect for a break in Amsterdam. I will be recomending teh suites to all of my friends!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambling_Em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

I have been to Amsterdam numerous times over the past 6 years, and the western canal belt / night streets area is my favorite area of the city. Beautiful canals, nice boutiques, cafes, higher quality restaurants, etc. Miauw Suites is a unique property with 4 rooms of different design. I stayed 2 nights in the souterrain suite, and 1 night in the white room.

The souterrain suite is a good choice if you want your own kitchen, and separate living space. The white room, despite being smaller, was somehow even more charming with the high windows and canal view. You get a little more street noise in the white room, but I am sensitive to noise, and it did not bother me. I slept great in both, and I would stay in either room again.

If you want to feel like you have your own apartment in what I consider to be the best area of the city for walking along the canals, this is a great option. In this area of the city I have also stayed in hotel ambassade, and hotel estherea. My personal preference is Miauw out of those three choices, but Ambassade is also a good property. Miauw is a good choice for couples who want some privacy and do not need a concierge service.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank espion01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#22 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#23 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
't Hotel
't Hotel
#144 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
No photo provided
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal Boutique Apartments
Canal Boutique Apartments
#29 of 225 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miauw Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miauw Suites

Property: Miauw Suites
Address: Hartenstraat 34, 1016 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 225 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miauw Suites Amsterdam is an evolving b&b boutique hotel, presented through two beautiful buildings in Amsterdam Centre. Conveniently situated in the "9 straatjes", a Soho-like area of 9 small streets housing quirky restaurants and shops. Directly between the charming Amsterdam canals. Quickly becoming the most wanted shopping district in Amsterdam. Miauw Suites has three suites located on the 2nd floor, 1st floor and the Souterrain. The Green Suite and the Souterrain Suite have kitchens and separate bedrooms. The Blue Suite is the most classical looking suite with an en-suite bathroom. For more info: Green Suite, Souterrain Suite, Blue Suite. In some cases we also have a standard room available: Black Room. To make a reservation: Please click here to fill in our contact form to make a reservation or request info. Miauw Green Suite This Second floor suite is with it's 60m2 our most spacious apartment with the most excellent view on King's Canal. The bedroom includes a king-size bed with a small office desk and a 17 inch iMac. It has a large separate living room with lounge area that allows for a 3 meter long sofa and a fully equipped kitchen. Ideal to relax, work or have meetings at the kitchen table. The bathroom comes with a rain-shower, towels, bathrobes and natural bath products. The living room working desk features an17 inch iMac computer with Television and free wifi. Cleaning service daily. Miauw Green Suite pricing (Second Floor): Rack Rate 2014 = EUR 245,00 per night (incl. 6% VAT & 5,5% Tourist Tax) - 2 Nights minimum stay - Due to availability Miauw Souterrain Suite Our Souterrain Suite is approx. 50M2 and gives you the feeling of having your own apartment with direct access to the Amsterdam Canal's. Just a few steps down from ground level, you land on a charming patio to enter the Souterrain Suite.. It has a large separate living room with lounge area and a B&O Television that allows for a 3 meter long sofa and a fully equipped kitchen. Ideal to relax, work or have meetings at the kitchen table. The bedroom includes a king-size bed and a small office desk with a 15 inch iMac/Television and free wifi. The bathroom comes with a rain-shower, towels, bathrobes and natural bath products. Cleaning service daily. Miauw Souterrain Suite pricing (Lower Floor): Rack Rate 2014 = EUR 195,00 per night (incl. 6% VAT & 5,5% Tourist Tax) - 2 Nights minimum stay - Due to availability Miauw Blue Suite Our smallest suite is approx. 32 M2 and has all of the features of an Amsterdam Canal House. It's wooden walls, classical ceiling and picture perfect view on the King's Canal makes it our most charming suite available. Situated on the first floor it includes a king-size bed, a bathroom, cozy living room and a working desk. The bathroom comes with a rain-shower, towels, bathrobes and natural bath products. The working desk includes an 15 inch iMac computer with Television and free wifi. Cleaning service daily. No kitchen included, but the Blue Suite comes with a small Fridge with coffee, tea and a water cooker. Miauw Blue Suite pricing (First Floor): Rack Rate 2014 = EUR 165,00 per night (incl. 6% VAT & 5,5% Tourist Tax) - 2 Nights minimum stay - Due to availability Miauw Black Room (*On request only) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Miauw Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miauw Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing