We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, shame about the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam
Ranked #96 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Me and two girlfriends arrived Friday midday and were shown to our beautiful room/apartment on the top floor of the building. We were so happy with it and felt we'd really struck gold.
We left all our stuff there and went out. We got back at around 3am ( we WERE in Amsterdam) only to find that the key to our door didn't work. Naturally, paying £160 a night, we decided we didn't want to sleep on the stairs and so called the hotel owners. Here is where the trouble started. The lady was so incredibly rude to us at first stating "it was not possible" and then attempting to end the conversation with "well I'm sorry we're asleep". Eventually she sent her husband round who was equally rude. Now I understand that it's annoying to get woken up at 3am, but I'm sorry, were paying for this hotel room, the ONE function we require of it is for the door to open to let us in, and when that doesn't happen as the owner you must expect to be contacted to fix the problem, whatever the time. So on finding that it was in fact possible and the door was indeed not working, the husband did cheer up a bit and was apologetic. He showed the three of us to a double room with a big bed that the three of us could sleep in, which was fine.
The next day he had to cut a hole in the door to get in which meant our room was unsecured for a couple of hours while he got something to block the hole. Again, fine, we understood and were grateful that he admitted he didn't know what had happened and told us he was sorry for the inconvenience. He was very pleasant at the point and we genuinely had forgotten the whole incident by the next day.
3 wonderful days passed in our lovely apartment and then it was time to leave.
When we came to pay we were charged full price. As it was an employee we hadn't yet encountered we thought maybe he wasn't aware if the situation so we asked him to call the owner, the lady, to apply our discount. However, when he called she said that we had broken the door and would therefore have to pay for the repairs and by being charged full price that should cover it. We were horrified!! If closing the door is breaking it then yes, we broke it, but clearly, and in fact by her own husbands admission, we had NOT broken the door and she was being completely unreasonable. We saw that we were not going to get any money off. So even though we had paid for an apartment and got an hour long wait on the stairs and ended up in a double room without a window, which I personally think any self respecting hotel owner would have wavered the price of the first night for, we had to pay full price to cover the cost of fixing a door that we did not break.
We were so happy with the room when we first got there, and enthusiastically talked about bringing our boyfriends back to stay in the New York apartment and recommending the place to all our friends, but I'm afraid after this incident I won't be recommending the place to anyone which is a real shame and a bit of a downer on a fantastic long weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daniellesimon1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
9lla, Owner at The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Thanx for staying with us! To make a long story short: The fact is that there were 3 complete drunken/stoned girls (and we know how English tourist can behave in Amsterdam! :-)) who wake us up in the middle of the night who couldn't open the door. Vomiting 2 times in front of the apartment and my door and breaking a lock of the apartment.
We preserved the service to get it open again, like described. The full charge is not more then reasonable, we didn't charge them for the damage of the lock, but we also didn't feel responsible for giving them a discount because they were completely out of there mind on the moment they ruined the lock. We like to take care of our guest, but when you pass the limit of "normal behavior" you have to be also responsible for that as a guest.

Jan , Novella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed my first trip to Amsterdam Jan was an excellent host with Eddie providing a 5 star breakfast .The B&B was full of character and comfort it was in an excellent quiet location i would defiantly go back .

Room Tip: I really liked the green room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The Blue Sheep fulfilled our expectations of being able to stay in the old Amsterdam without the noise of the city and with good location for walking to the sites. The Blue room was comfortable, spacious and quiet. There was a warm welcome and hospitality from the staff (Lee and Edgar) and inclusion with the family in conversation. Breakfasts were TASTY, varied and made to your taste. The room had a teapot for hot beverages at our convenience which was really handy. We could hardly believe the age of the house being several hundred years old, it has been well taken care of and improved. What a delightful experience we had with Jan, Novella, their daughter and the grandmother who was visiting from Sicily. We highly recommend a stay at this B&B

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet. You have a key to the front door so entry is not a problem. There are spira...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

21st Sept to 24th Sept 13. Stayed in he Orange room. Really nice place to stay - central location close to most attractions/pubs/restaurants etc. the hosts are really nice, very friendly and helpful. If you don't mind staying in a B&B then go nowhere else.

Room Tip: As stated on their website - traditional Amsterdam building with steep spiral staircase to the upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

If you go to visit Amsterdam, for few days or more, the Blue Sheep is right place to stay. Owned by Novella and her wonderful family, this excellent bed&breakfast offers you everything you need for a comfortable stay. Clean and well furnished rooms, silent and cozy apartments, delicious and rich breakfast. Novella is that kind of host every traveller looks for: kind, gentle and always ready to give you the right advice to enjoy the city at the best! And of course it's located in a quiet street, pretty close to Joordan, Daam square and the main attractions. Definitely the best b&b in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stiv0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This B & B is in a awesome location, just a short walk from the station and close to everything in the heart of Amsterdam. The house itself is just gorgeous and the owners have wonderful taste in style and design. Our room was huge (Blue room) and very comfortable. The only down side, (and I realise that this can sometimes happens with B&Bs), is that the atmosphere was at times quite awkward in the house. I know the other guests at the time felt the same. We certainly felt at times that we were in the way. That being said, we still enjoy our stay and would highly recommend this b&B. breakfast was amazing, and overall it was a nice experience.

Room Tip: Blue room was awesome, and the shared bathroom caused no problems at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thorpe101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We went recently to Amsterdam and stayed here for 2 nights.
It was very comfortable.
Novella was friendly host and served breakfast with a smile.

Location of the B&B is the high point, literally at the center of the city.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellers0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#133 of 374 in Amsterdam
862 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 374 in Amsterdam
5,241 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
XO Hotels Park West
#64 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam

Address: Korsjespoortsteeg 3, 1015 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £53 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Sheep Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing