We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy flat in lovely neighbourhood”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
susanR672...
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy flat in lovely neighbourhood”
Reviewed 9 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We had a comfortable stay in this first floor apartment in a lovely old house just outside the city centre. The neighbourhood is quiet, close to trams and has lots of shops and restaurants in walking distance. The flat itself was warm and had everything we needed. Iwan and Miriam were easy to contact, and Iwan gave us a warm welcome when we arrived. We really appreciated the drinks and food you provided for us - thank you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GautamiG3
1 review
“Awesome Home”
Reviewed 21 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

I had a fantastic time at Myriam’s house . The place is very close to all the right spots the Vondel Park the Museums , the tram station etc !! Very good eating joints just round the corner and good supermarket near by.

Myriam was very helpful and sweet !! She was so thoughtful that post my Marathon run she came with balloons to congratulate me ! That was really touching .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly J
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Fantastic hostess/host!”
Reviewed 16 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

My husband and I stayed a week at the Urban Tulip in late September. We give it our highest recommendation! The apartment had a charming decor,excellent WiFi, a comfortable bed and was sparkling clean. The location was perfect. We are in our early 70s/late 60s but we were able to walk to Vondel Park, the Museum area, and the Anne Frank House. It is true that the stairs were narrower than we expected. Mirjam was so gracious to carry our luggage up for us and we had no problems navigating them without our baggage. Mirjam went above and beyond with her kindnesses in every area. She even did our laundry for us which was extremely helpful! We would gladly visit this gracious home again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TONGSIO
1 review
“Comfortable and cosy”
Reviewed 15 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The apartment is extremely comfortable, cosy and well-equipped - suitable for couples looking for a great location! We could walk to all major attractions, and had many eating options around the area despite arriving at night (9 pm). Mirjam and Iwan were helpful and keen to share their frequented areas in the neighbourhood (great brunch location!). Thanks again for the great stay!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vindewey
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect location for walking about Amsterdam in any direction and still a cozy, safe neighborhood feeling.”
Reviewed 14 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We could not have been more please than our stay here in Amsterdam. Mirjam anticipated everything we needed to know about the apartment and made us comfortable right away. The apartment itself was just right and a wonderful setting. We were comfortable with the furnishings (bed was great and two comfortable chairs for evening) and able to make use of the outfitted kitchenette. Big windows let in plenty of light. The bakery at the top of the street made wonderful breakfast started. Steps to the canal provided Amsterdam central at our doorstep but once you stepped off the main street it was amazingly quiet! We enjoyed observing the local families go about their business and got a feel of what daily life might be like. The local vendors were friendly and made us feel welcome. We had no concerns for safety going out again in the evening to enjoy the night life on foot. We would definitely look to stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna D
New York
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wish I Booked Elsewhere”
Reviewed 28 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

First of all, the location is decent, and the bed is comfortable. Further, the curtains do a good job of blocking the light and the kitchen is tiny but has the basics. The balcony was nice to look out but too small to sit out on.

Now, on to the negative aspects. The bathroom is the smallest I've ever seen. Picture an airplane bathroom with the shower head in the ceiling. Everything gets wet (including the toilet) when someone showers. I slipped once and got bruised despite using the wooden mat they provided. The room itself was awkwardly furnished and could've used a more useful place to hang clothes and drawers to use. The cleanliness of the place was ok but I missed having a maid come after a few days. The sound was a bit annoying at night as we needed the window open for air but since this is one floor above the street everything could easily be heard from conversations to cars being locked. I did not sleep well due to this and the difficult of getting the apartment a steady cool temperature. Lastly, privacy. The owners wanted a bio about us before letting us book as they warned this is their home too and they live below the apartment. I thought I wouldn't mind this but I did find it weird, especially when one owner followed us up into our room after dinner and asked us questions about our stay when we clearly wanted to go to sleep.

Overall, skip this place unless you are super tolerant of bathrooms so small they stick the shower head above the sink, a lack of privacy, and street noise at night. I really wish I had spent a bit more on an apartment with a real bathroom that was a bit nicer inside.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2017
Dear Anna and Pat,
We are very sorry and suprised to read that you didn’t enjoyed your stay with us and are not satisfied. Especialy since you never told us so. The bathroom is small indeed, for American standards for sure, for Amsterdam standards it is small, but most practical since there is no more space. Many Amsterdam homes proliferate with the few space that there is and have bathrooms like ours.
If guests stay for 4 or more of nights, we always offer to change the bed and clean the place in between. Since you only stayed 3 nights, we didn’t. But if you would have asked, it would have been no problem.
We do like to know who is coming over to our home and we always welcome our guests in the apartment, shake hands, explane and give information about the neighbourhood. Also here, if you didn’t want it, you could have told us so.
The apartment is on the first floor in a regular urban street, with regular streetlive, there is nothing we can do to change that.
If it was to warm for you we could have provided you with a fan, if you would have asked.
We are sorry you didn’t told us your complaints, but we hope you still enjoyed Amsterdam and had a good vacation.
Warm regards,
Mirjam and Iwan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aprilrobe...
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sunny flat in Amsterdam”
Reviewed 2 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a great weekend break in this lovely flat in central Amsterdam. The location was perfect. I would definitely recommend this flat to my friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing