We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but even better service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Assaggi

Assaggi
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Assaggi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,096 of 3,767 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: US$37 - US$59
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Jordaan
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good food but even better service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We went here with a friend who lives in the Jordaan. I can say the food was great. The entertainment was pretty awesome in terms of people watching. And my husband left his smartphone on our table outside and guess what? the waiter actually kept it overnight for him. We even called the owner really late and night to see if someone had found the phone and he was super helpful. I was really impressed with this place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sile625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    92
    37
    7
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“So good we came back two days later....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Our group really enjoyed both trips to this authentic restaurant, having primo and either pasta/ risotto or a secondi each time. The food very tasty and cooked perfectly, especially the sea bass. The service was very convivial, although on the second night I think the World Cup final slowed things down.
We came to this restaurant on the promise of a discount from the owner, as we were staying in his apartment, but I don't think Assaggi is any more expensive than any other restaurant along this street and as good as any Italian in Italy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JandPBirmingham_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very Average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We chose this place by default (our first two choices were closed and one of our party would only eat at Italian restaurants), and were hoping for a good meal based on the four star rating. The service was excellent and our waiter was very friendly, but that was the most enjoyable part of the meal. My children ordered the ravioli of the day, which appeared fresh and was quite good, but otherwise the food was uninspiring. One of our party ordered the "Spider-Man" pizza, described as cheese and sausage, but which came with cut up hot dogs on it (and this is not a typical occurrence in Europe-I live here). I ordered tomato soup and a shrimp appetizer. The soup was bland and the shrimp (described as grilled), arrived cold, and were mealy and with a strong fishy smell, as though they had been prepared ahead of time rather than freshly made to order. The other meals in our party were similarly average. I would not rate this as a four star dining experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RugbyGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
314 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Pleasant surpise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This place gets mixed reviews.
Its genuine italian, with real italians
You need a booking.
we both had Papardelle with wild boar, with a pear and cheese salad and a bottle of Chianti.
Its reasonably expensive, but both the food and the service were good.
Its tucked away, in a side street in the Jordan area, if italian is a must, you will enjoy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarryJ_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Too expensive”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I found the quality of the food not always matching with the prices listed on the menu, maybe our expectations were too high. The prices are just too expensive the Italian staff is very nice except from one of them...
Too poshy for me, but the location in the middle of the Jordaan with view on the Westertoren is beautiful!!

Helpful?
Thank Alessio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Assaggi also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Assaggi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing