We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon tea heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gartine

Gartine
Ranked #5 of 3,767 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$12
Cuisines: French, Dutch, International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Centrum
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Having travelled from London via Brussels we arrived keen to try out the Gartine. I had heard it was advisable to book in advance, simply done with a phone call, as their website does not support online bookings - no problem.
And I was pleased we had booked, as it is exquisitely small, and fully occupied bar our reserved table.
We had the afternoon tea, and it was simply ingeniously delicious. The variety of how food can be presented was delightful, with hosts who are clearly at one with what they are delivering.
Local/home grown/allotment produce abounds, and the overall effect is that you simply want to return again.
A minor word of warning (sounds a bit too harsh maybe) but if you need the toilet be aware it is accessed via open steep stairs ( but hey this is Amsterdam).

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePughs14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    642
    161
    23
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious for breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was a great place-- small and cute and delicious. The pancakes were special and the coffee was very nice. The toasted raisin farmers Gouda cheese and apple was also amazing. I would definitely get a reservation, though. It looked like it was full the second it opened in the morning. The service was nice and they speak English.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank julief0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful gem in the centre of Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I had heard a lot about this place and was definitely not disappointed! I had a wonderful lunch here recently, I had the chicory salad with cured ham and egg which was delicous with most ingredients fresh from the Gartine garden in North Amsterdam and I also went for a dessert. The high tea looked wonderful, I will be going back to try for myself...and I loved the decor. Service was very obliging and friendly. Don't forget to book!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CranberryFizzOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
105 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

I have lived in Amsterdam nearly 20 years and never knew about this place. Rated number #1 here for lunch, had a rare day off so thought I would try it. A very small place, quaint and an interesting lunch menu. I ordered the lambs ham with asparagus on sour dough bread. Simply beautiful. The dressing was amazing and the lambs ham very tasty.

Then cheesecake - cinnamon and caramel - WOW! I know a couple of cheesecake addicts that I will definitely bring here.

The service was excellent.

One small thing, for me the coffee was a bit weak, but I like very trying coffee which is not everyone's taste


Highly recommended!!

Helpful?
Thank dheardzimin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Had lunch with my 13 year old daughter Margo and we can say it was great. Margo had some pancakes with nuts and maplesyrop and I had bread with ham of a lamb and salad. We finished with Chocolate cake. Fresh home made Ice tea and orange juice and great cappuccino were our drinks. Very nice little restaurant with good atmosphere and service was very good with our waitress Annemieke!! Very nice owners also! We can imagine why this restaurant is rated so good! Be sure to make a reservation. Mathe and Margo de Groot.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mathedegroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gartine also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Gartine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing